$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelkath
Family
ann arbor, michigan
Jul 4, 2013

Central, but a bit noisy

This would be a good deal if you didn't mind the street noise at night through closed windows or the morning noises from the hallway and adjoining rooms. It is on the bus line to the airport, however the bus would NOT stop to pick us up. Seems they get full on Mondays and are not obligated to stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JackieAF
Couples
Bristol, England
May 27, 2014

Dublin city centre

Very busy hotel just off one of the main roads in Dublin. Good clean room, but very very small - could just about walk around the double bed. View looked out to a brick wall. Ok to stay at for one or two nights, but no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 12, 2010

Nice location

The hotel was near the center of the city. You could easily walk around the heart of Dublin. We did request a non-smoking room and were not given one. Other than that, it was a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to the Temple Bar area.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
champaign,illinois
Oct 25, 2010

great location

[...] re Best Western,Findlater Place, Dublin, We spent 4 nights at this hotel. When we went there, they did not have our booking. I had to retrieve it off the web for them.As a result, someone opend the door and was about to walk in while my wife and I were resting.[...] the breakfast was indentical every single day. While they had 4 meat dishes, every single one was pork or ham. Do they never get any Muslim or Jew guests.Otherwise, the staff were friendly and the location was excellentThank youSalim Rashid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Dublin, Ireland
Oct 12, 2009

Great Location

Got us in early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything to see in Dublin is close

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Edison, NJ
Jul 27, 2009

Hotel Survey

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms were a bit small but very clean. The towels were a bit scratchy. There was no pool available and the fitness center was just cardio machines. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Abrakebabra is a decent place to grab some late night food. They're all around and not too expensive. I recommend the curry chips!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling with my son
Family
Raleigh, NC
Aug 4, 2009

Good location in Dublin

The hotel was conveniently located for walking around Dublin. Our room, however, was above an outdoor bar that was very noisy until late at night. Otherwise, the hotel was a good experience for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Abbey Theater has great performances.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The New Mrs. A
Couples
Ringwood, NJ
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and Familiar

Hotel was good - very Americanized. We were put in a room first that was basically a king bed with a bathroom. A little cramped, but the bed was huge and super comfortable. We ended up having to move to another room due to a problem the hotel was having in the room above us with a water leak. The second room was much bigger - two queen beds, couch, chair, dresser. Bathroom was a big smaller, but overall good. Windows were great too. There was a bar directly below the hotel that was super lous at night, but once the windows were shut, you couldn't hear a thing. A/C didn't seem to work too well. Staff was superfriendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop-on, Hop-Off Dublin Bus stopped right in front on the hotel, the first stop. Good value and it gets you all over the city. Even when we got off on the other side of the city, it was not very far from the hotel. Closer to Trinity College than Temple Bar

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On Holiday
Couples
Colorado, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Decent location, good value

Clean, quiet and comfortable. Friendly staff. Easy to get on all most bus lines just down the street. Breakfast is not included. We probably should've added it. Finding a quick bite in the morning was harder than we thought it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a three-day bus pass. It is a great deal if you use it much. So is the Heritage Card. It gets you into many historical sites all over the Republic. We really got value from that.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Miami, Fl
Aug 6, 2010

Superb Location

The hotel is in the perfect location to tour operators as well as shuttle service to the airport. You are within walking distance of Temple Bar. The downside your room will smell of curry and the staff isn't the least bit helpful on recommendations for dining in the area. They act as if they don't know their way around Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the AirLink from the airport. It drops you off in front of the Gresham hotel which is less than a 3 minute walk to the hotel. Only 7 euros.

Back to menu Return to top