$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
229 reviews
excellent hotel

This hotel is in the most perfect position for most things in Dublin. Airport bus stops just... See full review

  • tjgfitness
  • Feb 4, 2015
Our Stay in Dublin

My sister and I stayed here Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The hotel was a perfect location - two... See full review

  • Lady Mary
  • Dec 29, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emmamolly
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 25, 2013

Perfect Location

Beyond what we expected. It was easy to get to from Dublin Airport by bus. It was close to shopping, restaurants and tourist sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the tour buses are just a very short walk from hotel. We used the hop on-hop off bus and also took a day trip by bus to Powerscourt. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexEire2013
Business
Chicago
Oct 26, 2013

Awesome Hotel

Great hotel for my first time in Ireland...great great location, very nice room and the staff was also great...just remember to bring you own face cloths as none of the hotels in Ireland have them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bev Europe lover
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2013

Good Stay

The hotel is in a great spot for theater, bus to city center, tram to train stations, and airport bus stops right ouitside hotel. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annerversery
Business
dublin
Nov 17, 2013

Very good short stay break

We found the staff and every aspect of the stay very satisfactory

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

mexico and rome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dublin Explorer
Business
UK
Jan 21, 2014

Perfect location

Excellent stay. Hotel spotlessly clean, room comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. Superb breakfast. Location perfect with airport buses stopping right outside the hotel. Sight-seeing buses also started their tours opposite the hotel. Walking distance to centre of the city, with plenty of bars and restaurants just around the corner. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good 2 for 1 deal on breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveler987654
Business
New York
Mar 30, 2014

vacation

The hotel was a good deal for the price. The room was clean and looked as if it were recently renovated. Located in the city center - the Air link and day tour buses stop at the corner. The staff was professional. This is not the hotel if you are looking for a great view. I was ok with this because I was out site seeing most of the time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I went on quite a few day tours that were good but next time i would try a tour company before booking more then one and use the dart to get around better on my own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingAC
Business
Midwest, USA
Apr 5, 2014

loved it so much, stayed here on return trip

Just love this place. Staff is excellent, rooms are clean and comfortable (standard European small size), "bang for your buck" doesn't get any better. To me the biggest advantage is the location. It's at the top (north end) of famous O'Connell street, so it's very central to attractions on the north side of the Liffey. However, you're not in the middle of a noisy, touristy area like Temple Bar. Location pros: -The double decker sightseeing bus stops right in front of the hotel. Buy a ticket (good for 2 days of unlimited hop on / hop off... €18 as of March '14) and see all the major attractions easily. Or better yet, put your walking shoes on and hoof it. Most are within a few km. -One of the airport shuttle busses stops across the street (Air Coach). -Tesco (grocery store) is one block west. -Savoy [movie] theatre is one block south. This is a charming older theatre home to Dublin movie premieres, I'm told. Hope you like this place, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See note about sightseeing bus. Doesn't get anymore convenient than this. Would be great for older folks especially. (I'm thinking of my parents. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
radvan
Business
uk
Apr 14, 2014

great place

This hotel is in a perfect place best of both worlds in a quiet area but close enough to the main spots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mysterygirl
Business
Martin, Tennessee
Apr 5, 2011

Great everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Perfect Location, Perfect Staff, Beautifully redone, walking distance of everything in Dublin.FOOD was outstanding great taste and service. Thanks desk manager [...]!!!!!!!!!!!!! Clean, Clean, and more clean hotel. Cost very fair. Breakfast 7 euro and dinner 14 euro Each room had thermostat but we sleep with the windows open. Great shops for food and shopping around the corner. Cabs everywhere and we took two day bus ticket and got on and off to see the sights in Dublin. Took the Dart train to mountains and coast and took two day tours out to Wicklow and the cliffs. I have traveled before and this was the best ever. [...]is the best and I have booked 6 trips with them in the last 3 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

WE walked the whole town of Dublin. Around the corner Totties, Pizza, department stores, Penneys, quick market Spar everywhere, have chocolate croissants or sandwiches, try sea food chowder. ALL our food was great but Americans it is European food. Must see all museums, St. Patricks, Trinity, and all the statues in the streets. The street is O'Connell for all the sights and it is half a block from your hotel.Catch the cab from the airport and not the bus. Do not overpack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E & A
Business
NY
Jan 28, 2011

Perfect place to stay

Great place, centrally located for easy access to everything the city had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Celt! Music & craic!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top