$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mysterygirl
Business
Martin, Tennessee
Apr 5, 2011

Great everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Perfect Location, Perfect Staff, Beautifully redone, walking distance of everything in Dublin.FOOD was outstanding great taste and service. Thanks desk manager [...]!!!!!!!!!!!!! Clean, Clean, and more clean hotel. Cost very fair. Breakfast 7 euro and dinner 14 euro Each room had thermostat but we sleep with the windows open. Great shops for food and shopping around the corner. Cabs everywhere and we took two day bus ticket and got on and off to see the sights in Dublin. Took the Dart train to mountains and coast and took two day tours out to Wicklow and the cliffs. I have traveled before and this was the best ever. [...]is the best and I have booked 6 trips with them in the last 3 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

WE walked the whole town of Dublin. Around the corner Totties, Pizza, department stores, Penneys, quick market Spar everywhere, have chocolate croissants or sandwiches, try sea food chowder. ALL our food was great but Americans it is European food. Must see all museums, St. Patricks, Trinity, and all the statues in the streets. The street is O'Connell for all the sights and it is half a block from your hotel.Catch the cab from the airport and not the bus. Do not overpack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rochester, MN
Apr 2, 2011

Good location for the price

Location is excellent, just off of upper oconnell street and within walking distance of most attractions and restaurants. Rooms are not very spacious but were very clean and well maintained. My only complaint is that some of the management and some of the hotel policies were quite ridiculous. They actually changed the room number of our hotel room one night and failed to inform us. Long story short we ended up walking in somebody elses room late at night after being provided our original room card at the front desk. Also I realize that exchanging money at a hotel will not usually get you the most favorable rate. But they refused to take $100 dollar bills and then wanted to give me 4 euros for a $20 dollar bill after there "fees".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Carr O'connell pub was great for night life with outstanding staff and great drink prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Mar 6, 2011

Great Hotel in Dublin

Stayed for six nights at the Best Western Premier Academy. Overall great experience. The hotel was in a good location, very convenient for tours, and walking to Temple Bar area. Felt safe walking around in the evening. Considering the small amount of space in the room (we had one with twin beds) it was layed out to maximize space and was well appointed. Bar at the hotel was a nice spot to unwind after a busy day touring. I would stay here again the next time I travel to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin
Mar 2, 2011

Dublin Trip

Great Service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Henry Street, Great spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lots of trips to Europe...
Business
Portland, Maine
Mar 1, 2011

Great location

The hotel is located a couple of feet from O'Connell street. All the shopping and transportation is seconds away. You can travel to all the great spots by walking or taking a bus; there are only a 100 of them!! Can't get any easier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When you land in Dublin, walk out the door, jump on the Airbus for 6 euros, and in 20 minutes you are at the hotel...perfect location. To go back to the airport, walk out the door, turn right, and get back on for 6 euros!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Marathoner
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 17, 2011

Comfortable and Convenient

The hotel was very comfortable. The room was tiny which is typical for European hotels but it was clean and met our needs. Three of us stayed in a room with one twin bed and one double bed. The hotel is in a nice location...close to the main Dublin attractions but far enough away as to feel like you can escape the crowds. The hotel is located right off of a main thouroughfare that provids service to numerous busses. These busses are a great way to get to some of the attractions that aren't within walking distance. We also used the bus to get from and to the airport - very convenient. Free internet in the lobby was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike in Virginia
Business
Fairfax, VA
Feb 15, 2011

Great location, clean and basic hotel

Hotel is near O'Connell Street Upper (main street in Dublin) and is near the starting point for the "hop on, hop off" bus services (one is around the corner; one meets in front of the hotel). The hotel is located near the trendy Temple Bar area (10-15 min walk), Dublin Connolly railway station (make a left a the spire onto Talbot, 10-15 min walk), 5-7 min walk to Henry Street (shopping) and maybe 15-20 min walk to Trinity College. The hotel offers a breakfast for €10 and has free WiFi (big plus) and Macs that guests can use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

- Bring a surge protector (UK adaptor, not Continental Europe) since there are only two outlets in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Finto File[@]
Business
New York City
Feb 4, 2011

Convenient, clean & reasonably-priced

The hotel was excellent--conveniently located in the heart of midtown Dublin, clean and reasonably-priced. One quibble--there was only one Internet terminal in the lobby, and there was usually quite a long wait for it. They could do with a few more computers, even if they have to charge a nominal fee for the use of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss taking a tour of Newgrange, preferably one that allows you inside the ancient structure--an unforgettable experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E & A
Business
NY
Jan 28, 2011

Perfect place to stay

Great place, centrally located for easy access to everything the city had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Celt! Music & craic!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 19, 2011

Nice place

It was a very nice hotel, perfect location as we walked everywhere while we were there. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the fact that we had to exit the building every time we wanted a cigarette, and we were up on the fifth floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All up and down O'Connell street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top