$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
May 31, 2009

Great Location Great Hotel

Harry's Bar and Grill had good food at reasonable prices. The live music on Friday was an unexpected treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish again
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 22, 2009

April stay at the Academy

For us, with one day and two nights to explore Dublin, it worked perfectly. We're always happy to stroll around cities, and the location just off O' Connell was great - shops, food options and great pubs all within a 15 minute radius, and lots of sights just beyond. Easy to get to Temple Bar, Trinity College, museums, churches - we even walked to the Guiness Brewery. Granted, we had great weather, and again, we like walking. It was nice to come back in the evening along well-traveled streets, to a quiet, clean, comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville Il.
Nov 27, 2010

Very good

Hotelwas close to busses and train.short walk to temple bar and shopping. Staff friendly and knoweledgeable. I did not eat at hotell.To many other places. Room was clean.good size for europe.I will stay there again.2 Computers in lobby a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 1, 2010

Excellent services for yor money

The location is great for all the shopping and only blocks away from the main historic places. The personnel is very helpful and nice and they definitely make you feel like you are at home. The only thing I can say it wasn't that good was the food in the Asian restaurant. They don't take care of the buffet bar too much. The other restaurant is excellent. Clean and comfortable beds in a very good location for your touristic interests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple bar area is just a 10 min walk from it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder Colorado
Aug 4, 2009

awsome

Great location. Nice and new accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 25, 2010

Good choice for budget travelers

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room reasonably spacious and very clean. Location somewhat unattractive yet quite convenient, close to center of town and on many bus lines. A friend in another room never did get phone service in his room, and noise from nearby bar was a problem. Otherwise--very pleasant tourist hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cornucopia Restaurant near Trinity College was terrific: reasonably priced, with great meals. Gets very busy at peak times. Also try Govinda vegetarian restaurant, on the same street as LUAS tram line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lostinthewoods
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 15, 2009

Great place to stay!

This was a great location for our first time to Dublin. Convenient to walk any where in the downtown area. The staff was excellent and the restraunt was good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
International Travelers on a Budget
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jun 17, 2011

Loved it!

Loved this hotel.Great location. It was close to the airport and within walking distance to the Dublin city center. The Hop On Hop Off tour buses were right across the street.Great service. Everyone (including [...], the concierge) was very friendly and helpful. I was looking for the ice and water vending machines and one of the cleaning ladies went out of her way to take the elevator down with me and walk me directly to the machine.Free wifi AND use of their computers. My laptop died on the flight over so it was great that they had two computers that we could use in the lobby for free.Very clean, quiet and rather modern. The TV's had movies you could buy which we found on the rest of our trip that most of the places didn't have. It also came with free soap, towels and shower caps which we found most places didn't have.Food was average. We only had breakfast there which was buffet style but the hostess and server on site were both friendly and helpful again.Loved the 24 hour gym! The were limited machine options but with all the food we ate, the gym option at any hour was great.Great price and value.We will stay here everytime we're in Dublin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast buffet was about 9 euros per person (and that was the discounted price). You can find these mini markets everywhere with all sorts of food (including around the corner from this hotel). Trust me, you will get tired of the traditional Irish breakfast so these places really come in handy when you need a little variety AND they're cheaper than at the hotels! These little places are definitely food and drink money savers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkasper23
Business
los angeles
May 30, 2009

Nice hotel and great value

Great hotel and staff. Nice touch with the free internet in the lobby - that was very helpful. The room was nice with a really comfortable bed - which was great after flying in from Los Angeles. The bathroom was updated, clean and had a great shower! The ONLY downside was our room faced a pub with "live music and dancing until late" - DON'T get a room facing this pub unless you are up and out until "late" 8-) The airport shuttle's first stop is the Best Western stop and drops you off 100 yards from the hotel - great! Don't bother with the restaurant - the food is just ok. Overall it was a great hotel and I would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill & Sandy
Business
GREEN VALLEY, AZ
Jul 15, 2009

DUBLIN

VERY FREINDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LOTS OF PUBS FOR GREAT FOOD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top