$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
345 reviews
great place

This hotel is in a perfect place best of both worlds in a quiet area but close enough to the main... See full review

  • radvan
  • Apr 14, 2014
loved it so much, stayed here on return trip

Just love this place. Staff is excellent, rooms are clean and comfortable (standard European small... See full review

  • TravelingAC
  • Apr 5, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Hotel Map

53.3525 -6.2598
Area served
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is situated just off O'Connell Street.It is just a short stroll from the best international shopping,Temple bar,Trinity college,St.Stephens Green, galleries,IFSC business district,and famous city sights.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The AIRCOACH bus service stops just beside the hotel and operates to the airport approx every 15 minutes. The service runs 24 hours, every day. A taxi from the airport should cost approximately 25.Driving time to hotel is 20 minutes and distance is 10 kilometres. A Taxi rank is located within 1 minute of the hotel. Both mainline railway stations, and the DART (electric train service) are easily reached, with just an eight minute stroll to both Connolly and Tara St. stations. The DART is the ideal mode of transport for guests looking to explore the picturesque east coast while it also runs through Dun Laoghaire making it easy for tourists travelling by boat to reach the city centre. It is only a 6 minute walk from the hotel to Dublin's central bus station, Busaras, where all provincial bus services from Dublin depart. The majority of Dublin buses stop near to the hotel, on O'Connell Street or the surrounding area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (345)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
345 out of 345
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Sep 3, 2009

Hotel

The hotel was in a great location. The bus from the airport stopped on OConnell Street right on the corner of Findlater St. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Best of all was when we arrived very early in the morning we were able to check in because the room was available. that was a lifesaver as we traveled from the US and were very tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prescott, Az.
Jun 27, 2009

great location

This was convenient to everything it seemed like, nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

staff is very helpful

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Picky Sarah
Virginia Beach, VA
Nov 2, 2009

Great location & Great price!

Our experience at this hotel was great! The staff was exceptionally friendly and the rooms were clean. The location was the best part of this place. While planning this trip, I wanted to stay at a different hotel but couldn't justify the cost. Then I found this hotel that seemed close but I was not 100% sure. I booked it although I was a little disappointed that we wouldn't stay there. When we arrived at the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel, it was right around the corner from the original hotel I wanted to stay at. The location was perfect and we saved over $250!!! I was reccommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motown Pete
Detroit, Mi
Sep 1, 2010

A great place to stay in Dublin.

We had great stay at the Best Western Academy Plaza. The hotel is located righ in downtown Dublin and is close to several restaurants, shops, and things to see. Also, the Doubledecker Tour Bus which we used to get around Dublin, loads just across the street from the hotel...very convenient. Also, we took advantage of the excellent Irish Breakfast that was offered in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a multiple-day bus ticket from the Doubledecker Tour Bus across from the hotel and use it to get around Dublin. It was very nominally priced, and it made 22 stops at all the shopping and tourist venues in Dublin. Once you bought a ticket, you could get on-or-off as many time as you wanted. It is a very convenient and pratical way to get around Dublin, and avoid having to drive around and fight for parking.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zed - world traveler
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2010

Definitely a good experience

Our group of 8 were all impressed with this hotel. The rooms were on the small side, but clean and comfortable. The staff were all very polite and helpful, and were always able to give us good recommendations for food, pubs, events etc. The hotel is less than a block from O'Connell, and under a 10 minute walk to O'Connell Bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast Eddie from Brooklyn
Greenwood Lake, NY
Aug 27, 2010

Great value for the money

The hotel rooms were clean, quiet and classy. Marble bathrooms,plenty of hot water and light. The hotel is 200 feet off O'Connell St and is across the street from the first stop for the Dublin Tour bus. The front desk staff were very helpful. On Parnell St. is a good restaurant called the Kingfisher...great fish and chips or a good steak fillet or serloin. The hotel bar was a good place for a nightcap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Aug 29, 2010

Good Stay

This hotel is very clean and we found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet. The location is very convenient with restaurants, pubs, shopping and sights nearby. We particularly appreciated the 2 free internet terminals in the lobby to help us book other stays and check emails. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many department stores and shopping nearby the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
22 yr old, traveled alone
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2009

Amazing Stay at this hotel!!

I'm 22 and traveling alone. I'm glad I stayed at this hotel while in Dublin. While I absolutely LOVED the hotel, I didn't like the location so much - but let me go into detail. I thought that the location was a bit sketchy (especially at night) for a woman on her own. However, the location is GREAT when it comes to being by the main bus stops for tours and the airport. It was a quick 2 minute walk to the AirLink bus (highly recommend that), and it was right across the street from the hop on, hop off dublin bus tour 1st stop (highly recommend that as well). So, overall, it worked out. Easy location to get to tourist destinations...but Dublin (overall) is just a bit sketchy. I also went on the Dublin Bus North Coastal & Castle tour - I loved it, and it was great to get away from the city, and to see the coast for about 3 hours. I highly recommend that tour. Also, all the National museums a free - hit them up!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dublin Bus Tours - North Coast & Castle tour (3 hours). Great bus ride, and a great way to view other parts of Ireland. I loved it. You can get onto it right from the main Dublin Bus Tour stop right outside their main office on O'Connell St (just a 2 minute walk from the hotel).

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Aug 23, 2009

Nice place

Nice place, clean, excellent location. Near Temple Bar and a lot of good shopping and eating. Would definitely stay there again. Shop for a good price: about $130

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
May 31, 2009

Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel-Dublin

Room location was in the back overlooking a very noisy bar. Hotel staff were friendly, room was clean but small. Front desk will issue electrical adapters with a 5.00 euro deposit - that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel was in North Dublin most of the site seeing will be in South Dublin but it is a short walk across the Liffy river - approx. 10 minutes to Temple Bar.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search