$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Sep 3, 2009

Hotel

The hotel was in a great location. The bus from the airport stopped on OConnell Street right on the corner of Findlater St. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Best of all was when we arrived very early in the morning we were able to check in because the room was available. that was a lifesaver as we traveled from the US and were very tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prescott, Az.
Jun 27, 2009

great location

This was convenient to everything it seemed like, nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

staff is very helpful

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Picky Sarah
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Nov 2, 2009

Great location & Great price!

Our experience at this hotel was great! The staff was exceptionally friendly and the rooms were clean. The location was the best part of this place. While planning this trip, I wanted to stay at a different hotel but couldn't justify the cost. Then I found this hotel that seemed close but I was not 100% sure. I booked it although I was a little disappointed that we wouldn't stay there. When we arrived at the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel, it was right around the corner from the original hotel I wanted to stay at. The location was perfect and we saved over $250!!! I was reccommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motown Pete
Business
Detroit, Mi
Sep 1, 2010

A great place to stay in Dublin.

We had great stay at the Best Western Academy Plaza. The hotel is located righ in downtown Dublin and is close to several restaurants, shops, and things to see. Also, the Doubledecker Tour Bus which we used to get around Dublin, loads just across the street from the hotel...very convenient. Also, we took advantage of the excellent Irish Breakfast that was offered in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a multiple-day bus ticket from the Doubledecker Tour Bus across from the hotel and use it to get around Dublin. It was very nominally priced, and it made 22 stops at all the shopping and tourist venues in Dublin. Once you bought a ticket, you could get on-or-off as many time as you wanted. It is a very convenient and pratical way to get around Dublin, and avoid having to drive around and fight for parking.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zed - world traveler
Business
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2010

Definitely a good experience

Our group of 8 were all impressed with this hotel. The rooms were on the small side, but clean and comfortable. The staff were all very polite and helpful, and were always able to give us good recommendations for food, pubs, events etc. The hotel is less than a block from O'Connell, and under a 10 minute walk to O'Connell Bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast Eddie from Brooklyn
Business
Greenwood Lake, NY
Aug 27, 2010

Great value for the money

The hotel rooms were clean, quiet and classy. Marble bathrooms,plenty of hot water and light. The hotel is 200 feet off O'Connell St and is across the street from the first stop for the Dublin Tour bus. The front desk staff were very helpful. On Parnell St. is a good restaurant called the Kingfisher...great fish and chips or a good steak fillet or serloin. The hotel bar was a good place for a nightcap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Aug 29, 2010

Good Stay

This hotel is very clean and we found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet. The location is very convenient with restaurants, pubs, shopping and sights nearby. We particularly appreciated the 2 free internet terminals in the lobby to help us book other stays and check emails. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many department stores and shopping nearby the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
22 yr old, traveled alone
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2009

Amazing Stay at this hotel!!

I'm 22 and traveling alone. I'm glad I stayed at this hotel while in Dublin. While I absolutely LOVED the hotel, I didn't like the location so much - but let me go into detail. I thought that the location was a bit sketchy (especially at night) for a woman on her own. However, the location is GREAT when it comes to being by the main bus stops for tours and the airport. It was a quick 2 minute walk to the AirLink bus (highly recommend that), and it was right across the street from the hop on, hop off dublin bus tour 1st stop (highly recommend that as well). So, overall, it worked out. Easy location to get to tourist destinations...but Dublin (overall) is just a bit sketchy. I also went on the Dublin Bus North Coastal & Castle tour - I loved it, and it was great to get away from the city, and to see the coast for about 3 hours. I highly recommend that tour. Also, all the National museums a free - hit them up!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dublin Bus Tours - North Coast & Castle tour (3 hours). Great bus ride, and a great way to view other parts of Ireland. I loved it. You can get onto it right from the main Dublin Bus Tour stop right outside their main office on O'Connell St (just a 2 minute walk from the hotel).

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 23, 2009

Nice place

Nice place, clean, excellent location. Near Temple Bar and a lot of good shopping and eating. Would definitely stay there again. Shop for a good price: about $130

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
May 31, 2009

Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel-Dublin

Room location was in the back overlooking a very noisy bar. Hotel staff were friendly, room was clean but small. Front desk will issue electrical adapters with a 5.00 euro deposit - that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel was in North Dublin most of the site seeing will be in South Dublin but it is a short walk across the Liffy river - approx. 10 minutes to Temple Bar.

Back to menu Return to top