$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
International Mama
Business
Manchester, CT
Jul 7, 2011

Safe haven for my "little girl"!

My daughter is 18, and this was her firs "solo" trip overseas! Yes, I was incredibly nervous, but when she showed me the hotel, the pictures of the room and surrounding streets, the central location of the hotel, the beautiful scenery (except for the "wall" outside her bedroom window)...I was more than thrilled. She LOVED it...she has moved on to the rest of her journey to England, and this hotel has made it VERY difficult for others to stack up against it...nothing has compared to it yet. She was very thrilled! Thank you for keeping my daughter safe and easy access to everything beautiful Dublin has to offer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a MAP...it was so useful and everything you could ever want was within a 20 minute walk maximum from the hotel! Also...see the concierge for tours, they are wonderful!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trek traveler
Business
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Jun 19, 2011

Just a short block from the crowd

We enjoyed our stay at the Premire Academy. Our room was small but very comfortable and clean. The hotel was just off the crowded O'Connel Street which made it a good choice for first time tourists to Dublin. The Air Coach bus, airport transportation, dropped us off just a block away so it was easy to locate. We appreciated the free wiFi in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
International Travelers on a Budget
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jun 17, 2011

Loved it!

Loved this hotel.Great location. It was close to the airport and within walking distance to the Dublin city center. The Hop On Hop Off tour buses were right across the street.Great service. Everyone (including [...], the concierge) was very friendly and helpful. I was looking for the ice and water vending machines and one of the cleaning ladies went out of her way to take the elevator down with me and walk me directly to the machine.Free wifi AND use of their computers. My laptop died on the flight over so it was great that they had two computers that we could use in the lobby for free.Very clean, quiet and rather modern. The TV's had movies you could buy which we found on the rest of our trip that most of the places didn't have. It also came with free soap, towels and shower caps which we found most places didn't have.Food was average. We only had breakfast there which was buffet style but the hostess and server on site were both friendly and helpful again.Loved the 24 hour gym! The were limited machine options but with all the food we ate, the gym option at any hour was great.Great price and value.We will stay here everytime we're in Dublin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast buffet was about 9 euros per person (and that was the discounted price). You can find these mini markets everywhere with all sorts of food (including around the corner from this hotel). Trust me, you will get tired of the traditional Irish breakfast so these places really come in handy when you need a little variety AND they're cheaper than at the hotels! These little places are definitely food and drink money savers.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FinanceDoc
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 12, 2011

An excellent stay for three nights

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Trinity College, Temple Bar and other Dublin attractions. The double-decker tour bus picks up directly in front of the hotel. The rooms have been recently remodeled and are clean and comfortable if a bit small (but if you've traveled in Europe, you know everything runs smaller than in the US). Quick elevators, free wi-fi, a couple of good-quality restaurants in the lobby, and friendly, efficient staff made this an excellent stay for three nights. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 3, 2011

Location, location, location

I had made my reservation at the Best Western based upon the reviews on this site. I was pepared for the small room sizes. The room sizes must have been designed for those elusive leprechauns. However what was so impressive about this hotel was its ideal location. It is located within walking distance of all of the major attractions of Dublin. The jump on/ jump off bus starts in front of the hotel. O'Connell Street, Dublin's most famous street, is just steps away. A lot of Ireland's history occurred here;and monuments line this street. Trinity College, St. Patricks Cathedral, Book of Kells are all within a 20 minute walk across a lovely bridge. I attended a play at the local theatre around the corner. I also was fortunate to see President Obama speak last week; the venue was 5 minutes from the hotel. My hotel room was teeny tiny but I was never in it. The decor is ultra modern, so it was very charming. I was always out and about at the nearby restaurants, Irish pubs, and historic sites. The rate is an excellent value because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would advise eating at the local pubs off of O'Connell Street. They are less touristy and have more local flavor.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas,texas
May 20, 2011

Very good location. Staff very helpful.

very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous inexpensive food option on O'connell street.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
utica, ny
May 20, 2011

good location and price

good location to access bus and tours, quiet at night, sports bar next door, but no effect on hotel, use of free internet in lobby was very helpful, rooms clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Paddywagon tours very good, friendly and knowledgable guide.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville NC
May 20, 2011

Great Location

The location was great...close to public transportation, places to eat, small groceries. The room was small but ok and the hotel staff was great...very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 3, 2011

Great location and price

This hotel was located in the center of Dublin, close to Temple Bar and other sights. There is a city tour bus stop right across the street. The visitor's center was a block away. The location was great, most things within walking distance. The rooms were small, but since we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel it didn't matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twc1951
Business
Orlando, FL
May 2, 2011

Dublin Best Western Academy

Nice hotel. Clean and modern. Location is very convenient to center city. The only draw back is that the room is VERY small, there is no empty space at all. My wife and I had to coordinate our movements in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dublin bus line hop on- hop off bus leaves from right in front of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top