$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
220 reviews
Great staff! Especially Lisa!

Very helpful reception staff! Great location. Building could possibly use a little updating, but... See full review

  • caseyvee
  • Oct 18, 2014
Excellent hotel ,nothing was too much trouble

I will definitely stay at this hotel again ,I cannot fault it for anything ,it's a home from home... See full review

  • Sully475
  • Sep 15, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Hotel Map

53.3525 -6.2598
Area served
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is situated just off O'Connell Street.It is just a short stroll from the best international shopping,Temple bar,Trinity college,St.Stephens Green, galleries,IFSC business district,and famous city sights.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The AIRCOACH bus service stops just beside the hotel and operates to the airport approx every 15 minutes. The service runs 24 hours, every day. A taxi from the airport should cost approximately 25.Driving time to hotel is 20 minutes and distance is 10 kilometres. A Taxi rank is located within 1 minute of the hotel. Both mainline railway stations, and the DART (electric train service) are easily reached, with just an eight minute stroll to both Connolly and Tara St. stations. The DART is the ideal mode of transport for guests looking to explore the picturesque east coast while it also runs through Dun Laoghaire making it easy for tourists travelling by boat to reach the city centre. It is only a 6 minute walk from the hotel to Dublin's central bus station, Busaras, where all provincial bus services from Dublin depart. The majority of Dublin buses stop near to the hotel, on O'Connell Street or the surrounding area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (220)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrishMegz
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 5, 2011

Excellant Location!

This hotel is located right off of Upper O'Connell Street. You are within walking distance to most major Dublin attractions, including Temple Bar, Trinity College, Jameson Distillary, major shopping streets, and the Guinness Storehouse. Don't waste your money eating at the hotel. On and just off of O'Connell are a number of low cost restaurants and grocery stores to get your meals for cheap. I was able to eat all three meals and snacks for about 20 to 25 euro (or less) per day I was there. The hotel staff are wonderful. All were very welcoming and friendly. Anything I needed was addressed ASAP. My only real issue was that the rooms are SMALL. However, this is not uncommon for a Dublin hotel. I have stayed at two others in Dublin and this was comparable to those.. maybe a wee bit smaller, but this time it was just a single bed while the others had two beds in them... That could account for the slightly smaller size. This really didn't bother me as I wasn't exactly hanging out in my room all that much. Another great thing about the location of this hotel is you can hop on to the Airlink bus from the Airport and be dropped off and picked up right in front of the hotel. Also, the two city hop on-hop off bus tours (green bus and red bus) have their first stops right in front (or just around the corner) of the hotel. If you've never been to Dublin before, one of these is a must!! I believe they are both the same price and have almost identical routes. I have done both.. and I believe that they are both very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is just across the River Liffey.. Go for great Irish music, food, and entertainment. But be warned, at night this place is a bit roudy, and often considered unsafe. Just be cautious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel'n Mike
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2011

Good location but tiny

You need to move yourself behind the bathroom sink to close the door. The twin beds are smaller than USA twin beds. The location is good enough to get anywhere. The breakfast was okay. Everything seemed clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is really on the wrong side of the river, but not by much. It is only a ten minute walk to all the Dublin fun stuff. Research the city before you go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tricia85
Business
Colorado, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Wonderful experience

We arrived at the hotel around 9:00 AM, expecting to have a few hours before we could get up to the room. However, the staff was able to immediately check us in and they also upgraded our room from a double to a triple free of charge. They did warn us that the room was on the "noisier" side of the hotel due to the bar, but being on the 7th floor we never had a problem with the noise level (even when keeping our window open at night). The staff was also very helpful, answering all of our questions as needed. The only "complaint" that I have is that there were only two power outlets in the room, neither of which were in the bathroom. Otherwise, the rooms were exactly as advertised (just be prepared for their limited size).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo
Jul 22, 2011

Do Not Make any Phone Call to US

The room was small but adequate. Hotel is in great location - near Tourist Office. I had a dispute with Irish Rail over credit card charges and tried to call the credit card company collect as instructed on the card, but call was blocked and would not go through. I used the 7777 number posted by the bed to make the call. The only way I could make the call was to charge it to my credit card. When I got home they hit me with a $49 charge for a four minute call

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not make a call to US from Hotel. Look up 800-608-0575 online. The hotel had a direct link to these scammers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pez
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Jul 19, 2011

OK, not really a destination

It was a gray, drizzly day and we were exhausted when we arrived. This place is a little hard to find beacause it's on a little mini-street near some big ones. Parking is down the street at a private car park, so make sure you get that information before you arrive. The place seemed popular with tour groups, and the flourescent-lit lobby was crowded with them. The room was small but well decorated, with a decent TV and weak-but-free Wifi. The doors also didn't close properly - in particular, you had to practically slam the bathroom door to get it to close, which is a problem in the middle of the night if you're not alone. As we were exhausted and hungry, we hoped for room service or something but the lobby staff didn't quite understand that nearly all the hotel options were closed in the 3:00 pm hour. (We were still confused about the Italian restaurant advertised, as it was just the hotel bar menu.) Avoid the place next door (The Living Room) if you want to eat - it is awful. Actually, it was difficult to find a good meal anywhere nearby if you're not a fan of Chinese food outside Asia. The neighborhood seemed a bit odd, though I can't quite say why. Those things, and the energy-saving motion sensor hallway lights, screamed "we're trying to save money" and were a bit creepy, but all in all, it's not a bad place if you just need a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Finally found a tasty snack at the Jury Inn's restaurant/bar, a few blocks away. The duck spring rolls rocked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southampton
Jul 11, 2011

Lovely central Hotel

Hotel was in a good locatio, within walking distance of all of Dublins attractions that we wanted to go to.I upgraded for a small fee on arrival and our room was spacious and the bed was very large and comfortable. The only comment was that the quilt needed to be slightly bigger for the size of the bed. had a wonderful weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Jameson distillery 'Irish Shindig night' was a great night out and excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
International Mama
Business
Manchester, CT
Jul 7, 2011

Safe haven for my "little girl"!

My daughter is 18, and this was her firs "solo" trip overseas! Yes, I was incredibly nervous, but when she showed me the hotel, the pictures of the room and surrounding streets, the central location of the hotel, the beautiful scenery (except for the "wall" outside her bedroom window)...I was more than thrilled. She LOVED it...she has moved on to the rest of her journey to England, and this hotel has made it VERY difficult for others to stack up against it...nothing has compared to it yet. She was very thrilled! Thank you for keeping my daughter safe and easy access to everything beautiful Dublin has to offer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a MAP...it was so useful and everything you could ever want was within a 20 minute walk maximum from the hotel! Also...see the concierge for tours, they are wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trek traveler
Business
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Jun 19, 2011

Just a short block from the crowd

We enjoyed our stay at the Premire Academy. Our room was small but very comfortable and clean. The hotel was just off the crowded O'Connel Street which made it a good choice for first time tourists to Dublin. The Air Coach bus, airport transportation, dropped us off just a block away so it was easy to locate. We appreciated the free wiFi in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
International Travelers on a Budget
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jun 17, 2011

Loved it!

Loved this hotel.Great location. It was close to the airport and within walking distance to the Dublin city center. The Hop On Hop Off tour buses were right across the street.Great service. Everyone (including [...], the concierge) was very friendly and helpful. I was looking for the ice and water vending machines and one of the cleaning ladies went out of her way to take the elevator down with me and walk me directly to the machine.Free wifi AND use of their computers. My laptop died on the flight over so it was great that they had two computers that we could use in the lobby for free.Very clean, quiet and rather modern. The TV's had movies you could buy which we found on the rest of our trip that most of the places didn't have. It also came with free soap, towels and shower caps which we found most places didn't have.Food was average. We only had breakfast there which was buffet style but the hostess and server on site were both friendly and helpful again.Loved the 24 hour gym! The were limited machine options but with all the food we ate, the gym option at any hour was great.Great price and value.We will stay here everytime we're in Dublin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast buffet was about 9 euros per person (and that was the discounted price). You can find these mini markets everywhere with all sorts of food (including around the corner from this hotel). Trust me, you will get tired of the traditional Irish breakfast so these places really come in handy when you need a little variety AND they're cheaper than at the hotels! These little places are definitely food and drink money savers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FinanceDoc
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 12, 2011

An excellent stay for three nights

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Trinity College, Temple Bar and other Dublin attractions. The double-decker tour bus picks up directly in front of the hotel. The rooms have been recently remodeled and are clean and comfortable if a bit small (but if you've traveled in Europe, you know everything runs smaller than in the US). Quick elevators, free wi-fi, a couple of good-quality restaurants in the lobby, and friendly, efficient staff made this an excellent stay for three nights. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top