$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
325 reviews
great place

This hotel is in a perfect place best of both worlds in a quiet area but close enough to the main... See full review

  • radvan
  • Apr 14, 2014
loved it so much, stayed here on return trip

Just love this place. Staff is excellent, rooms are clean and comfortable (standard European small... See full review

  • TravelingAC
  • Apr 5, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3525 -6.2598
Area served
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is situated just off O'Connell Street.It is just a short stroll from the best international shopping,Temple bar,Trinity college,St.Stephens Green, galleries,IFSC business district,and famous city sights.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The AIRCOACH bus service stops just beside the hotel and operates to the airport approx every 15 minutes. The service runs 24 hours, every day. A taxi from the airport should cost approximately 25.Driving time to hotel is 20 minutes and distance is 10 kilometres. A Taxi rank is located within 1 minute of the hotel. Both mainline railway stations, and the DART (electric train service) are easily reached, with just an eight minute stroll to both Connolly and Tara St. stations. The DART is the ideal mode of transport for guests looking to explore the picturesque east coast while it also runs through Dun Laoghaire making it easy for tourists travelling by boat to reach the city centre. It is only a 6 minute walk from the hotel to Dublin's central bus station, Busaras, where all provincial bus services from Dublin depart. The majority of Dublin buses stop near to the hotel, on O'Connell Street or the surrounding area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sassystrain
Northern Ireland
Nov 29, 2012

Great city location

Great city centre location and secure multi storey car park accross the street. Staff were very helpful and service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kingfisher restaurant great for breakfast, just one street away.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean9
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Overall good hotel

Breakfast-good for 10E, also coffee cart & restraunt; Location-close enough to walk to pretty much everything in town, right next to airport bus & hop-on/off bus(a must); Room-small but very clean, good size bathroom;Staff-friendly & helpful except for the night guy who interigated everyone who came back to the hotel in the later evening, it was not neccessary. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at The Oliver St.John Gogarty in Temple Bar-service was horrifing, but do eat at Carluccio's on Dawson- it was amazing.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean9
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Overall good hotel

Breakfast-good for 10E, also coffee cart & restraunt; Location-close enough to walk to pretty much everything in town, right next to airport bus & hop-on/off bus(a must); Room-small but very clean, good size bathroom;Staff-friendly & helpful except for the night guy who interigated everyone who came back to the hotel in the later evening, it was not neccessary. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at The Oliver St.John Gogarty in Temple Bar-service was horrifing, but do eat at Carluccio's on Dawson- it was amazing.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Jane
Richmond, Virginia
Sep 14, 2011

A stay in Irland

Just different. You have to use your hotel key to keep the lights on. And in the middle of the night who can find the key? The staff did not clean the room one day due due to our late flight, but left for the evening before it could be done. Great location and near everything. Do not try to book a side trip. It is best to find the local travel company to book because staff are not assigned for booking. The breakfast was $20.00 for the two of us, went it was $10.00 next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cerva102
Long Beach, CA
Sep 8, 2011

Would definitely stay here everytime

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip and in the same room. It was clean, modern and quiet. They had free internet and the use of computers in their main lobby which ended up being very helpful. Everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to be acommodating like walking me down to the water vending machine rather than just giving me directions. Price was really great. Location was excellent, everything was within walking distance. They have a small gym which made us feel better about eating all those hearty meals and drinking all that Guinness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We got tired of the traditional Irish breakfast. If you walk around the corner to the little market they've got tons of good food & different options at cheap prices for a quick breakfast, snack or lunch.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cerva102
Long Beach, CA
Sep 8, 2011

Would definitely stay here everytime

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip and in the same room. It was clean, modern and quiet. They had free internet and the use of computers in their main lobby which ended up being very helpful. Everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to be acommodating like walking me down to the water vending machine rather than just giving me directions. Price was really great. Location was excellent, everything was within walking distance. They have a small gym which made us feel better about eating all those hearty meals and drinking all that Guinness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We got tired of the traditional Irish breakfast. If you walk around the corner to the little market they've got tons of good food & different options at cheap prices for a quick breakfast, snack or lunch.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SmileBeauty
New York, NY
Sep 6, 2011

just got back from Dublin, Ireland

BEST and GREAT location ever!!! Everything is 2mins to 10mins walking. I was with my son(9yrs), who really likes the location. So many buses including Tour Buses, airport express buses, LUAS(10mins walking), Connolly Train Station.....highly recommended!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be smart between dollars v. euros.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SmileBeauty
New York, NY
Sep 6, 2011

just got back from Dublin, Ireland

BEST and GREAT location ever!!! Everything is 2mins to 10mins walking. I was with my son(9yrs), who really likes the location. So many buses including Tour Buses, airport express buses, LUAS(10mins walking), Connolly Train Station.....highly recommended!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be smart between dollars v. euros.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrishMegz
Cleveland, OH
Sep 5, 2011

Excellant Location!

This hotel is located right off of Upper O'Connell Street. You are within walking distance to most major Dublin attractions, including Temple Bar, Trinity College, Jameson Distillary, major shopping streets, and the Guinness Storehouse. Don't waste your money eating at the hotel. On and just off of O'Connell are a number of low cost restaurants and grocery stores to get your meals for cheap. I was able to eat all three meals and snacks for about 20 to 25 euro (or less) per day I was there. The hotel staff are wonderful. All were very welcoming and friendly. Anything I needed was addressed ASAP. My only real issue was that the rooms are SMALL. However, this is not uncommon for a Dublin hotel. I have stayed at two others in Dublin and this was comparable to those.. maybe a wee bit smaller, but this time it was just a single bed while the others had two beds in them... That could account for the slightly smaller size. This really didn't bother me as I wasn't exactly hanging out in my room all that much. Another great thing about the location of this hotel is you can hop on to the Airlink bus from the Airport and be dropped off and picked up right in front of the hotel. Also, the two city hop on-hop off bus tours (green bus and red bus) have their first stops right in front (or just around the corner) of the hotel. If you've never been to Dublin before, one of these is a must!! I believe they are both the same price and have almost identical routes. I have done both.. and I believe that they are both very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is just across the River Liffey.. Go for great Irish music, food, and entertainment. But be warned, at night this place is a bit roudy, and often considered unsafe. Just be cautious!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrishMegz
Cleveland, OH
Sep 5, 2011

Excellant Location!

This hotel is located right off of Upper O'Connell Street. You are within walking distance to most major Dublin attractions, including Temple Bar, Trinity College, Jameson Distillary, major shopping streets, and the Guinness Storehouse. Don't waste your money eating at the hotel. On and just off of O'Connell are a number of low cost restaurants and grocery stores to get your meals for cheap. I was able to eat all three meals and snacks for about 20 to 25 euro (or less) per day I was there. The hotel staff are wonderful. All were very welcoming and friendly. Anything I needed was addressed ASAP. My only real issue was that the rooms are SMALL. However, this is not uncommon for a Dublin hotel. I have stayed at two others in Dublin and this was comparable to those.. maybe a wee bit smaller, but this time it was just a single bed while the others had two beds in them... That could account for the slightly smaller size. This really didn't bother me as I wasn't exactly hanging out in my room all that much. Another great thing about the location of this hotel is you can hop on to the Airlink bus from the Airport and be dropped off and picked up right in front of the hotel. Also, the two city hop on-hop off bus tours (green bus and red bus) have their first stops right in front (or just around the corner) of the hotel. If you've never been to Dublin before, one of these is a must!! I believe they are both the same price and have almost identical routes. I have done both.. and I believe that they are both very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is just across the River Liffey.. Go for great Irish music, food, and entertainment. But be warned, at night this place is a bit roudy, and often considered unsafe. Just be cautious!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel'n Mike
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2011

Good location but tiny

You need to move yourself behind the bathroom sink to close the door. The twin beds are smaller than USA twin beds. The location is good enough to get anywhere. The breakfast was okay. Everything seemed clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is really on the wrong side of the river, but not by much. It is only a ten minute walk to all the Dublin fun stuff. Research the city before you go.

Back to menu Return to top