$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
227 reviews
Our Stay in Dublin

My sister and I stayed here Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The hotel was a perfect location - two... See full review

  • Lady Mary
  • Dec 29, 2014
great girly days away

hotel was amazing for the price we paid we were all shocked how great hotel was keep up good workj See full review

  • the four wise monkeys
  • Oct 30, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eireaffinity
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Hotel and Awesome Location!

I stayed at the hotel initially in February 2010 and am so glad I returned in February 2012. What a great deal! The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel had everything at a reasonable price. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly! The room was contemporary, quiet, and clean. The mobility accessible bathroom is excellent and shower stalls have improved drainage from my first visit, which is appreciated. Dinners and drinks in the hotel's Sir Harry's Bistro were excellent and a wonderful way to end a busy day of sight seeing. The Best Western Plus Academy's best point is location, location, location! The hotel is just off O'Connell Street. Restaurants, pubs, Temple Bar and the City Hop on Hop Off Bus Tours are within walking distance. Whenever I return to Dublin, The Best Western Plus Academy Hotel will be at the top of my list for accommodation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WittyW
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 11, 2012

Visitor Beware!

I stayed at the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel on two separate occassions in one week. For both nights, I booked standard accommodations with two twin beds. The first night the accommodations were comfortable. However, the second time I stayed, I did not check in until 9:00pm. It became evident that the hotel provides rooms on a first come, first-served basis. I was provided with room 001. BEWARE! Do not accept this room, find another hotel! The room is in the basement. The two twin beds make it nearly impossible to move about the room. There is no telephone or tea/coffeemaking amenities. If it's cold, there's no obvious source of heat, just a wall-mounted air-conditioner. Additionally, Room 001 is located just next to the staff rooms. Everytime someone enters or leaves that room, you can hear and feel the door slam. If there are people in the staff rooms, you can even overhear there conversations. I stayed on a Saturday night and there is a nightclub next door. My father and I had a terrible time sleeping with the loud reverberations of the bass from the nightclub. When we went up to the front desk to complain, the staff were rather unhelpful, did not seem to care. The hotel was booked except for one room which was, according to the reception, worse than Room 001. As a result, we were offered a free breakfast for the next morning. When we arrived, the greeter asked for our room number, shrugged, and commented that we must not have slept well. The entire staff knows how terrible Room 001 is, but generally do not care. I urge travelers to beware. Room 001 is the dungeon of the Best Wester Academy Plaza. Do not accept this room (or any other in the basement). But if you are lucky, you will stay in one of the upper floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is conveniently located in front of Dublin's Airlink bus to and from the airport. Also, Dublin Tours Hop-On Hop-Off Tours pick up directly in front of the hotel. This hotel is definitely a great location for getting around Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarahU11
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 21, 2012

St. Patty's Weekend for 2

My husband and I just returned from a five day visit to Dublin and stayed at the Best Western the whole time. It was a good hotel - not extraordinary but it had everything we needed. The rooms are rather small, but that might be the case of all hotels in Dublin. We especially enjoyed the on-site bar on the first floor because it provided a nice, calm place to have a Guinness late in the evening when we didn't want to fight the crazy crowds in Temple Bar and lower O'Connell Street pubs. We didn't have any problem with noise, even on the holiday weekend. We did choose to skip housekeeping service on our second day there because we were running out the door and hadn't stored our valuables or prepared the room for housekeeping (I always like to tidy up a little before they come in). We encountered a housekeeper later who questioned us about it and didn't seem satisfied with our answer, so the next day our "Do Not Disturb" sign went missing and housekeeping was at the door by 8:30am wanting in. I'm not sure if that was a coincidence or not, but it was a little uncomfortable. For the most part everything was good. The hotel is in the upper O'Connell Street area "north of the Liffey" and looks a little dodgy, but we didn't have any problems. It is a decent walk to all of the main areas, attractions, and restaurants, but it wasn't too far. There are a couple of nearby pubs and fast food places or convenience stores, so if you need something quickly it's available. On the couple occasions we didn't want to walk we just hailed one of the twenty or so cabs sitting in front of the hotel and got to our destination in minutes. It was a good hotel for the price and I would recommend it to anyone on a budget who doesn't care about being in the middle of all the touristy areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

United States residents who plan to use their credit cards for most of the trip should be aware that European credit cards have chips in them now, and are not "swiped" in the machines. Because of that, many retailers didn't understand how to swipe our American Visa cards, and on a couple occasions we had to provide cash to pay because they wouldn't accept our cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mojo54
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great stay!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Perfect location for a middle-age couple trying to stay away from the maddening crowds of a rugby tournament weekend in Dublin! Responsive staff, well appointed rooms, a great price, and a great location made for a fantastic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eireaffinity
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Hotel and Awesome Location!

I stayed at the hotel initially in February 2010 and am so glad I returned in February 2012. What a great deal! The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel had everything at a reasonable price. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly! The room was contemporary, quiet, and clean. The mobility accessible bathroom is excellent and shower stalls have improved drainage from my first visit, which is appreciated. Dinners and drinks in the hotel's Sir Harry's Bistro were excellent and a wonderful way to end a busy day of sight seeing. The Best Western Plus Academy's best point is location, location, location! The hotel is just off O'Connell Street. Restaurants, pubs, Temple Bar and the City Hop on Hop Off Bus Tours are within walking distance. Whenever I return to Dublin, The Best Western Plus Academy Hotel will be at the top of my list for accommodation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samira
Business
San Franciso
Jan 9, 2012

Location very good

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, UK
Jan 4, 2012

Good place to stay whilst seeing Dublin

Stayed here for New Year in Dublin; hotel has a good location (10 minute walk to central shopping district) at a very reasonable price. Room's are a little on the small side and for some reason my TV was very high up adjacent to the bed (as opposed to opposite it) which I would lead to neck strain if the TV was watched in bed. Their games room shouldn't be plural as there is only one game (table football) and there is no pool. Bottom line though, would I stay again? Yes as it answered what it needed to: a clean, smart hotel, close to Dublin centre at a affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar in Temple Bar for Guiness and Oysters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ikle
Business
Ireland
Dec 16, 2011

Christmas escape.

Stayed for two nights in this hotel. We have stayed here a number of times and dined in the bistro. Staff very helpful making every effort to cater for our needs. Food to be enjoyed and a relaxed atmosphere. Will stay again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atlfunstuff
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

great location

very good. the best location in dublin. close to the train, dart, shopping, and the buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunflowerhiker
Business
Fremont, NH, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Good, Clean and reasonably priced

My family often stays at this hotel for its location. The staff have always been very helpful. This was the first time I stayed there myself and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. We were in a corner so I really heard no noise what so ever. It's also right of O'Connell street so you don't get much more central. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
santa and snowflake
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

had a great experience

Locaion was great. Staff was very friendly and worked hard to please. Room size was small but well appointed, modern and very clean. Bar service was good but food was poor. Morning breakfast well worth the price and good. Wi Fi worked well thoughout hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top