$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mojo54
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great stay!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Perfect location for a middle-age couple trying to stay away from the maddening crowds of a rugby tournament weekend in Dublin! Responsive staff, well appointed rooms, a great price, and a great location made for a fantastic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samira
Business
San Franciso
Jan 9, 2012

Location very good

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, UK
Jan 4, 2012

Good place to stay whilst seeing Dublin

Stayed here for New Year in Dublin; hotel has a good location (10 minute walk to central shopping district) at a very reasonable price. Room's are a little on the small side and for some reason my TV was very high up adjacent to the bed (as opposed to opposite it) which I would lead to neck strain if the TV was watched in bed. Their games room shouldn't be plural as there is only one game (table football) and there is no pool. Bottom line though, would I stay again? Yes as it answered what it needed to: a clean, smart hotel, close to Dublin centre at a affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar in Temple Bar for Guiness and Oysters.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ikle
Business
Ireland
Dec 16, 2011

Christmas escape.

Stayed for two nights in this hotel. We have stayed here a number of times and dined in the bistro. Staff very helpful making every effort to cater for our needs. Food to be enjoyed and a relaxed atmosphere. Will stay again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atlfunstuff
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

great location

very good. the best location in dublin. close to the train, dart, shopping, and the buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunflowerhiker
Business
Fremont, NH, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Good, Clean and reasonably priced

My family often stays at this hotel for its location. The staff have always been very helpful. This was the first time I stayed there myself and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. We were in a corner so I really heard no noise what so ever. It's also right of O'Connell street so you don't get much more central. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
santa and snowflake
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

had a great experience

Locaion was great. Staff was very friendly and worked hard to please. Room size was small but well appointed, modern and very clean. Bar service was good but food was poor. Morning breakfast well worth the price and good. Wi Fi worked well thoughout hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Case
Business
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Oct 13, 2011

The Academy Plaza

Our firt time trip to Ireland was great. We chose the Academy Plaza on a friend's recommendation and the fact that I wanted to be on O'Connell St. immediately and walking to all points of interest....Trinity College, Grafton St and Temple Bar areas, Abbey St, the Luas tram lines , AIB bank, the post office etc. The staff was extremely efficient, friendly and helpful....jumping right in and helping me book further train and bus connections. We did not take advantage of the Bistro Cafe or the Abacus Restaurant for we were out exploring the city but they looked well attended on a regular basis.We did eat breakfast on our departure date and that was great. The rooms were clean, the service prompt. Overall it was great and i'd have no problem returning. the only thing i noticed is that hallway noise late at night permeated through the door easily...but a minor inconvenience for most nights we were so tired we slept through it. Thanks for a fine experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down O'Connell street and cross the bridge/Liffey River that splits Dublin into North and South and spend a day at Trinity College (the library and the Book of Kells exhibition), shop at nearby Grafton St and seek foood of ann type and live Irish music in the Temple Bar area also close by.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish traveler
Business
Cupertino, CA
Oct 10, 2011

Good value. Decent location

The location turned out to work out well. While not in the South of the river part of Dublin, it was a short walk to everything and very close to O Connel Street the main north south street. Overall very nice and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On Holiday
Business
Colorado, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Decent location, good value

Clean, quiet and comfortable. Friendly staff. Easy to get on all most bus lines just down the street. Breakfast is not included. We probably should've added it. Finding a quick bite in the morning was harder than we thought it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a three-day bus pass. It is a great deal if you use it much. So is the Heritage Card. It gets you into many historical sites all over the Republic. We really got value from that.

Back to menu Return to top