$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
232 reviews
Ireland

Breakfast does not start early enough. Early bird travelers will be disappointed with breakfast.... See full review

  • Pachu
  • Mar 20, 2015
short break

The staff on arrival where very helpful we where informed that if we paid for breakfast at check in... See full review

  • lesley t.
  • Mar 1, 2015
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Top hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eireaffinity
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Hotel and Awesome Location!

I stayed at the hotel initially in February 2010 and am so glad I returned in February 2012. What a great deal! The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel had everything at a reasonable price. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly! The room was contemporary, quiet, and clean. The mobility accessible bathroom is excellent and shower stalls have improved drainage from my first visit, which is appreciated. Dinners and drinks in the hotel's Sir Harry's Bistro were excellent and a wonderful way to end a busy day of sight seeing. The Best Western Plus Academy's best point is location, location, location! The hotel is just off O'Connell Street. Restaurants, pubs, Temple Bar and the City Hop on Hop Off Bus Tours are within walking distance. Whenever I return to Dublin, The Best Western Plus Academy Hotel will be at the top of my list for accommodation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Digger
Business
N/A
Apr 8, 2015

Great Location

Great location for shopping and bars/restaurants. Prices slightly high but would come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pachu
Business
N/A
Mar 20, 2015

Ireland

Breakfast does not start early enough. Early bird travelers will be disappointed with breakfast. Outstanding location. Walking distance from all important restaurants and public areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lesley t.
Business
Rochdale
Mar 1, 2015

short break

The staff on arrival where very helpful we where informed that if we paid for breakfast at check in it was cheaper than at the till in the morning, the rooms where very clean and well presented and Murray's bar around the corner is great bar the food, drink and entertainment was just what we wanted. Discount given on the car park if ticket is stamped by hotel. Went with friends and we all had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Helen G.
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

great break but had to request a room change

Great hotel been twice now but on both occasions we were put in noisey rooms, first time above service road, second above taxi rank which sounded like a football match until 5am! In all fairness they moved me the next day but just aask for a quiet room upon check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jared T.
Business
crestview
Feb 10, 2015

Good location about it

Pros: Location, Amenities, friendly staff, Comfy bed, price, breakfast good Cons: Doors slam no matter what super loud, annoying neighbors wouldn't stop opening and closing there door. Breakfast super expensive, internet super slow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tjgfitness
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

excellent hotel

This hotel is in the most perfect position for most things in Dublin. Airport bus stops just outside. Very clean and modern. excellent customer service. Good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Mary
Business
North Shields Tyne and Wear
Dec 29, 2014

Our Stay in Dublin

My sister and I stayed here Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The hotel was a perfect location - two minutes from O'Connell Street and the shuttle bus from the airport 30 seconds away. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and staff were very pleasant and courteous. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only downfall of our visit was the fact that nothing is open during the Christmas festivities. We stayed in our hotel and had the perfect Christmas lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James O.
Business
Salem
Dec 16, 2014

Stayed here twice

To be honest, I thought I was booking the old Best Western a block south of this one, but I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival, as the old one had all the allure of a Scottish Inn (the chain, not an actual Scottish inn). The lobby is modern without being pretentious, and the location makes an easy walk to all the stuff on the other side of the Liffy. My only complaint was the room size it was hard to fit two two burly guys comfortably into the room. On the second stay, I was by myself and still felt a bit cramped. Oh, and the room overlooked the courtyard of a sports bar, so go join them or you won't sleep during soccer games. But I shall return on my next visit, largely because the receptionists laughed at my jokes. Or maybe my accent. Can't tell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanaleon
Business
London
Dec 15, 2014

Good location

Friendly staff. Excellent Location. Easy access to public transport and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal location to explore the city. Good access to public transport and other part of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quil
Business
Delaware
Nov 20, 2014

In Dublin for soccer

Hotel was at a great location to explore the city by walking. Staff were friendly and helpful. They let us check in early and had a cab ready for us when we checked out very early in the morning. Being so close to O'Connell street and the river was great and allowed us to get around the city quickly and easily while never being to far from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top