$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Ashling Hotel Dublin

4 stars
View map of Parkgate Street, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ashling Hotel Dublin

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrixieDixie
Business
Towcester
Jun 2, 2014

Great location

Stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a perfect location for transport. Heuston train station is just over the road but far enough away that you don't hear train noise. However during the day and early evening there is a lot of traffic noise and noise can be heard from the trams which seem to pass by every 10 minutes or so. We only heard the noise as we were at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor. It is possible that the tram noise would be less if in a room on a higher floor or indeed if you booked a room at the back of the hotel ( we are light sleepers#. There was also some noise from the people in the next room to us at an unsociable hour but reception dealt with that very quickly. The rooms are lovely and so clean. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the restaurant and food were great ...especially the breakfasts and they cater for gluten intolerance too! The #green) Hop on hop off bus tour has a pick up point just to the right of the hotel so all in all transport links were excellent for those who don't bring their own vehicles. Would definitely stay here again but perhaps on a higher floor or back room but then you would miss the views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Juno's Café is just up the road from the hotel and is certainly worth a visit for the experience and the food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
May 11, 2011

Great pre/post flight option

Very good value. Can see it from Heuston Train station, very short walk. Rooms comfortable and modern. Staff helpful. Most of our time was in the west of Ireland. Got into Dublin for one night before flying out. Very convenient to express airport bus, although this doesn't work if you have even a semi-early flight as the first bus is at 0715 and takes 30 minutes. Dublin airport clears US customs, so need to get there earlier than one might otherwise suspect. Can easily walk to all the sites in city center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Sep 27, 2011

Last day of 10-day vaca

It was a nice hotel for our last day in Ireland. I wish it were a bit closer to city centre; however, it was within walking distance from the brewery. The bar was great. The hotel was clean. The staff was accommodating. I was originally given a smoking room, which I did not request. I am asthmatic and was ready to check out if there weren't any rooms available. The Ashling had a family room available (meaning more beds) and they provided that to me at no additional cost. My stay was quite satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrish
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Oct 1, 2011

The Ashling

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was right across the street from the train station, which making our tours very easy and convenient. The only thing I would change would be the mattress on the bed. It wasn't very comfortable. The room was very nice and well kept. I would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 5, 2011

Lovely Hotel in great location

I loved my time at the Ashling and I stayed for 6 days. The staff was incredibly nice, the rooms were nice and the food from the restaurant was excellent. My only complaint is that my room didn't have a refrigerator.... but that's my issue :) Everything else was perfect. The best location right across the street from the train/bus station. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Heuston Train station is right across the street! Very convenient. Also located right near the River Liffey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee1
Business
Newport News, VA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Excellent Hotel and Location

The staff was very professional and courteous. The location was such that it was only a 20 minute walk to the downtown area. There were other places to dine nearby; I found 'Nancy's' to be an excellent Pub with good cuisine and friendly staff...about 100 meters from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nancy's Pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Dec 19, 2010

Good but not great.

Hotel was nice and clean. Right across a major bus stop and he guinness factory. Enjoyed the stay very much. The only issue was when one of the hotel staff told us to get up leave from the bar/lounge area for eating outside food. It was passed midnight and the bartender suggested we go out to get food because their kitchen was closed. When we got he food the bartender was happy that we found the place ok so late at night. Another person comes in 5 mins later and says rudely "get up and get out" because there is to be no food there. This experience in the first hour of being at the hotel really soured the experience. Other than this incident we enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is about a 20 min walk or 5 min bus ride from the city center which has all of the nightlife and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Aug 8, 2011

Comfortable and surprisingly quiet

Very comfortable "business class" hotel. Close to Heuston Train Station and a short tram ride into the City Centre. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast (although good) was a bit on the pricey side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to both the Jameson Distillery tour and the Guinness Storehouse tour as well as the National Museum (Decorative Arts).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leorah
Business
Austin
Aug 2, 2014

Nice hotel in a great location

The management, staff and amenities at this hotel were excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable. Not all rooms are air conditioned and ours wasn't, but despite the "heat wave" (we are from Texas!) the region was experiencing during our stay, our room was very comfortable. The window opened and we had a nice fan to use if we needed it. The food at the on-site restaurants was very good and there are several good restaurants within walking distance. We wanted to explore Dublin and this hotel was situated right next to a tram line and a short walk from the rail station, making it ideal for our purposes. The Irish National Museum is right down the street. Because it's not a tourist area, the hotel was quiet and we felt quite safe walking around in the evenings. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dining in one of the small, neighborhood pubs away from the tourist areas near Temple Bar. We did, and it was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dms248
Business
Ithaca, NY
Sep 24, 2014

Dublin Sep 2014

The Ashling Hotel was very nice and conveniently located relative to the city center and various tourist attractions, also an easy walk to the rail station. I was very happy with my experience and would recommend the Ashling to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top