$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Ashling Hotel Dublin

4 stars
Parkgate Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Luck of the Irish with this facilities!

Great location, comfy room, awesome staff, CLEAN! CLEAN! CLEAN! And everything is close by (public... See full review

  • crossmen96
  • Aug 6, 2014
Dublin is the greatest

I am on a walker and have trouble getting around. The staff took great care of me in seeing that I... See full review

  • Doug Alan
  • May 13, 2014
The Ashling Hotel has been reborn with a brand new look and has recently been reclassified as a four star hotel with 225 spacious bedrooms. All our rooms are non smoking. We have a 180 seater restaurant, Chesterfields Brasserie, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting room facilites catering for up to 220 delegates

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ashling Hotel Dublin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms

Superior Rooms
Superior rooms in the Ashling are a recently new addition. Treat yourself to a night of indulgence in a superbly designed room, air-conditioned with King-size bed or two single beds and comprehensive and exquisite facilities. The rooms have relaxing colour schemes and modern, walnut furnishings. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. Each room has conveniently placed power and telecommunication sockets. All bathrooms are rich and elegant, with tiled walls and floors including large rain showers. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All Superior rooms include the following: Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Direct dial Telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Laptop Safe
STANDARD - DOUBLE
Standard rooms in the Ashling have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Bedrooms are spacious and most feature a double and single bed. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All standard rooms include the following: Hot towel rail, Direct dial telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Dublin Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.7 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.7 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.7 mi
  • Maryland: 0.7 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.7 mi
  • Kilmainham Gao: 0.8 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.8 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.8 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.8 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.9 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.9 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.9 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.9 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 1 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 1 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Kings Inns: 1 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 1 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 1 mi
  • Warrenmount: 1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Iveagh Bar
The Ashling Hotel boasts a stylish bar, The Iveagh Bar, which is an ideal place to unwind where friendly bar staff will be glad to serve your favourite tipple. The Iveagh Bar offers an informal atmosphere where you can enjoy a drink, sample a mouth watering cocktail from an extensive menu and food is served daily. Choose from a wide range of options including delicious sandwiches, a range of firm favourites or just a snack.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Ashling Hotel Dublin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Londoners
London, UK
Dec 4, 2012

Nice stay

A tidy, modern hotel in a good location by tram (can be noisy) and Collins Museum (worth a look), close to river and Guinness Brewery. Bus stop for airport at station opposite. Friendly staff. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Collins Museum is great (5 minutes walk). A pint of Guinness in the Brazen Head (Upper Bridge Street - 15 minutes walk) is touristy but fun. Got thoroughly lost in hire car so take the bus from the airport!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peach
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Standard room is disappointing

Standard room is not what you see online. They first put us in a smoking room because they ran out of non smoking rooms - smelled horrible. The next day we were able to change rooms and they put us next to the laundry room where you here the dryers all day. It was a good thing we didn't spend much time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James
Business
Londonderry
Jun 2, 2012

Two nights in Dublin

WE were in the Ashling on 4 April and were upgraded to a fantastic room so impressed we booked again for the end of May. This time we were downgraded to an attic room no airconditioning and a bathroom were the toilet bowl was right up against the washbasin and could only be used by someone without a left leg. It is a shame that some four star hotels have a three star area within them to fob off customers you think you are going to the same class as before to be dissapointed. There are lots of four star hotels in Dublin so we will not book the Ashling in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Houshunter
Business
Dickinson, ND
Mar 27, 2013

It's good but....

Wonderful staff. Room was fine, but our bed was terrible! It was old and soft. Nice dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Hop on/Hop off bus stop across the street from this hotel, however, it is one of the last stops, so it took FOREVER for the first bus to arrive. We were told the first bus would get there by 9:30 am, and it didn't arrive until about 10:40. I would not recommend the hop on/ hop off from this location if you want to get anywhere in the morning. Also, at about 4:30 you can't get back on. For 52 euro for 3 of us, it would have been much cheaper, quicker, and more convenient to use taxis to get around Dublin!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Egg and I
Business
Rhinebeck, New York
Apr 13, 2013

Great Location for Day Trips

This hotel is located slightly outside of Dublin center which meant it was quiet - we liked that. It is also located close to Heuston Rail Station which was perfect for earling morning starts on day trips to Galway and Cork. The Luas (local tram into Dublin center) is also located at this station. That made is convenient to get into town if you chose not to take the 15-20 minute walk. A taxi is between 8-10 Euro. There aren't many restaurants close to the hotel except for FX Buckley's which was very good and had a nice pub. Our room was a standard double bed room and it was fine. No comfortable chairs, no sheets - just a duvet covered with a sheet type cover. Stain on the ceiling but not a big deal since we spend little time in the room when we travel. We're also use to Marriotts so this was different for us. The staff was not very knowledgable about the area and not very willing to help although the desk was always fully staffed. Had to pay to use their computer which we weren't use to. The bathroom was clean but twice they only gave us one washcloth instead of two and once they didn't empty our clearly full garbage cans. All in all you get what you pay for and this was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

When you're out for the day, try to eat dinner before going back to the hotel since there aren't many choices there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AngeloNY
Business
New York
Jan 22, 2014

Could be better

Staff was very helpful and polite. No complaints there whatsoever. The room we first got must have been freshly painted as the paint odor was very strong, I got a headache within minutes being there. The whole wing actually must have been freshly painted... I went to open the window to realize we'd freeze to death, since there is no temperature control on the lower tier "standard" rooms (plus, I noticed a cigarette hole on the curtain...gross). I called the front desk and within minutes they upgraded us to a "deluxe", which is really what their standard should be. It was much better and more comfortable, though the fan in the vent for the heating was so loud, we had to turn it off to get some sleep. So much for the temperature control feature. Regardless, biggest issue was our dinner at the bar. Overpriced as expected, but the service was too slow and the food below average. It took about an hour and a half for us to get our food. When ordering a burger, she didn't ask "how would you like that cooked", so I thought "uh oh..." I asked if we could have that cooked medium, and she went on to explain that because it's minced meat (really? Is it?? Unreal...), its impossible to cook it anything besides "well done". Way to ruin that lovely Irish beef... Total letdown. My steak was chewy like a shoe sole... So, overall, a bit disappointed. Definitely will stay someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 20 minute walk is Kilmainham Gaol. Must visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relax and Eat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Meeh.... Average in every way

There was nothing really disappointing at this hotel nor anything special. I think the 4 star rating is too high. The location is convenient if you want to explore the West of Ireland by train (Heuston station is 200 m away) or want to see the Guinness brewery or Jamieson's. For anything else in Dublin the place isn't located too well. The area is not really walkable other than 2-3 pubs and one little cafe nearby, and considering it is stone's throw away from the new Criminal court the people hanging out in the area are a bit interesting. So if strolling around your hotel neighborhood is your thing this place isn't for you. I was mostly there for business and needed something close to Blackhall Place. Would not stay here for an in-Dublin vacation. Rooms: Clean, Good Pillows, Average comfortable mattresses, worst towels ever provided (small, rough), water never gets hot. Good workspace for the Superior rooms. Clientele: 55+, families and business people. If you are an early riser, and don't like late night noise this place is ideal. You won't hear people partying late in the night, but you will hear doors slamming at 7:00 am. Food: Average, uninspired for both restaurants. Amenities: Wifi decent connection and speed, ethernet was dead. No business center available, 2 computers for pay and no privacy available in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Juno's cafe next door for breakfast. Better service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 15, 2007

convienient to train station and busses

The room reeked of smoke and after complaining to staff we were moved the next day but the first night was not very pleasent. We were convienient to the train station and all bus transportation to the center of town which was only about a five to ten minute ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums and Guiness Storehouse are just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hollie Chocoholie
Business
Muskegon, MI
Aug 31, 2011

good hotel, nice location

We stayed here for a week - our room was comfortable, and we always had coffee, tea and Scottish shortbread cookies left for our breakfast. However, there was a shortage of facecloths and we had to ask for them several times. Also had to ask for a top sheet for the beds a couple of times. Service was good when we asked, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel near bus and train stops to points throughout the city of Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GERARDMAINMAN
Business
Galway, Co. Galway, Ireland
Dec 7, 2011

Great Place for overnight business stay

Excellent as usual. Stayed here three times before and it is excellent. Staff are fiendly and very clean. rooms are very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good value meals in the bar for business people who dont want a big meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Green Rider 58
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Oct 28, 2012

Great location

We spent two nights at the Ashling Hotel but actually spent very little time in the hotel. It is within walking distance of the downtown sites in Dublin and also accessible on the red line bus tour. We had significant problems with the wifi connection in our room on the 4th floor - the hotel staff offered no solution nor any sort of apology for the situation other than suggesting we sit in the lobby where the reception is better - somewhat frustrating when almost every restaurant and pub in Dublin (and Ireland for that matter) has free and reliable wifi service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

easy to walk the 2-3 km to get to the sites in Dublin - once you are downtown - Temple Bar and Grafton Street are very interesting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top