Ashling Hotel Dublin

4 stars
Parkgate Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
50 reviews
Dublin is the greatest

I am on a walker and have trouble getting around. The staff took great care of me in seeing that I... See full review

  • Doug Alan
  • May 13, 2014
excellent

wonderful hotel. lovely atmosphere. highly recommended. See full review

  • kenmares
  • Apr 10, 2014
Stylish hotel ideally located for exploring downtown Dublin
Ashling Hotel Dublin welcomes discerning business and leisure travelers with understated elegance and chicly appointed rooms in the heart of heritage-rich Dublin. This centrally located four-star hotel boasts of convenient distance to local landmarks, cultural venues, and entertainment opportunities. A short stroll from Ashling Hotel Dublin will lead tourists to Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, National Museum of Ireland, and Irish Museum of Modern Art.

Business seminars functions can be held at the meeting/conference facilities on site that can accommodate up to 220 guests. Diners at Ashling Hotel Dublin can sample full Irish breakfast and a variety of scrumptious culinary delights at in-house Chesterfields Restaurant. Enjoy the refreshments, cocktails, and snacks at the casual atmosphere of Iveagh Bar. Ashling Hotel Dublin overlooks River Liffey and is near public transportation facilities. The hotel offers parking at the multi-storey car park for an additional charge.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Central location in the heart of historic Dublin and close to many local attractions
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Restaurant and bar on site
Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms
After a busy day of work or sightseeing, tourists can unwind in any of the 225 beautifully furnished rooms and suites at Ashling Hotel Dublin. The warm color palette lends the room a warm, inviting atmosphere to ensure comfort and relaxation. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen, safe deposit box, tea-/ coffee-making tray, telephone, and hairdryer. Family rooms and interconnecting rooms are also on offer.  Some units have air conditioning, floor-to-ceiling windows or living area.
Things To Do:
  • National Museum of Ireland (0.19 mi / 0.31 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (0.47 mi / 0.75 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.51 mi / 0.81 km)
  • Phoenix Park (0.69 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Dublin Zoo (0.81 mi / 1.3 km)
  • St Patrick's Cathedral (1.0 mi / 1.6 km)
  • National Wax Museum (1.25 mi / 2.0 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (1.38 mi / 2.2 km)
  • Trinity College Dublin (1.56 mi / 2.5 km)
  • National Museum of Ireland – Archaeology (1.63 mi / 2.6 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (1.69 mi / 2.7 km)

Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms

Superior Rooms
Superior rooms in the Ashling are a recently new addition. Treat yourself to a night of indulgence in a superbly designed room, air-conditioned with King-size bed or two single beds and comprehensive and exquisite facilities. The rooms have relaxing colour schemes and modern, walnut furnishings. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. Each room has conveniently placed power and telecommunication sockets. All bathrooms are rich and elegant, with tiled walls and floors including large rain showers. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All Superior rooms include the following: Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Direct dial Telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Laptop Safe
STANDARD - DOUBLE
Standard rooms in the Ashling have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Bedrooms are spacious and most feature a double and single bed. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All standard rooms include the following: Hot towel rail, Direct dial telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

53.348 -6.2909
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The Ashling Hotel is located on the River Liffey across from Heuston Rail Station. Its just a 20 minute walk from the city centre and Temple Bar area. Alternatively, the hotel is just 5 minutes from the city centre by tram (Luas red line). Board at Abbey Street in the city centre and disembark at Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Dublin Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.7 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.7 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.7 mi
  • Maryland: 0.7 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.7 mi
  • Kilmainham Gao: 0.8 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.8 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.8 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.8 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.9 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.9 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.9 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.9 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 1 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 1 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Kings Inns: 1 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 1 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 1 mi
  • Warrenmount: 1 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Iveagh Bar
The Ashling Hotel boasts a stylish bar, The Iveagh Bar, which is an ideal place to unwind where friendly bar staff will be glad to serve your favourite tipple. The Iveagh Bar offers an informal atmosphere where you can enjoy a drink, sample a mouth watering cocktail from an extensive menu and food is served daily. Choose from a wide range of options including delicious sandwiches, a range of firm favourites or just a snack.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Ashling Hotel Dublin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peach
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Standard room is disappointing

Standard room is not what you see online. They first put us in a smoking room because they ran out of non smoking rooms - smelled horrible. The next day we were able to change rooms and they put us next to the laundry room where you here the dryers all day. It was a good thing we didn't spend much time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peach
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Standard room is disappointing

Standard room is not what you see online. They first put us in a smoking room because they ran out of non smoking rooms - smelled horrible. The next day we were able to change rooms and they put us next to the laundry room where you here the dryers all day. It was a good thing we didn't spend much time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James
Londonderry
Jun 2, 2012

Two nights in Dublin

WE were in the Ashling on 4 April and were upgraded to a fantastic room so impressed we booked again for the end of May. This time we were downgraded to an attic room no airconditioning and a bathroom were the toilet bowl was right up against the washbasin and could only be used by someone without a left leg. It is a shame that some four star hotels have a three star area within them to fob off customers you think you are going to the same class as before to be dissapointed. There are lots of four star hotels in Dublin so we will not book the Ashling in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Houshunter
Dickinson, ND
Mar 27, 2013

It's good but....

Wonderful staff. Room was fine, but our bed was terrible! It was old and soft. Nice dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Hop on/Hop off bus stop across the street from this hotel, however, it is one of the last stops, so it took FOREVER for the first bus to arrive. We were told the first bus would get there by 9:30 am, and it didn't arrive until about 10:40. I would not recommend the hop on/ hop off from this location if you want to get anywhere in the morning. Also, at about 4:30 you can't get back on. For 52 euro for 3 of us, it would have been much cheaper, quicker, and more convenient to use taxis to get around Dublin!

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AngeloNY
New York
Jan 22, 2014

Could be better

Staff was very helpful and polite. No complaints there whatsoever. The room we first got must have been freshly painted as the paint odor was very strong, I got a headache within minutes being there. The whole wing actually must have been freshly painted... I went to open the window to realize we'd freeze to death, since there is no temperature control on the lower tier "standard" rooms (plus, I noticed a cigarette hole on the curtain...gross). I called the front desk and within minutes they upgraded us to a "deluxe", which is really what their standard should be. It was much better and more comfortable, though the fan in the vent for the heating was so loud, we had to turn it off to get some sleep. So much for the temperature control feature. Regardless, biggest issue was our dinner at the bar. Overpriced as expected, but the service was too slow and the food below average. It took about an hour and a half for us to get our food. When ordering a burger, she didn't ask "how would you like that cooked", so I thought "uh oh..." I asked if we could have that cooked medium, and she went on to explain that because it's minced meat (really? Is it?? Unreal...), its impossible to cook it anything besides "well done". Way to ruin that lovely Irish beef... Total letdown. My steak was chewy like a shoe sole... So, overall, a bit disappointed. Definitely will stay someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 20 minute walk is Kilmainham Gaol. Must visit.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Egg and I
Rhinebeck, New York
Apr 13, 2013

Great Location for Day Trips

This hotel is located slightly outside of Dublin center which meant it was quiet - we liked that. It is also located close to Heuston Rail Station which was perfect for earling morning starts on day trips to Galway and Cork. The Luas (local tram into Dublin center) is also located at this station. That made is convenient to get into town if you chose not to take the 15-20 minute walk. A taxi is between 8-10 Euro. There aren't many restaurants close to the hotel except for FX Buckley's which was very good and had a nice pub. Our room was a standard double bed room and it was fine. No comfortable chairs, no sheets - just a duvet covered with a sheet type cover. Stain on the ceiling but not a big deal since we spend little time in the room when we travel. We're also use to Marriotts so this was different for us. The staff was not very knowledgable about the area and not very willing to help although the desk was always fully staffed. Had to pay to use their computer which we weren't use to. The bathroom was clean but twice they only gave us one washcloth instead of two and once they didn't empty our clearly full garbage cans. All in all you get what you pay for and this was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

When you're out for the day, try to eat dinner before going back to the hotel since there aren't many choices there.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relax and Eat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Meeh.... Average in every way

There was nothing really disappointing at this hotel nor anything special. I think the 4 star rating is too high. The location is convenient if you want to explore the West of Ireland by train (Heuston station is 200 m away) or want to see the Guinness brewery or Jamieson's. For anything else in Dublin the place isn't located too well. The area is not really walkable other than 2-3 pubs and one little cafe nearby, and considering it is stone's throw away from the new Criminal court the people hanging out in the area are a bit interesting. So if strolling around your hotel neighborhood is your thing this place isn't for you. I was mostly there for business and needed something close to Blackhall Place. Would not stay here for an in-Dublin vacation. Rooms: Clean, Good Pillows, Average comfortable mattresses, worst towels ever provided (small, rough), water never gets hot. Good workspace for the Superior rooms. Clientele: 55+, families and business people. If you are an early riser, and don't like late night noise this place is ideal. You won't hear people partying late in the night, but you will hear doors slamming at 7:00 am. Food: Average, uninspired for both restaurants. Amenities: Wifi decent connection and speed, ethernet was dead. No business center available, 2 computers for pay and no privacy available in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Juno's cafe next door for breakfast. Better service and food.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee1
Newport News, VA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Excellent Hotel and Location

The staff was very professional and courteous. The location was such that it was only a 20 minute walk to the downtown area. There were other places to dine nearby; I found 'Nancy's' to be an excellent Pub with good cuisine and friendly staff...about 100 meters from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nancy's Pub

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee1
Newport News, VA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Excellent Hotel and Location

The staff was very professional and courteous. The location was such that it was only a 20 minute walk to the downtown area. There were other places to dine nearby; I found 'Nancy's' to be an excellent Pub with good cuisine and friendly staff...about 100 meters from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nancy's Pub

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Green Rider 58
Ottawa, Ontario
Oct 28, 2012

Great location

We spent two nights at the Ashling Hotel but actually spent very little time in the hotel. It is within walking distance of the downtown sites in Dublin and also accessible on the red line bus tour. We had significant problems with the wifi connection in our room on the 4th floor - the hotel staff offered no solution nor any sort of apology for the situation other than suggesting we sit in the lobby where the reception is better - somewhat frustrating when almost every restaurant and pub in Dublin (and Ireland for that matter) has free and reliable wifi service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

easy to walk the 2-3 km to get to the sites in Dublin - once you are downtown - Temple Bar and Grafton Street are very interesting

Back to menu Return to top