$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Ashling Hotel Dublin

4 stars
View map of Parkgate Street, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ashling Hotel Dublin

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leorah
Couples
Austin
Aug 2, 2014

Nice hotel in a great location

The management, staff and amenities at this hotel were excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable. Not all rooms are air conditioned and ours wasn't, but despite the "heat wave" (we are from Texas!) the region was experiencing during our stay, our room was very comfortable. The window opened and we had a nice fan to use if we needed it. The food at the on-site restaurants was very good and there are several good restaurants within walking distance. We wanted to explore Dublin and this hotel was situated right next to a tram line and a short walk from the rail station, making it ideal for our purposes. The Irish National Museum is right down the street. Because it's not a tourist area, the hotel was quiet and we felt quite safe walking around in the evenings. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dining in one of the small, neighborhood pubs away from the tourist areas near Temple Bar. We did, and it was excellent!

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relax and Eat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Meeh.... Average in every way

There was nothing really disappointing at this hotel nor anything special. I think the 4 star rating is too high. The location is convenient if you want to explore the West of Ireland by train (Heuston station is 200 m away) or want to see the Guinness brewery or Jamieson's. For anything else in Dublin the place isn't located too well. The area is not really walkable other than 2-3 pubs and one little cafe nearby, and considering it is stone's throw away from the new Criminal court the people hanging out in the area are a bit interesting. So if strolling around your hotel neighborhood is your thing this place isn't for you. I was mostly there for business and needed something close to Blackhall Place. Would not stay here for an in-Dublin vacation. Rooms: Clean, Good Pillows, Average comfortable mattresses, worst towels ever provided (small, rough), water never gets hot. Good workspace for the Superior rooms. Clientele: 55+, families and business people. If you are an early riser, and don't like late night noise this place is ideal. You won't hear people partying late in the night, but you will hear doors slamming at 7:00 am. Food: Average, uninspired for both restaurants. Amenities: Wifi decent connection and speed, ethernet was dead. No business center available, 2 computers for pay and no privacy available in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Juno's cafe next door for breakfast. Better service and food.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrixieDixie
Family
Towcester
Jun 2, 2014

Great location

Stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a perfect location for transport. Heuston train station is just over the road but far enough away that you don't hear train noise. However during the day and early evening there is a lot of traffic noise and noise can be heard from the trams which seem to pass by every 10 minutes or so. We only heard the noise as we were at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor. It is possible that the tram noise would be less if in a room on a higher floor or indeed if you booked a room at the back of the hotel ( we are light sleepers#. There was also some noise from the people in the next room to us at an unsociable hour but reception dealt with that very quickly. The rooms are lovely and so clean. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the restaurant and food were great ...especially the breakfasts and they cater for gluten intolerance too! The #green) Hop on hop off bus tour has a pick up point just to the right of the hotel so all in all transport links were excellent for those who don't bring their own vehicles. Would definitely stay here again but perhaps on a higher floor or back room but then you would miss the views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Juno's Café is just up the road from the hotel and is certainly worth a visit for the experience and the food!

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug Alan
Family
Indiana
May 13, 2014

Dublin is the greatest

I am on a walker and have trouble getting around. The staff took great care of me in seeing that I had no problems. The meals in the bar and the dining room were great. The only complaint I have is that there was only one electric outlet in the room. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenmares
Couples
oxfordshire
Apr 10, 2014

excellent

wonderful hotel. lovely atmosphere. highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amyy
Couples
Kerry
Mar 15, 2014

Excellent location

It's located right across from the train status and the luas is outside the door it's also only a fifteen minute walk from the zoo. Great location. Staff are also very nice and helpful and the room was extra clean. Wifi isn't great unfortunately

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dublin zoo

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcatrinah
Family
Minneapolis
Feb 1, 2014

Amazing service & buffet breakfast

Greeted really well by staff upon arrival and every time we arrived. Convenient to LUAS line to catch lightrail from city centre and Airlink bus from/to airport. Be aware there is no train from the airport as we had thought. Bus can be cumbersome with lots of luggage. Taxi costs around 25 euros. The staff was amazing and the breakfast was excellent. Including gluten free options (porridge & scones upon request) which was great for our son and pleasantly unexpected. Lounge was nice. Felt safe in hotel. Only complaint was room was laid out strangely; not super cozy & hair on the bathroom wall. Minor complaints as overall the room was comfortable. Again customer service was great!!!! As was value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Science gallery at Trinity College has rotating exhibits. In the archeology and architecture building on campus there is a dinosaur footprint mold and skeleton if ancient giant deer from the area. Great little natural history find!

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AngeloNY
Couples
New York
Jan 22, 2014

Could be better

Staff was very helpful and polite. No complaints there whatsoever. The room we first got must have been freshly painted as the paint odor was very strong, I got a headache within minutes being there. The whole wing actually must have been freshly painted... I went to open the window to realize we'd freeze to death, since there is no temperature control on the lower tier "standard" rooms (plus, I noticed a cigarette hole on the curtain...gross). I called the front desk and within minutes they upgraded us to a "deluxe", which is really what their standard should be. It was much better and more comfortable, though the fan in the vent for the heating was so loud, we had to turn it off to get some sleep. So much for the temperature control feature. Regardless, biggest issue was our dinner at the bar. Overpriced as expected, but the service was too slow and the food below average. It took about an hour and a half for us to get our food. When ordering a burger, she didn't ask "how would you like that cooked", so I thought "uh oh..." I asked if we could have that cooked medium, and she went on to explain that because it's minced meat (really? Is it?? Unreal...), its impossible to cook it anything besides "well done". Way to ruin that lovely Irish beef... Total letdown. My steak was chewy like a shoe sole... So, overall, a bit disappointed. Definitely will stay someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 20 minute walk is Kilmainham Gaol. Must visit.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irishyouwerehere
Family
Cypress, CA
Nov 30, 2013

Great Dublin and away location

The hotel is across the street from the bus/tram/train (Euston) station. It is a very nice, upscale hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would probably recommend one of those touristy bus tours that drop you off at multiple stops to see Dublin, if you have never been to Dublin before.There is lots to see.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Zita
Couples
Switzerland
Nov 1, 2013

positive surprise

Easy accessible location near Park and Zoo, opposite to the Guinness brewery. Excellent Service, good athmosphere and very comfortable rooms. The 2 Restaurants are an absolute Highlight and deserve an extra star. We were there for the Dublin Marathon and missed nothing. Bravo !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top