$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Ashling Hotel Dublin

4 stars
Parkgate Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
50 reviews
Dublin is the greatest

I am on a walker and have trouble getting around. The staff took great care of me in seeing that I... See full review

  • Doug Alan
  • May 13, 2014
excellent

wonderful hotel. lovely atmosphere. highly recommended. See full review

  • kenmares
  • Apr 10, 2014
Stylish hotel ideally located for exploring downtown Dublin
Ashling Hotel Dublin welcomes discerning business and leisure travelers with understated elegance and chicly appointed rooms in the heart of heritage-rich Dublin. This centrally located four-star hotel boasts of convenient distance to local landmarks, cultural venues, and entertainment opportunities. A short stroll from Ashling Hotel Dublin will lead tourists to Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, National Museum of Ireland, and Irish Museum of Modern Art.

Business seminars functions can be held at the meeting/conference facilities on site that can accommodate up to 220 guests. Diners at Ashling Hotel Dublin can sample full Irish breakfast and a variety of scrumptious culinary delights at in-house Chesterfields Restaurant. Enjoy the refreshments, cocktails, and snacks at the casual atmosphere of Iveagh Bar. Ashling Hotel Dublin overlooks River Liffey and is near public transportation facilities. The hotel offers parking at the multi-storey car park for an additional charge.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Central location in the heart of historic Dublin and close to many local attractions
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Restaurant and bar on site
Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms
After a busy day of work or sightseeing, tourists can unwind in any of the 225 beautifully furnished rooms and suites at Ashling Hotel Dublin. The warm color palette lends the room a warm, inviting atmosphere to ensure comfort and relaxation. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen, safe deposit box, tea-/ coffee-making tray, telephone, and hairdryer. Family rooms and interconnecting rooms are also on offer.  Some units have air conditioning, floor-to-ceiling windows or living area.
Things To Do:
  • National Museum of Ireland (0.19 mi / 0.31 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (0.47 mi / 0.75 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.51 mi / 0.81 km)
  • Phoenix Park (0.69 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Dublin Zoo (0.81 mi / 1.3 km)
  • St Patrick's Cathedral (1.0 mi / 1.6 km)
  • National Wax Museum (1.25 mi / 2.0 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (1.38 mi / 2.2 km)
  • Trinity College Dublin (1.56 mi / 2.5 km)
  • National Museum of Ireland – Archaeology (1.63 mi / 2.6 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (1.69 mi / 2.7 km)

Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms

Superior Rooms
Superior rooms in the Ashling are a recently new addition. Treat yourself to a night of indulgence in a superbly designed room, air-conditioned with King-size bed or two single beds and comprehensive and exquisite facilities. The rooms have relaxing colour schemes and modern, walnut furnishings. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. Each room has conveniently placed power and telecommunication sockets. All bathrooms are rich and elegant, with tiled walls and floors including large rain showers. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All Superior rooms include the following: Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Direct dial Telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Laptop Safe
STANDARD - DOUBLE
Standard rooms in the Ashling have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Bedrooms are spacious and most feature a double and single bed. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All standard rooms include the following: Hot towel rail, Direct dial telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ashling Hotel Dublin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.348 -6.2909
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The Ashling Hotel is located on the River Liffey across from Heuston Rail Station. Its just a 20 minute walk from the city centre and Temple Bar area. Alternatively, the hotel is just 5 minutes from the city centre by tram (Luas red line). Board at Abbey Street in the city centre and disembark at Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Dublin Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.7 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.7 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.7 mi
  • Maryland: 0.7 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.7 mi
  • Kilmainham Gao: 0.8 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.8 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.8 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.8 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.9 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.9 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.9 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.9 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 1 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 1 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Kings Inns: 1 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 1 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 1 mi
  • Warrenmount: 1 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Iveagh Bar
The Ashling Hotel boasts a stylish bar, The Iveagh Bar, which is an ideal place to unwind where friendly bar staff will be glad to serve your favourite tipple. The Iveagh Bar offers an informal atmosphere where you can enjoy a drink, sample a mouth watering cocktail from an extensive menu and food is served daily. Choose from a wide range of options including delicious sandwiches, a range of firm favourites or just a snack.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Ashling Hotel Dublin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cumbrian
Cumbria
Jun 27, 2013

Ashling Hotel

A well run hotel in an excellent location. Would be happy to return at any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hkmj traveler
New Hyde Park, NY
May 31, 2013

Good amenitiy Hotel

Very charming hotel, Good location, beautiful rooms and good breakfasts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nancy Hands Pub not too far was the best in value, food and location.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hkmj traveler
New Hyde Park, NY
May 31, 2013

timid traveler

very good location, good value , very plush and charming hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nancy Hans Pub around the corner is very good and good atmosphere and value

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boiler2k3
Pittsburgh, PA
May 30, 2013

First Trip to Ireland

Very Satisfied! Helpful staff, clean and modern rooms, and air conditioning, which many hotels don't have in Ireland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to train station and light rail.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
audreyg47
ayrshire,scotland
May 20, 2013

2 night break

couldnt fault the ashling hotel,staff were very helpful and lovely. room was very clean,food in bar was delicious,waitress were so helpful when i enquired about directions etc. had a weekend break with my partner and would definately return to the ashling,location was quiet and only a short tram ride into centre of dublin. my partner also left his ipod in the room and didnt realise till we got home,i phoned the hotel and it is now in the post.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

tram from the ashling hotel into centre of dublin was only 1 euro 60.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
US StudentTraveler
Washington, DC
May 6, 2013

Awesome and comfortable getaway

The room was amazing and so was the location. It's about a 25min walk to the center city which is not bad at all and it's right next to the Liffey. The attention was also great. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Egg and I
Rhinebeck, New York
Apr 13, 2013

Great Location for Day Trips

This hotel is located slightly outside of Dublin center which meant it was quiet - we liked that. It is also located close to Heuston Rail Station which was perfect for earling morning starts on day trips to Galway and Cork. The Luas (local tram into Dublin center) is also located at this station. That made is convenient to get into town if you chose not to take the 15-20 minute walk. A taxi is between 8-10 Euro. There aren't many restaurants close to the hotel except for FX Buckley's which was very good and had a nice pub. Our room was a standard double bed room and it was fine. No comfortable chairs, no sheets - just a duvet covered with a sheet type cover. Stain on the ceiling but not a big deal since we spend little time in the room when we travel. We're also use to Marriotts so this was different for us. The staff was not very knowledgable about the area and not very willing to help although the desk was always fully staffed. Had to pay to use their computer which we weren't use to. The bathroom was clean but twice they only gave us one washcloth instead of two and once they didn't empty our clearly full garbage cans. All in all you get what you pay for and this was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

When you're out for the day, try to eat dinner before going back to the hotel since there aren't many choices there.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack95760
London
Apr 2, 2013

Very good

Excellent hotel - served alcohol on Good Friday! Only slight issue was shower pressure and temperature (although during our stay Dublin City Council had imposed a water curfew so this most likely was the cause).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tourist2013
England
Mar 28, 2013

Couples city break.

We booked late only a few days before our arrival and due to the very cold weather we found our room to be quite cold. We explained this to the staff who were very friendly and helpful, and they upgraded us free of charge to a superior king room. The room was beautiful, very stylish and comfortable with great views. Although just out of temple bar/grafton street area, which is what we wanted, it is only a short walk away and the hotel is directly by the luas (tram) line which makes it easy to get around. The bus stops right outside the hotel And the hotel is across the road from the train station and the guiness storehouse! Breakfast in the Hotel is lovely! Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Houshunter
Dickinson, ND
Mar 27, 2013

It's good but....

Wonderful staff. Room was fine, but our bed was terrible! It was old and soft. Nice dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Hop on/Hop off bus stop across the street from this hotel, however, it is one of the last stops, so it took FOREVER for the first bus to arrive. We were told the first bus would get there by 9:30 am, and it didn't arrive until about 10:40. I would not recommend the hop on/ hop off from this location if you want to get anywhere in the morning. Also, at about 4:30 you can't get back on. For 52 euro for 3 of us, it would have been much cheaper, quicker, and more convenient to use taxis to get around Dublin!

Back to menu Return to top