$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Ashling Hotel Dublin

4 stars
Parkgate Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
50 reviews
Dublin is the greatest

I am on a walker and have trouble getting around. The staff took great care of me in seeing that I... See full review

  • Doug Alan
  • May 13, 2014
excellent

wonderful hotel. lovely atmosphere. highly recommended. See full review

  • kenmares
  • Apr 10, 2014
Stylish hotel ideally located for exploring downtown Dublin
Ashling Hotel Dublin welcomes discerning business and leisure travelers with understated elegance and chicly appointed rooms in the heart of heritage-rich Dublin. This centrally located four-star hotel boasts of convenient distance to local landmarks, cultural venues, and entertainment opportunities. A short stroll from Ashling Hotel Dublin will lead tourists to Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, National Museum of Ireland, and Irish Museum of Modern Art.

Business seminars functions can be held at the meeting/conference facilities on site that can accommodate up to 220 guests. Diners at Ashling Hotel Dublin can sample full Irish breakfast and a variety of scrumptious culinary delights at in-house Chesterfields Restaurant. Enjoy the refreshments, cocktails, and snacks at the casual atmosphere of Iveagh Bar. Ashling Hotel Dublin overlooks River Liffey and is near public transportation facilities. The hotel offers parking at the multi-storey car park for an additional charge.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Central location in the heart of historic Dublin and close to many local attractions
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Restaurant and bar on site
Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms
After a busy day of work or sightseeing, tourists can unwind in any of the 225 beautifully furnished rooms and suites at Ashling Hotel Dublin. The warm color palette lends the room a warm, inviting atmosphere to ensure comfort and relaxation. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen, safe deposit box, tea-/ coffee-making tray, telephone, and hairdryer. Family rooms and interconnecting rooms are also on offer.  Some units have air conditioning, floor-to-ceiling windows or living area.
Things To Do:
  • National Museum of Ireland (0.19 mi / 0.31 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (0.47 mi / 0.75 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.51 mi / 0.81 km)
  • Phoenix Park (0.69 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Dublin Zoo (0.81 mi / 1.3 km)
  • St Patrick's Cathedral (1.0 mi / 1.6 km)
  • National Wax Museum (1.25 mi / 2.0 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (1.38 mi / 2.2 km)
  • Trinity College Dublin (1.56 mi / 2.5 km)
  • National Museum of Ireland – Archaeology (1.63 mi / 2.6 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (1.69 mi / 2.7 km)

Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms

Superior Rooms
Superior rooms in the Ashling are a recently new addition. Treat yourself to a night of indulgence in a superbly designed room, air-conditioned with King-size bed or two single beds and comprehensive and exquisite facilities. The rooms have relaxing colour schemes and modern, walnut furnishings. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. Each room has conveniently placed power and telecommunication sockets. All bathrooms are rich and elegant, with tiled walls and floors including large rain showers. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All Superior rooms include the following: Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Direct dial Telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Laptop Safe
STANDARD - DOUBLE
Standard rooms in the Ashling have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Bedrooms are spacious and most feature a double and single bed. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All standard rooms include the following: Hot towel rail, Direct dial telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ashling Hotel Dublin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.348 -6.2909
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The Ashling Hotel is located on the River Liffey across from Heuston Rail Station. Its just a 20 minute walk from the city centre and Temple Bar area. Alternatively, the hotel is just 5 minutes from the city centre by tram (Luas red line). Board at Abbey Street in the city centre and disembark at Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Dublin Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.7 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.7 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.7 mi
  • Maryland: 0.7 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.7 mi
  • Kilmainham Gao: 0.8 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.8 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.8 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.8 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.9 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.9 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.9 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.9 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 1 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 1 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Kings Inns: 1 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 1 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 1 mi
  • Warrenmount: 1 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Iveagh Bar
The Ashling Hotel boasts a stylish bar, The Iveagh Bar, which is an ideal place to unwind where friendly bar staff will be glad to serve your favourite tipple. The Iveagh Bar offers an informal atmosphere where you can enjoy a drink, sample a mouth watering cocktail from an extensive menu and food is served daily. Choose from a wide range of options including delicious sandwiches, a range of firm favourites or just a snack.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Ashling Hotel Dublin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mairin
Limerick
Jun 19, 2012

Bright welcoming efficient.

Very central on luas line. Very good food. Had dinner which was good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relax and Eat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Meeh.... Average in every way

There was nothing really disappointing at this hotel nor anything special. I think the 4 star rating is too high. The location is convenient if you want to explore the West of Ireland by train (Heuston station is 200 m away) or want to see the Guinness brewery or Jamieson's. For anything else in Dublin the place isn't located too well. The area is not really walkable other than 2-3 pubs and one little cafe nearby, and considering it is stone's throw away from the new Criminal court the people hanging out in the area are a bit interesting. So if strolling around your hotel neighborhood is your thing this place isn't for you. I was mostly there for business and needed something close to Blackhall Place. Would not stay here for an in-Dublin vacation. Rooms: Clean, Good Pillows, Average comfortable mattresses, worst towels ever provided (small, rough), water never gets hot. Good workspace for the Superior rooms. Clientele: 55+, families and business people. If you are an early riser, and don't like late night noise this place is ideal. You won't hear people partying late in the night, but you will hear doors slamming at 7:00 am. Food: Average, uninspired for both restaurants. Amenities: Wifi decent connection and speed, ethernet was dead. No business center available, 2 computers for pay and no privacy available in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Juno's cafe next door for breakfast. Better service and food.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrixieDixie
Towcester
Jun 2, 2014

Great location

Stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a perfect location for transport. Heuston train station is just over the road but far enough away that you don't hear train noise. However during the day and early evening there is a lot of traffic noise and noise can be heard from the trams which seem to pass by every 10 minutes or so. We only heard the noise as we were at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor. It is possible that the tram noise would be less if in a room on a higher floor or indeed if you booked a room at the back of the hotel ( we are light sleepers#. There was also some noise from the people in the next room to us at an unsociable hour but reception dealt with that very quickly. The rooms are lovely and so clean. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the restaurant and food were great ...especially the breakfasts and they cater for gluten intolerance too! The #green) Hop on hop off bus tour has a pick up point just to the right of the hotel so all in all transport links were excellent for those who don't bring their own vehicles. Would definitely stay here again but perhaps on a higher floor or back room but then you would miss the views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Juno's Café is just up the road from the hotel and is certainly worth a visit for the experience and the food!

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug Alan
Indiana
May 13, 2014

Dublin is the greatest

I am on a walker and have trouble getting around. The staff took great care of me in seeing that I had no problems. The meals in the bar and the dining room were great. The only complaint I have is that there was only one electric outlet in the room. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenmares
oxfordshire
Apr 10, 2014

excellent

wonderful hotel. lovely atmosphere. highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amyy
Kerry
Mar 15, 2014

Excellent location

It's located right across from the train status and the luas is outside the door it's also only a fifteen minute walk from the zoo. Great location. Staff are also very nice and helpful and the room was extra clean. Wifi isn't great unfortunately

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dublin zoo

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcatrinah
Minneapolis
Feb 1, 2014

Amazing service & buffet breakfast

Greeted really well by staff upon arrival and every time we arrived. Convenient to LUAS line to catch lightrail from city centre and Airlink bus from/to airport. Be aware there is no train from the airport as we had thought. Bus can be cumbersome with lots of luggage. Taxi costs around 25 euros. The staff was amazing and the breakfast was excellent. Including gluten free options (porridge & scones upon request) which was great for our son and pleasantly unexpected. Lounge was nice. Felt safe in hotel. Only complaint was room was laid out strangely; not super cozy & hair on the bathroom wall. Minor complaints as overall the room was comfortable. Again customer service was great!!!! As was value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Science gallery at Trinity College has rotating exhibits. In the archeology and architecture building on campus there is a dinosaur footprint mold and skeleton if ancient giant deer from the area. Great little natural history find!

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AngeloNY
New York
Jan 22, 2014

Could be better

Staff was very helpful and polite. No complaints there whatsoever. The room we first got must have been freshly painted as the paint odor was very strong, I got a headache within minutes being there. The whole wing actually must have been freshly painted... I went to open the window to realize we'd freeze to death, since there is no temperature control on the lower tier "standard" rooms (plus, I noticed a cigarette hole on the curtain...gross). I called the front desk and within minutes they upgraded us to a "deluxe", which is really what their standard should be. It was much better and more comfortable, though the fan in the vent for the heating was so loud, we had to turn it off to get some sleep. So much for the temperature control feature. Regardless, biggest issue was our dinner at the bar. Overpriced as expected, but the service was too slow and the food below average. It took about an hour and a half for us to get our food. When ordering a burger, she didn't ask "how would you like that cooked", so I thought "uh oh..." I asked if we could have that cooked medium, and she went on to explain that because it's minced meat (really? Is it?? Unreal...), its impossible to cook it anything besides "well done". Way to ruin that lovely Irish beef... Total letdown. My steak was chewy like a shoe sole... So, overall, a bit disappointed. Definitely will stay someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 20 minute walk is Kilmainham Gaol. Must visit.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irishyouwerehere
Cypress, CA
Nov 30, 2013

Great Dublin and away location

The hotel is across the street from the bus/tram/train (Euston) station. It is a very nice, upscale hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would probably recommend one of those touristy bus tours that drop you off at multiple stops to see Dublin, if you have never been to Dublin before.There is lots to see.

Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Zita
Switzerland
Nov 1, 2013

positive surprise

Easy accessible location near Park and Zoo, opposite to the Guinness brewery. Excellent Service, good athmosphere and very comfortable rooms. The 2 Restaurants are an absolute Highlight and deserve an extra star. We were there for the Dublin Marathon and missed nothing. Bravo !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bettiedesign
new york, ny
Oct 22, 2013

Lovely hotel rooms

I only spent 8 hours in this hotel, before flying home, but the hotel room was amazing! great furniture, queen size bed, lovely updated bathroom. This hotel is also super convenient to the Heuston train station for catching the airport bus, or the train to anywhere. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top