$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Ashling Hotel Dublin

4 stars
Parkgate Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Luck of the Irish with this facilities!

Great location, comfy room, awesome staff, CLEAN! CLEAN! CLEAN! And everything is close by (public... See full review

  • crossmen96
  • Aug 6, 2014
Dublin is the greatest

I am on a walker and have trouble getting around. The staff took great care of me in seeing that I... See full review

  • Doug Alan
  • May 13, 2014
Stylish hotel ideally located for exploring downtown Dublin
Ashling Hotel Dublin welcomes discerning business and leisure travelers with understated elegance and chicly appointed rooms in the heart of heritage-rich Dublin. This centrally located four-star hotel boasts of convenient distance to local landmarks, cultural venues, and entertainment opportunities. A short stroll from Ashling Hotel Dublin will lead tourists to Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, National Museum of Ireland, and Irish Museum of Modern Art.

Business seminars functions can be held at the meeting/conference facilities on site that can accommodate up to 220 guests. Diners at Ashling Hotel Dublin can sample full Irish breakfast and a variety of scrumptious culinary delights at in-house Chesterfields Restaurant. Enjoy the refreshments, cocktails, and snacks at the casual atmosphere of Iveagh Bar. Ashling Hotel Dublin overlooks River Liffey and is near public transportation facilities. The hotel offers parking at the multi-storey car park for an additional charge.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Central location in the heart of historic Dublin and close to many local attractions
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Restaurant and bar on site
Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms
After a busy day of work or sightseeing, tourists can unwind in any of the 225 beautifully furnished rooms and suites at Ashling Hotel Dublin. The warm color palette lends the room a warm, inviting atmosphere to ensure comfort and relaxation. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen, safe deposit box, tea-/ coffee-making tray, telephone, and hairdryer. Family rooms and interconnecting rooms are also on offer.  Some units have air conditioning, floor-to-ceiling windows or living area.
Things To Do:
  • National Museum of Ireland (0.19 mi / 0.31 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (0.47 mi / 0.75 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.51 mi / 0.81 km)
  • Phoenix Park (0.69 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Dublin Zoo (0.81 mi / 1.3 km)
  • St Patrick's Cathedral (1.0 mi / 1.6 km)
  • National Wax Museum (1.25 mi / 2.0 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (1.38 mi / 2.2 km)
  • Trinity College Dublin (1.56 mi / 2.5 km)
  • National Museum of Ireland – Archaeology (1.63 mi / 2.6 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (1.69 mi / 2.7 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ashling Hotel Dublin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ashling Hotel Dublin Rooms

Superior Rooms
Superior rooms in the Ashling are a recently new addition. Treat yourself to a night of indulgence in a superbly designed room, air-conditioned with King-size bed or two single beds and comprehensive and exquisite facilities. The rooms have relaxing colour schemes and modern, walnut furnishings. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. Each room has conveniently placed power and telecommunication sockets. All bathrooms are rich and elegant, with tiled walls and floors including large rain showers. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All Superior rooms include the following: Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Direct dial Telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Laptop Safe
STANDARD - DOUBLE
Standard rooms in the Ashling have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Bedrooms are spacious and most feature a double and single bed. The beds are comfortable, with crisp white duvets. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure. All standard rooms include the following: Hot towel rail, Direct dial telephone, Flat Screen Multi channel TV, Complimentary Internet Access, Tea/Coffee making tray, Hairdryer In Room Safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Heuston Station: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 0.2 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 0.4 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Mount Brown: 0.4 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 0.4 mi
  • Guinness Storehouse: 0.5 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.6 mi
  • National College of Art and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Dublin Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • The Coombe: 0.7 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.7 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.7 mi
  • Maryland: 0.7 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.7 mi
  • Kilmainham Gao: 0.8 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.8 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.8 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.8 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.9 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.9 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.9 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.9 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 1 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 1 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Kings Inns: 1 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 1 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 1 mi
  • Warrenmount: 1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Iveagh Bar
The Ashling Hotel boasts a stylish bar, The Iveagh Bar, which is an ideal place to unwind where friendly bar staff will be glad to serve your favourite tipple. The Iveagh Bar offers an informal atmosphere where you can enjoy a drink, sample a mouth watering cocktail from an extensive menu and food is served daily. Choose from a wide range of options including delicious sandwiches, a range of firm favourites or just a snack.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Ashling Hotel Dublin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saab
Business
Kilkenny, Ireland
Dec 15, 2014

Convenient and comfortable

We have stayed at the Ashling several times. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, excellent buffet breakfast. Very convenient for Heuston Station, tram to O'Connell St., Henry St. area, and bus (from outside Heuston) to Grafton St., St. Stephen's Green area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
namastetraveler
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 1, 2014

Good place to stay

Don't let the dated main lobby put you off... the rooms are clean, though snug, are modern. Enjoyed my stay despite having to wait 5 hours to check-in after a red-eye flight. They should change this policy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cliff T
Business
Guildford, UK
Nov 15, 2014

Mid-week couple

Room comfort slightly let down by too much lighting without dimming option. Most memorable was Sinead at reception who drew us from that slightly "awkward front door moment" with a genuine smile and totally made our trip a success with great local advice. Natural and felt unrehearsed. Key for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dart rail hop on-hop off day ticket

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asif
Business
London
Oct 30, 2014

Great Hotel

Room was clean and staff where friendly and helpful. Restaurants and bar where great and well priced. Food was top quality. Rooms could do with fridge and air con. 20 min walk to city centre, but good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Museum, Jameson's and Guinness tours and Zoo. 20 mins to city centre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel girl 101
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 27, 2014

Great hotel at a good price in a decent location

Had a great stay at the Ashling Hotel in Dublin! Room was up to standards and was in a decent location. Didn't find the staff to be too friendly (outside of the front desk staff, they were always nice and helpful).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Jameson Distillery which was nice. The other attractions are a nice walk in town (20 minutes or so) otherwise, there is a hop on, hop off tour that runs all day (last bus around 5 or 6pm) that you can take to get in to heart of town if you want, its a two day pass which is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dms248
Business
Ithaca, NY
Sep 24, 2014

Dublin Sep 2014

The Ashling Hotel was very nice and conveniently located relative to the city center and various tourist attractions, also an easy walk to the rail station. I was very happy with my experience and would recommend the Ashling to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crossmen96
Business
Vista, CA, USA
Aug 6, 2014

Luck of the Irish with this facilities!

Great location, comfy room, awesome staff, CLEAN! CLEAN! CLEAN! And everything is close by (public transportation) light rail and City sightseeing Dublin (redbus) hop on/off bus - stop # 17/18 and 20! you can't make this stuff up, PERFECT place - btw Guinness plant is literally across the Leefy River! ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

easy access to light rail and excursion bus stops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leorah
Business
Austin
Aug 2, 2014

Nice hotel in a great location

The management, staff and amenities at this hotel were excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable. Not all rooms are air conditioned and ours wasn't, but despite the "heat wave" (we are from Texas!) the region was experiencing during our stay, our room was very comfortable. The window opened and we had a nice fan to use if we needed it. The food at the on-site restaurants was very good and there are several good restaurants within walking distance. We wanted to explore Dublin and this hotel was situated right next to a tram line and a short walk from the rail station, making it ideal for our purposes. The Irish National Museum is right down the street. Because it's not a tourist area, the hotel was quiet and we felt quite safe walking around in the evenings. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dining in one of the small, neighborhood pubs away from the tourist areas near Temple Bar. We did, and it was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relax and Eat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Meeh.... Average in every way

There was nothing really disappointing at this hotel nor anything special. I think the 4 star rating is too high. The location is convenient if you want to explore the West of Ireland by train (Heuston station is 200 m away) or want to see the Guinness brewery or Jamieson's. For anything else in Dublin the place isn't located too well. The area is not really walkable other than 2-3 pubs and one little cafe nearby, and considering it is stone's throw away from the new Criminal court the people hanging out in the area are a bit interesting. So if strolling around your hotel neighborhood is your thing this place isn't for you. I was mostly there for business and needed something close to Blackhall Place. Would not stay here for an in-Dublin vacation. Rooms: Clean, Good Pillows, Average comfortable mattresses, worst towels ever provided (small, rough), water never gets hot. Good workspace for the Superior rooms. Clientele: 55+, families and business people. If you are an early riser, and don't like late night noise this place is ideal. You won't hear people partying late in the night, but you will hear doors slamming at 7:00 am. Food: Average, uninspired for both restaurants. Amenities: Wifi decent connection and speed, ethernet was dead. No business center available, 2 computers for pay and no privacy available in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Juno's cafe next door for breakfast. Better service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ashling Hotel Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrixieDixie
Business
Towcester
Jun 2, 2014

Great location

Stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a perfect location for transport. Heuston train station is just over the road but far enough away that you don't hear train noise. However during the day and early evening there is a lot of traffic noise and noise can be heard from the trams which seem to pass by every 10 minutes or so. We only heard the noise as we were at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor. It is possible that the tram noise would be less if in a room on a higher floor or indeed if you booked a room at the back of the hotel ( we are light sleepers#. There was also some noise from the people in the next room to us at an unsociable hour but reception dealt with that very quickly. The rooms are lovely and so clean. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the restaurant and food were great ...especially the breakfasts and they cater for gluten intolerance too! The #green) Hop on hop off bus tour has a pick up point just to the right of the hotel so all in all transport links were excellent for those who don't bring their own vehicles. Would definitely stay here again but perhaps on a higher floor or back room but then you would miss the views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Juno's Café is just up the road from the hotel and is certainly worth a visit for the experience and the food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top