$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
64 reviews
Thanksgiving in Dublin

Great location for wandering around Dublin and seeing the sites. The staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Bob 7 Rick
  • Dec 4, 2013
Dublin Get A Way

Great Hotel, close to Temple Bar, ChristChurch and Dublin Castle. On and Off bus stops right across... See full review

  • World Traveler Buddies
  • Jun 15, 2013
Spend a foot-tapping, pint-pulling night in Temple Bar

The Arlington Hotel Temple Bar enjoys an excellent location near the city's bustling cultural district and opposite the architecturally historic Dublin Castle. Walk to Dublin's major attractions, plus shopping and nightlife. The Arlington's beautiful building houses 63 rooms and Legends, a renovated bar and restaurant where guests crowd the unique pull-your-own-pint-of-Guinness tables. The bar also promises traditional entertainment with a nightly Irish Nights, music and dancing show. Comfortable rooms overlook the city, some with views of Dublin Castle.

Highlights
  • Located opposite the gates of Dublin Castle and next to the city's Temple Bar area
  • Guests try their hand at pouring a pint of Guinness at the hotel's unique Guinness tables
  • Hotel bar provides traditional Irish music and dance every night
Rooms

All of the hotel's 63 tastefully decorated rooms are en-suite and come with TV, tea and coffee station, trouser press and iron. Bathrooms have power shower and hairdryer. Guests can also make use of work desk, telephone and free Wi-Fi service. Some rooms offer views of nearby Dublin Castle. The hotel offers rooms for disabled guests.

Features

Although the hotel's tourist-friendly location is steps from Dublin's central nightlife district, guests may be tempted to stay at the hotel for evening entertainment. The lively Legends bar and restaurant offers the best in local entertainment with nightly music and dance shows, plus pull-your-own-pint tables. Retire to comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms. The hotel is completely non-smoking and offers facilities for guests with disabilities. Free Wi-Fi service is available in all rooms.

Transportation
  • Hotel parking lot nearby (fees apply)             
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Dublin bus service nearby
Attractions
  • Dublin Castle
  • Temple Bar
  • Christchurch Cathedral
  • Trinity College
  • St Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
Business
  • Conference and meeting room holds up to 25 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Work desk, Wi-Fi and telephone in every room

Hotel Map

53.3441 -6.2678
Area served
Dublin 2
Nearby airports
Dublin International airport.
Area description
From Trinity College: Stand with your back to the front gate of Trinity. The street across from you is Dame Street (the Central Bank is on your RHS). Walk for about 5 minutes up Dame Street the hotel is on your right, opposite Dublin Castle. From BUSARAS (Central Bus Station): Cross the river at the bridge at the top of Amiens Street, which is at the opposite side to the exit of the bus station, the Ulster BAnk building will be in front of you, turn right and follow the River Liffey to O'Connell Bridge, turn left here and at Trinity College turn right and hotel is 5 minutes up the road opposite the gates of Dublin Castle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arlington Hotel Temple Bar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar Rooms

Double
Room offers a double or a twin bed with amenities like Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board - On Request, Kettle, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • College Green: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.3 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel is delighted to invite guests and Dubliners alike to savour the mouthwatering offerings in its newly refurbished Bar & Restaurant called Legends. Legends Bar now offers visitors the chance to "Pull Your Own Pint" at the specially designed tables in Legends Bar. Each night, commencing at 7:30pm, Legends Bar comes alive with music, song and dance at the legendary Irish Dancing Nights. Visitors can relax and enjoy a spectacular Irish Dancing Show and Three Course Evening Meal for an unbelievable 29.95.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Providence, RI
Sep 25, 2009

Good Choice

This is an older hotel and our room and bathroom were quite small (think cruise ship size. The room was always clean and made up quickly. There was an electric hot pot with tea, coffee, sugar & milk provided which was great for an afternoon or bedtime snack. The location was great, and the staff helpful. There was a free Irish show every evening in the dining room/bar. One problem was that we didn't have a phone in our room (I think they were changing the phones)so we couldn't put in for a wake-up call. Another problem was that the check-in clerk did not believe that our room was pre-paid through Orbitz & insisted on running my charge card. The day clerk said she straightened this out & we should not be charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It'a very short walk to the Temple Bar area where there are lots of restaurants/pubs. Also, it's an easy walk to the Grafton ST./Trinity College area.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dubliner at heart!!
Lafayette, LA
Sep 24, 2009

Location Location Location!!!!

If an easy location is what you are looking for... this is it!!! The room overall was good... very spacious for Ireland. There was a problem with the shower and the light switches were a little odd but the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The windows opened as well, which let in the cool air. The staff was nice, too. Although, I think the daytime staff was far more helpful than the nighttime staff. The only thing we had a problem with was getting dropped off at the wrong hotel by the taxi, even after I specified the Temple Bar location. I guess a lot of locals still think of it as the Parliament Hotel. This was my third time to Ireland and I have liked the hotels I have stayed at but this location beats the others hands down. There is a pub downstairs and can be slightly noisy but the only noise we heard was from the street below and only when the windows were open... although we were on the 3rd floor. Being in the Temple Bar location, you have access to tons of restaurants and all the nightlife, within walking distance. Not only that but you can get to all the tourist stuff easily, as well. The Hop On/Hop Off buses have pick-up locations across the street. The shopping is still close enough that it's a nice walk. I think the only taxi we took was from the airport to the hotel and back. We did make use of the Hop On/Hop Off to get to the Guinness Storehouse and the Georgian neighborhoods, but otherwise we walked everywhere. This is probably going to be my standard hotel every time I visit Dublin from now on!!!! Enjoy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Citi Bar was just a couple blocks down and just changed their menu to a traditional Irish menu... tapas style. We were able to try lots of different items and not spend a ton of money. The staff was helpful and we were able to eat outside and people watch. Lovely food though!!!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wiesbaden, Germany
Aug 26, 2009

Great Deal

Went to Dublin for the first time and just wanted to see the sites and bars. Hotel was in a great location for the temple bar area. The main bar area is about a 5-8 mintue walk from the hotel. The rooms were clean and the beer was cheap compared to other bars in the temple area. The hotel is on a busy street so it can get loud at night from the traffic. But I was there for the city not the sleep! I would stay there again for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to eat in the temple bar area. The drinks increase in price as it gets later but the food is amazing at some locations. I thought that price was too high for food at my hotel so I always found a new place to eat each day.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tz430si
Westminster, MD
Aug 2, 2009

Good basic hotel: great location

This is a great little hotel located on the edge of the Temple Bar district in Dublin. The bar district is just down the street to the left. Rooms are very clean but small. The flat panel TV had snow on all channels. The bath was small but clean, tiled, and had excellent water pressure. You can fill up oversized tub in 2 minutes with clean hot water. No AC in the room, but Dublin is cold. We stayed for 2 nights in the end of July 2009, and it was cool. This hotel has a very popular bar right downstairs. Heavy partying and drinking is going on till early morning. The whole Temple Bar area is not a family place so when traveling with children consider another location. My 11 yo. was lost in the cigarette smoke and beer and whiskey vapors. The Dublin castle is right across the main street, 2 mins walk. Get your tickets early because they sell out. Overall I recommend this hotel because it's so inexpensive, and if you just come for 2-3 nights, it has a great location and you're not going to be staying at the room for more than an hour per day. If you can book with breakfast do so or pay 20-30 (for 2) Euro on the street. From the airport, take Airlink bus #748 to the 3rd stop at Wood Quay (pronounced Wood Key). From the bus stop go into the street to the left and up about 100 yards, then turn left into Lord Edward Street, go down about 100 yards. The hotel is a corner building on your left. From the Airlink bus it takes about 10 minutes when you are pulling your suitcase. You can also take a taxi for about 25 Euro: your choice. The trip on the Airlink bus is very decent though, and it takes about 30-40 minutes. If you come to hop bars and tour downtown Dublin this is a great little hotel. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel, cross the street and go down to another MAIN street (big busy street). Turn right and go up 200-300 yards. On the right hand side, look for a Cuban restaurant (Havana?): I forgot the street and restaurant name, but you will find it. You can get great food there at reasonable price.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish Amy
Ludington, Michigan
Jul 24, 2009

Great Stay

We had a fantastic 10 day stay at the Arlington Hotel Temple Bar. The staff there is fantastic and helped us with our many questions about where to go and how to get there, etc. The traditional Irish entertainment offered in their pub is excellent, and the location is perfect for walking almost anywhere you want to go in Dublin. In 10 days, we only took a taxi to the airport and once to Killmainham Gaol. Otherwise, we walked with no problem whatsoever. If you stay here, enjoy nightlife, and are older than say 30, however, I encourage you to try the pubs off of Grafton Street, rather than the closer Temple Bar area. What the Epcot Center is to worldwide travel, Temple Bar is to Irish pubs. Get the real deal down the street only a little further. My one wish was that it was quieter at night...lots of street noise from Dame Street/Lord Edward Street -- but if you're tired enough, you can drown it all out. It's worth the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two cafes within a block or so of the hotel called the Queen of Tarts (their older smaller location and their newer, larger location). The food here is EXCELLENT and inexpensive. Skip the hotel breakfast (which is not included in the price) and go see the Queen for the most amazing breakfast, lunch, coffee, and desserts.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KLBhouse Travels
La Crosse, WI
Jul 17, 2009

Feel the heartbeat of Dublin right here!

The location was perfect! We did a lot of walking around and were able to see many popular sites within walking distance of hotel (Guinness experience, Trinity College, Temple Bar, River Liffey, Millennium spire, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit the Porterhouse Pub and have a pear cider. Delicious! The entertainment was good, too.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Sacramento, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Not bad, not bad

This hotel is right near Temple Bar, easy access to lots of bars, restaurants, and shops, and right near bus stops too, so none of it was too far a walk. The room was a comfortable size, though the bathroom was a bit small for two people. Lovely bathtub, great for a hot soak, and plenty of towels. The room did a little worse for the wear though, and overall looked like it could use a little renovating. There was a wall-mounted flat-screen tv and comfortable chairs. I was rather disappointed in the bed though as it was more than a little uncomfortable. We ended up sleeping on top of the comforter which was much better, but I think they should get better mattresses. The only other thing that was really bad was the noise. There was no thermostat or a/c in the hotel, so we slept with the windows open and it was *very* noisy, especially with drunk people strolling the street below very late making a ton of noise! I would recommend this hotel, but if you stay here, ask for a room in the *back*!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They offer a live music and Irish step dance show right in the hotel, free for the guests, and a 3-course dinner for 25 Euro. It felt like a tourist gimmick but the show was pretty good, so I recommend staying for a drink or two and catching that.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
May 29, 2009

Close to Everything!

Staff was very friendly and helpful, and we were within walking distance of most Dublin attractions. Also very close to several interesting restaurants and nightspots, as well as shopping. Since this is a busy area, anyone wanting complete quiet should go somewhere else. However, if you like being in the middle of all the excitement of Dublin, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian from Long Island
Long Island, New York
May 27, 2009

Great location, Good Hotel

The Hotel is right in the middle of Temple Bar, and right in the middle of all the fun. The Hotel itself has a great Bar downstairs with entertainment. Everybody was friendly. I arrived at 7am and they were able to get me right in my room. On the downside the room needed a bit more cleaning when I first got in but was taken care of pretty quickly. We couldn't figure out how to adjust the water temp in the shower and wound up taking either very cold or very hot showers most of the time. Their is no AC in the room so we had the windows open most of the time. We were on the quiet side of the hotel but still got a bit of late night noise from people wandering the streets after hours. Overall I would use this hotel again. It was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Having this hotel located where it is was a huge plus. A "hop-on-Hop off" tour bus stop was directly in front of this Hotel and a GREAT free walking tour of Dublin started just about a block away. (ask for Conor)

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RobJUSTRob
Florida
May 24, 2009

GREAT location

We stayed there for a week. The hotel is in an excellent location. I cannot stress enough how helpful it is to be able to walk most places in Dublin. However, our room was freezing and patrons do not have control over the temperature. The smoke alarm went off when steam from the hot shower hit it. It was noisy constantly. However, all considered... I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the Liffey for better drink and dining options.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search