$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
View map of Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovely Jane 14
Friends
Derby
Sep 16, 2010

Amazing value, fantastic location

The hotel staff went out of their way to look after us and make us feel special, the room was immaculate, beds extremely comfortable. Location and views from the room were great and the breakfast very tasty and more than ample. The dinner & show in the hotel is highly recommended and exctremely good value. The perfect location for dining out and night life and a short stroll to the shops. All the sights can be reached on foot however the city bus tour (stops across the road) is fantastic to venture further afield and learn more about this wonderful city. I cannot recommend this hotel and its staff highly enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the City Tour Hop on, Hop off 2 day bus ticket (16 euros) at the airport to get money off airport transfers and discounts at Jameson Distillery, Guiness Storehouse, Viking Splash Tour and lots of other day trips and attractions - you will save more money than the cost of the actual ticket and the tour grades are very informative, welcoming and have a great sense of humour - the best way to see and learn about Dublin.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovely Jane 14
Friends
Derby
Sep 16, 2010

Amazing value, fantastic location

The hotel staff went out of their way to look after us and make us feel special, the room was immaculate, beds extremely comfortable. Location and views from the room were great and the breakfast very tasty and more than ample. The dinner & show in the hotel is highly recommended and exctremely good value. The perfect location for dining out and night life and a short stroll to the shops. All the sights can be reached on foot however the city bus tour (stops across the road) is fantastic to venture further afield and learn more about this wonderful city. I cannot recommend this hotel and its staff highly enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the City Tour Hop on, Hop off 2 day bus ticket (16 euros) at the airport to get money off airport transfers and discounts at Jameson Distillery, Guiness Storehouse, Viking Splash Tour and lots of other day trips and attractions - you will save more money than the cost of the actual ticket and the tour grades are very informative, welcoming and have a great sense of humour - the best way to see and learn about Dublin.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Aug 13, 2010

Location, Location, Location ...

... is pretty much the main thing going for this place. Wedged neatly between Temple Bar and Dublin Castle, you're right in the middle of the activity. The hotel bar/restruant is awsome, and the staff is decent. However, there's serious upkeep/amenity issues. The washroom door wasn't hung correctly in our room, making it difficult to manipulate -- which is a real problem because the room is so small so everything is crammed together. Also, there's no A/C nor any ventilation to speak of. This pretty much mandates opening the windows, which would be OK, except... ... the location bites you. This is a low-rise building, with bay-style windows directly over one of the busiest streets in Dublin -- and the buses run 24 hours. Advice: Take full advantage of Temple Bar so you can manage to sleep through it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Charlottesville, VA
Jul 21, 2010

A Best Western

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to all the tourist sites. It is the perfect location for going out at night but far enough away from the center of Temple Bar to be quiet enough to sleep. The hotel is quiet old and not in the best shape but according to most Americans I met on the day tours their hotels were in the same condition so it must just be a European hotel thing. You wont be spending much time there anyway. The hotel is very clean. There is no air conditioning even though one web site says there is. I only found the hotel to be really hot on one day since Ireland has a cool climate - just leave the windows open. They have nice blackout curtains since it does not get dark until 10:30pm in the summer and it is total daylight again about 4AM. Except for one of the night clerks - the guy - the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. If you need a sweet there is a bakery on the street behind the hotel with excellent cupcakes. They have weird bread in Ireland so avoid sandwiches except at the hotel where they actually have fresh bread and very good sandwiches. There is the most amazing Italian restarant and you get to it by walking out of the hotel and turning left going toward trinity college, then turn left at the first light (across from City Hall) and walk down the street until the block right before the River Liffey. It is in the middle of that block on the left. They have the best lasagna ever made and the staff is really friendly. They have a lunch special for 9.95. At the same light where you turn left there is a fancy Italian restarant called Salamanca's or something like that. This is really handy since it is close to the hotel but they have the worst lasagna ever made - they even serve it with a spoon which says everything. Fun pubs are O'Donoghues near the tourist center on Suffolk Street, Whelens, Flannery's, The Temple Bar and The Quays. The best day tours are Ring of Kerry, Cliffs of Moher, Cork and the Blarney Castle, and Malahide Castle and Dublin Bay. Grand Wicklow is good too but Grand Wicklow and Ring of Kerry are similar enough where you may just want to pick one or the other. Ring of Kerry is a whole day tour from 6:40 AM to 11:30 pm since you have to take a 3 hour train ride there and back but you do end in Killarney where you get about 2 hours. The Wicklow tour is about 7.5 hours since it is close to Dublin. These tours can be secured online before you go or at the tourist center on Suffolk Street. If you book online through an booking agent instead of the tour company it will be a good idea to check the times with the tour company because the times might not be right. I travelled all over Ireland alone and had no problems. There are a lot of rumors about pickpockets but I had no issues with this. According to a priest at Chrsit Church, there is increased pickpocket activity around Christ Church Cathedral and Dublina so be careful around there. A taxi from the airport to hotel is about 32 euros. They don't tip in Ireland so if you decide to tip they act like you've given them gold or sometimes they refuse the tip and give it back. Take a rain coat/jacket. When it rains it usually rains all day and if the wind is really going you will not be able to use an unbrella without it flipping inside out which will readily identify you as a tourist. Also, when it is perfectly sunny outside and sprinkling, they don't consider that to be actual rain. Don't forget the tombs at St Michans church which is near the Jameson Distillery. The Green hop on hop off tour is better than the Red one. The famine memorial is down from the customs building. In Doolin there is a pub called Gus O'Connors. This is the lunch stop on the Cliffs of Moher tour and the only place to eat in the whole town. Prepare yourself for bad service so you will not be surprised. This is the only place I ever encountered rude Irish people. They must h...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student travellers
Couples
New York, NY
Mar 23, 2010

In the heart of Dublin

Spent two nights on the weekend following St. Patrick's Day. Great location near all the sights in central Dublin. Rooms were good-sized for Europe. Only downside was that the bed was missing a sheet the second night there and our request for a replacement sheet was fulfilled with a rough, cheap sheet that was too small for the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Virginia
Mar 1, 2010

Hotel Review

It was great...perfect location..perfect service...perfect food...perfect entertainment!!! The bartender [...] was amazing...excellent service,very friendly and provided us with helpful information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar District nightlife cant be beat!!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arlington, TX
Dec 10, 2009

We would book again, great bargain

We have traveled extensively in Ireland and Scotland usually staying in 4* B&B's and this was a good bargain that I would recommend to others. Everything you could want in the way of food, entertainment, tours or transpiration is just outside the door, literally. We found the staff to be very pleasant and accommodating. The bed & pillows got a bit hard and uncomfortable after a couple of nights, but not uncommon for the area. I have paid lots more and had much worse. We were on 3rd floor back over the alley which was probably the quietest place to be in the building. Be prepared that the lifts may not work. Walls are thin and if you have loud neighbors, you will hear every word and every step they take. They offer a liquid bath soap/shampoo/conditioner combo, so take your own toiletries and travel size bar soap. Remember the UK and Ireland does not usually offer washcloths so through a few cheap ones you can leave behind in the suite case. We were there in December and found the rooms warm, didn't need the flannel PJs at all. Never used the heat and kept the window open except to close out the city noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

.5 mile walk to Grafton shopping

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stlondon
Friends
london, uk
Dec 8, 2009

Great location

This hotel was ideal for those looking for a great location but not wanting to pay for extra amenities. The internet was not free and the lobby was small, although there was a bar attached. We got the room for $100 a night in advance, but when i looked online a month before our trip i saw that it was over $300 for saturday night. Based on the price we paid, i highly recommend the hotel. We were a 2 minute walk to Temple Bar area and Christ Church. Trinity College was about a 10 minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 20, 2009

Excellent Stay!

The location of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar couldn't be much better. It's right on the main road through the area. Our window overlooked the street and we absolutely loved it. Walking distance to many many restaurants, shopping, the Liffey, Christ Church, Saint Patrick's, the Dublin Castle, everything really. The hotel was nice - they had a computer with internet in the lobby, but it was quite expensive. The staff was great, the rooms were very nice. We really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

I would recommend not paying for the full meal in the restaurant/bar. Show up later, buy a beer, and watch the dancing for 5 euros instead of 30 :)

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PCBDOUG
Friends
Prattville, AL
Oct 7, 2009

Great location

Hotel was in a great location. There was a hop on hop off bus stop across the street and you are in the middle of it all. The front desk staff was helpful. The bathroom was very small and the shower temperature was hot and scalding. The hotel could not fix the temperature on the shower. The lift is a bit dodgy as the door would not open sometimes. Overall the location is fantastic and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great restaurant two blocks away--Gruel. There is usually a short wait for a table, but the ffod is fantastic and prices are reasonable. Be warned it is cash only. Also a great place for tea and coffee and light refreshment is The Queen of Tarts, basically located next to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top