Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
View map of Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Arlington-Hotel-Temple-Bar-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Hooray for Temple Bar

I chose to book the Arlington because of it's location and frankly, it's cute. I can't speak to the... See full review

  • Lauren A.
  • May 1, 2015
Great Location

You can't beat the location! Walking distance to most of the sites, restaurants, bars, and bus... See full review

  • Corrie F.
  • Apr 20, 2015

The Arlington Hotel Temple Bar enjoys an excellent location near the city's bustling cultural district and opposite the architecturally historic Dublin Castle. Walk to Dublin's major attractions, plus shopping and nightlife. The Arlington's beautiful building houses 63 rooms and Legends, a renovated bar and restaurant where guests crowd the unique pull-your-own-pint-of-Guinness tables. The bar also promises traditional entertainment with a nightly Irish Nights, music and dancing show. Comfortable rooms overlook the city, some with views of Dublin Castle.

Rooms

All of the hotel's 63 tastefully decorated rooms are en-suite and come with TV, tea and coffee station, trouser press and iron. Bathrooms have power shower and hairdryer. Guests can also make use of work desk, telephone and free Wi-Fi service. Some rooms offer views of nearby Dublin Castle. The hotel offers rooms for disabled guests.

Property features

Although the hotel's tourist-friendly location is steps from Dublin's central nightlife district, guests may be tempted to stay at the hotel for evening entertainment. The lively Legends bar and restaurant offers the best in local entertainment with nightly music and dance shows, plus pull-your-own-pint tables. Retire to comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms. The hotel is completely non-smoking and offers facilities for guests with disabilities. Free Wi-Fi service is available in all rooms.

Highlights
  • Located opposite the gates of Dublin Castle and next to the city's Temple Bar area
  • Guests try their hand at pouring a pint of Guinness at the hotel's unique Guinness tables
  • Hotel bar provides traditional Irish music and dance every night
Nearby attractions
  • Dublin Castle
  • Temple Bar
  • Christchurch Cathedral
  • Trinity College
  • St Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
Business
  • Conference and meeting room holds up to 25 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Work desk, Wi-Fi and telephone in every room
Transportation
  • Hotel parking lot nearby (fees apply)             
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Dublin bus service nearby

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arlington Hotel Temple Bar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.0 out of 5

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar Rooms

Double
Room offers a double or a twin bed with amenities like Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board - On Request, Kettle, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • College Green: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.3 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Gallery Zozimus: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel is delighted to invite guests and Dubliners alike to savour the mouthwatering offerings in its newly refurbished Bar & Restaurant called Legends. Legends Bar now offers visitors the chance to "Pull Your Own Pint" at the specially designed tables in Legends Bar. Each night, commencing at 7:30pm, Legends Bar comes alive with music, song and dance at the legendary Irish Dancing Nights. Visitors can relax and enjoy a spectacular Irish Dancing Show and Three Course Evening Meal for an unbelievable 29.95.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 75
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wiesbaden, Germany
Aug 26, 2009

Great Deal

Went to Dublin for the first time and just wanted to see the sites and bars. Hotel was in a great location for the temple bar area. The main bar area is about a 5-8 mintue walk from the hotel. The rooms were clean and the beer was cheap compared to other bars in the temple area. The hotel is on a busy street so it can get loud at night from the traffic. But I was there for the city not the sleep! I would stay there again for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to eat in the temple bar area. The drinks increase in price as it gets later but the food is amazing at some locations. I thought that price was too high for food at my hotel so I always found a new place to eat each day.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhatGrammy2
Business
Greenville, IL
Mar 20, 2011

Not Worth the Price

Let me say that the hotel was clean. That was good. And it seemed to have been remodeled from the last time I was there. We enjoyed the dinner and live Irish music and dance show in the dining room/bar. However, the halls were very narrow, and the supposed stairway exit in case of fire was locked. This was 3 floors down, so by the time someone tried to escape and found they had to go back up 3 floors, it would be too late. Also, we were supposed to have gotten twin beds, but ended up with a king bed. While it was not the hotel's fault, I guess, there was loud noise from the streets all night long. I've stayed in another hotel up the street and was not bothered by this noise. Nonetheless, staff was very, very accomodating and friendly. I just think the hotel is not worth what they are charging for it. Perhaps they were charging more because we stayed there right around St. Pat's Day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The reason we chose this hotel is that it is so close to St. Patrick's and Christchurch Cathedral, Dublin Castle, Temple Bar, Odyssey Theatre, shopping, etc.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PCBDOUG
Business
Prattville, AL
Oct 7, 2009

Great location

Hotel was in a great location. There was a hop on hop off bus stop across the street and you are in the middle of it all. The front desk staff was helpful. The bathroom was very small and the shower temperature was hot and scalding. The hotel could not fix the temperature on the shower. The lift is a bit dodgy as the door would not open sometimes. Overall the location is fantastic and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great restaurant two blocks away--Gruel. There is usually a short wait for a table, but the ffod is fantastic and prices are reasonable. Be warned it is cash only. Also a great place for tea and coffee and light refreshment is The Queen of Tarts, basically located next to the hotel.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stlondon
Business
london, uk
Dec 8, 2009

Great location

This hotel was ideal for those looking for a great location but not wanting to pay for extra amenities. The internet was not free and the lobby was small, although there was a bar attached. We got the room for $100 a night in advance, but when i looked online a month before our trip i saw that it was over $300 for saturday night. Based on the price we paid, i highly recommend the hotel. We were a 2 minute walk to Temple Bar area and Christ Church. Trinity College was about a 10 minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rednecks
Business
U.S.A.
Oct 7, 2014

Affordable with friendly staff!

You get what you pay for here. No extra amenities, a wonky bed, and noisy due to broken windows. However, they had a great staff that actually welcomed you, a delicious hotel restaurant, and close proximity to eateries and the local sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dubliner at heart!!
Business
Lafayette, LA
Sep 24, 2009

Location Location Location!!!!

If an easy location is what you are looking for... this is it!!! The room overall was good... very spacious for Ireland. There was a problem with the shower and the light switches were a little odd but the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The windows opened as well, which let in the cool air. The staff was nice, too. Although, I think the daytime staff was far more helpful than the nighttime staff. The only thing we had a problem with was getting dropped off at the wrong hotel by the taxi, even after I specified the Temple Bar location. I guess a lot of locals still think of it as the Parliament Hotel. This was my third time to Ireland and I have liked the hotels I have stayed at but this location beats the others hands down. There is a pub downstairs and can be slightly noisy but the only noise we heard was from the street below and only when the windows were open... although we were on the 3rd floor. Being in the Temple Bar location, you have access to tons of restaurants and all the nightlife, within walking distance. Not only that but you can get to all the tourist stuff easily, as well. The Hop On/Hop Off buses have pick-up locations across the street. The shopping is still close enough that it's a nice walk. I think the only taxi we took was from the airport to the hotel and back. We did make use of the Hop On/Hop Off to get to the Guinness Storehouse and the Georgian neighborhoods, but otherwise we walked everywhere. This is probably going to be my standard hotel every time I visit Dublin from now on!!!! Enjoy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Citi Bar was just a couple blocks down and just changed their menu to a traditional Irish menu... tapas style. We were able to try lots of different items and not spend a ton of money. The staff was helpful and we were able to eat outside and people watch. Lovely food though!!!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsquare
Business
Florida, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Good hotel, great location!

Great location, just slightly west of Temple Bar area, and east of Christ Church. In city center, and walkable to most sights. Airlink bus from the airport stops right out in front of the hotel for 10 euro return. Our large, twin room was on the second floor alley side, so noise was never an issue, and we were there for New Years Eve! Room was large, clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi, worked great. Bathroom was also large. Only issue was water temperature, first day scalding hot. After a quick call to front desk, someone did come up and adjust it right away. Two other times water was all cold, and had to call to report. One of the times we were in a hurry and had to settle. So no fun there. Other than the water issue it was a great stay! Great price due to the 4 nights for the price of 3! Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leo Burdock's, great fish and chips!!!!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spot
Business
Uk
Feb 26, 2013

Dublin weekend

Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a lovely 3course meal and Irish night in the bar. Location is brilliant 10 minutes from grafton street and temple bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dubliners 6
Business
England
Oct 16, 2013

Good for the nightlife at Temple Bar

Staff really helpful - breakfast really good value Would use this Hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gallaghers Boxty House - great food - great staff

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannk
Business
Augusta,Ga
Oct 27, 2013

Good Value

Hotel staff was very nice. We arrived early but they held our bags until check-in. Rooms were average but clean. Location felt very safe and was walking distance to many things. Check out the dinner show the hotel offers, enjoyed it. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top