$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
89 reviews
Thanksgiving in Dublin

Great location for wandering around Dublin and seeing the sites. The staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Bob 7 Rick
  • Dec 4, 2013
Dublin Get A Way

Great Hotel, close to Temple Bar, ChristChurch and Dublin Castle. On and Off bus stops right across... See full review

  • World Traveler Buddies
  • Jun 15, 2013
Spend a foot-tapping, pint-pulling night in Temple Bar

The Arlington Hotel Temple Bar enjoys an excellent location near the city's bustling cultural district and opposite the architecturally historic Dublin Castle. Walk to Dublin's major attractions, plus shopping and nightlife. The Arlington's beautiful building houses 63 rooms and Legends, a renovated bar and restaurant where guests crowd the unique pull-your-own-pint-of-Guinness tables. The bar also promises traditional entertainment with a nightly Irish Nights, music and dancing show. Comfortable rooms overlook the city, some with views of Dublin Castle.

Highlights
  • Located opposite the gates of Dublin Castle and next to the city's Temple Bar area
  • Guests try their hand at pouring a pint of Guinness at the hotel's unique Guinness tables
  • Hotel bar provides traditional Irish music and dance every night
Rooms

All of the hotel's 63 tastefully decorated rooms are en-suite and come with TV, tea and coffee station, trouser press and iron. Bathrooms have power shower and hairdryer. Guests can also make use of work desk, telephone and free Wi-Fi service. Some rooms offer views of nearby Dublin Castle. The hotel offers rooms for disabled guests.

Features

Although the hotel's tourist-friendly location is steps from Dublin's central nightlife district, guests may be tempted to stay at the hotel for evening entertainment. The lively Legends bar and restaurant offers the best in local entertainment with nightly music and dance shows, plus pull-your-own-pint tables. Retire to comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms. The hotel is completely non-smoking and offers facilities for guests with disabilities. Free Wi-Fi service is available in all rooms.

Transportation
  • Hotel parking lot nearby (fees apply)             
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Dublin bus service nearby
Attractions
  • Dublin Castle
  • Temple Bar
  • Christchurch Cathedral
  • Trinity College
  • St Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
Business
  • Conference and meeting room holds up to 25 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Work desk, Wi-Fi and telephone in every room

Hotel Map

53.3441 -6.2678
Area served
Dublin 2
Nearby airports
Dublin International airport.
Area description
From Trinity College: Stand with your back to the front gate of Trinity. The street across from you is Dame Street (the Central Bank is on your RHS). Walk for about 5 minutes up Dame Street the hotel is on your right, opposite Dublin Castle. From BUSARAS (Central Bus Station): Cross the river at the bridge at the top of Amiens Street, which is at the opposite side to the exit of the bus station, the Ulster BAnk building will be in front of you, turn right and follow the River Liffey to O'Connell Bridge, turn left here and at Trinity College turn right and hotel is 5 minutes up the road opposite the gates of Dublin Castle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arlington Hotel Temple Bar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar Rooms

Double
Room offers a double or a twin bed with amenities like Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board - On Request, Kettle, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • College Green: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.3 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel is delighted to invite guests and Dubliners alike to savour the mouthwatering offerings in its newly refurbished Bar & Restaurant called Legends. Legends Bar now offers visitors the chance to "Pull Your Own Pint" at the specially designed tables in Legends Bar. Each night, commencing at 7:30pm, Legends Bar comes alive with music, song and dance at the legendary Irish Dancing Nights. Visitors can relax and enjoy a spectacular Irish Dancing Show and Three Course Evening Meal for an unbelievable 29.95.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RobJUSTRob
Florida
May 24, 2009

GREAT location

We stayed there for a week. The hotel is in an excellent location. I cannot stress enough how helpful it is to be able to walk most places in Dublin. However, our room was freezing and patrons do not have control over the temperature. The smoke alarm went off when steam from the hot shower hit it. It was noisy constantly. However, all considered... I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the Liffey for better drink and dining options.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wiesbaden, Germany
Aug 26, 2009

Great Deal

Went to Dublin for the first time and just wanted to see the sites and bars. Hotel was in a great location for the temple bar area. The main bar area is about a 5-8 mintue walk from the hotel. The rooms were clean and the beer was cheap compared to other bars in the temple area. The hotel is on a busy street so it can get loud at night from the traffic. But I was there for the city not the sleep! I would stay there again for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to eat in the temple bar area. The drinks increase in price as it gets later but the food is amazing at some locations. I thought that price was too high for food at my hotel so I always found a new place to eat each day.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 13, 2010

Location, Location, Location ...

... is pretty much the main thing going for this place. Wedged neatly between Temple Bar and Dublin Castle, you're right in the middle of the activity. The hotel bar/restruant is awsome, and the staff is decent. However, there's serious upkeep/amenity issues. The washroom door wasn't hung correctly in our room, making it difficult to manipulate -- which is a real problem because the room is so small so everything is crammed together. Also, there's no A/C nor any ventilation to speak of. This pretty much mandates opening the windows, which would be OK, except... ... the location bites you. This is a low-rise building, with bay-style windows directly over one of the busiest streets in Dublin -- and the buses run 24 hours. Advice: Take full advantage of Temple Bar so you can manage to sleep through it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tz430si
Westminster, MD
Aug 2, 2009

Good basic hotel: great location

This is a great little hotel located on the edge of the Temple Bar district in Dublin. The bar district is just down the street to the left. Rooms are very clean but small. The flat panel TV had snow on all channels. The bath was small but clean, tiled, and had excellent water pressure. You can fill up oversized tub in 2 minutes with clean hot water. No AC in the room, but Dublin is cold. We stayed for 2 nights in the end of July 2009, and it was cool. This hotel has a very popular bar right downstairs. Heavy partying and drinking is going on till early morning. The whole Temple Bar area is not a family place so when traveling with children consider another location. My 11 yo. was lost in the cigarette smoke and beer and whiskey vapors. The Dublin castle is right across the main street, 2 mins walk. Get your tickets early because they sell out. Overall I recommend this hotel because it's so inexpensive, and if you just come for 2-3 nights, it has a great location and you're not going to be staying at the room for more than an hour per day. If you can book with breakfast do so or pay 20-30 (for 2) Euro on the street. From the airport, take Airlink bus #748 to the 3rd stop at Wood Quay (pronounced Wood Key). From the bus stop go into the street to the left and up about 100 yards, then turn left into Lord Edward Street, go down about 100 yards. The hotel is a corner building on your left. From the Airlink bus it takes about 10 minutes when you are pulling your suitcase. You can also take a taxi for about 25 Euro: your choice. The trip on the Airlink bus is very decent though, and it takes about 30-40 minutes. If you come to hop bars and tour downtown Dublin this is a great little hotel. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel, cross the street and go down to another MAIN street (big busy street). Turn right and go up 200-300 yards. On the right hand side, look for a Cuban restaurant (Havana?): I forgot the street and restaurant name, but you will find it. You can get great food there at reasonable price.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tz430si
Westminster, MD
Aug 2, 2009

Good basic hotel: great location

This is a great little hotel located on the edge of the Temple Bar district in Dublin. The bar district is just down the street to the left. Rooms are very clean but small. The flat panel TV had snow on all channels. The bath was small but clean, tiled, and had excellent water pressure. You can fill up oversized tub in 2 minutes with clean hot water. No AC in the room, but Dublin is cold. We stayed for 2 nights in the end of July 2009, and it was cool. This hotel has a very popular bar right downstairs. Heavy partying and drinking is going on till early morning. The whole Temple Bar area is not a family place so when traveling with children consider another location. My 11 yo. was lost in the cigarette smoke and beer and whiskey vapors. The Dublin castle is right across the main street, 2 mins walk. Get your tickets early because they sell out. Overall I recommend this hotel because it's so inexpensive, and if you just come for 2-3 nights, it has a great location and you're not going to be staying at the room for more than an hour per day. If you can book with breakfast do so or pay 20-30 (for 2) Euro on the street. From the airport, take Airlink bus #748 to the 3rd stop at Wood Quay (pronounced Wood Key). From the bus stop go into the street to the left and up about 100 yards, then turn left into Lord Edward Street, go down about 100 yards. The hotel is a corner building on your left. From the Airlink bus it takes about 10 minutes when you are pulling your suitcase. You can also take a taxi for about 25 Euro: your choice. The trip on the Airlink bus is very decent though, and it takes about 30-40 minutes. If you come to hop bars and tour downtown Dublin this is a great little hotel. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel, cross the street and go down to another MAIN street (big busy street). Turn right and go up 200-300 yards. On the right hand side, look for a Cuban restaurant (Havana?): I forgot the street and restaurant name, but you will find it. You can get great food there at reasonable price.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dublin Visit
East coast
Nov 30, 2010

Good Location

Hotel was in a great location, staff was great. The bar attached to the hotel was excellent and so was the traditional irish music & dance show. The only negative about our stay was the vent from the smoking area outside the bar was somehow connected to our bathroom vent, so for this i would consider our room a smokers room, we constantly had to air out the room. We were out and about all day, so this would only become an issue in the mornings and late evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is very close and so are Grafton street and other places to visit.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhatGrammy2
Greenville, IL
Mar 20, 2011

Not Worth the Price

Let me say that the hotel was clean. That was good. And it seemed to have been remodeled from the last time I was there. We enjoyed the dinner and live Irish music and dance show in the dining room/bar. However, the halls were very narrow, and the supposed stairway exit in case of fire was locked. This was 3 floors down, so by the time someone tried to escape and found they had to go back up 3 floors, it would be too late. Also, we were supposed to have gotten twin beds, but ended up with a king bed. While it was not the hotel's fault, I guess, there was loud noise from the streets all night long. I've stayed in another hotel up the street and was not bothered by this noise. Nonetheless, staff was very, very accomodating and friendly. I just think the hotel is not worth what they are charging for it. Perhaps they were charging more because we stayed there right around St. Pat's Day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The reason we chose this hotel is that it is so close to St. Patrick's and Christchurch Cathedral, Dublin Castle, Temple Bar, Odyssey Theatre, shopping, etc.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago guy
Chicago
Mar 6, 2011

The floors & walls..paper thin

. Great location, near most everything, a walk will get you there . Hate to say anything negative because I really did enjoy my stay. . Old building updated which is what I love and look for when in Europe traveling, bit of an issue with this situation, there is no insulation between the floors nor in the walls between the rooms. The original floor boards under the carpet squeak loudly from your upstairs and same floor next door neighbors, even with a quiet neighbor you'll know exactly what time in the night they rolled over, I kid you not. Rather thankful that my 8 nights there no one above, below or next to my room was having a passionate night, shall we say. . Staff was friendly, room was clean and location was spot on....a few beers in the evening made all that noise transfer from room to room go away. I'd still go back there honestly. . Chicago guy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Sacramento, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Not bad, not bad

This hotel is right near Temple Bar, easy access to lots of bars, restaurants, and shops, and right near bus stops too, so none of it was too far a walk. The room was a comfortable size, though the bathroom was a bit small for two people. Lovely bathtub, great for a hot soak, and plenty of towels. The room did a little worse for the wear though, and overall looked like it could use a little renovating. There was a wall-mounted flat-screen tv and comfortable chairs. I was rather disappointed in the bed though as it was more than a little uncomfortable. We ended up sleeping on top of the comforter which was much better, but I think they should get better mattresses. The only other thing that was really bad was the noise. There was no thermostat or a/c in the hotel, so we slept with the windows open and it was *very* noisy, especially with drunk people strolling the street below very late making a ton of noise! I would recommend this hotel, but if you stay here, ask for a room in the *back*!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They offer a live music and Irish step dance show right in the hotel, free for the guests, and a 3-course dinner for 25 Euro. It felt like a tourist gimmick but the show was pretty good, so I recommend staying for a drink or two and catching that.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meldonator
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 16, 2014

First Time Ireland

This hotel has a great location but beds are not very comfortable. Restaurant is nice and has good food. Close to all major tourist sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top