$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Thanksgiving in Dublin

Great location for wandering around Dublin and seeing the sites. The staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Bob 7 Rick
  • Dec 4, 2013
Dublin Get A Way

Great Hotel, close to Temple Bar, ChristChurch and Dublin Castle. On and Off bus stops right across... See full review

  • World Traveler Buddies
  • Jun 15, 2013
Spend a foot-tapping, pint-pulling night in Temple Bar

The Arlington Hotel Temple Bar enjoys an excellent location near the city's bustling cultural district and opposite the architecturally historic Dublin Castle. Walk to Dublin's major attractions, plus shopping and nightlife. The Arlington's beautiful building houses 63 rooms and Legends, a renovated bar and restaurant where guests crowd the unique pull-your-own-pint-of-Guinness tables. The bar also promises traditional entertainment with a nightly Irish Nights, music and dancing show. Comfortable rooms overlook the city, some with views of Dublin Castle.

Highlights
  • Located opposite the gates of Dublin Castle and next to the city's Temple Bar area
  • Guests try their hand at pouring a pint of Guinness at the hotel's unique Guinness tables
  • Hotel bar provides traditional Irish music and dance every night
Rooms

All of the hotel's 63 tastefully decorated rooms are en-suite and come with TV, tea and coffee station, trouser press and iron. Bathrooms have power shower and hairdryer. Guests can also make use of work desk, telephone and free Wi-Fi service. Some rooms offer views of nearby Dublin Castle. The hotel offers rooms for disabled guests.

Features

Although the hotel's tourist-friendly location is steps from Dublin's central nightlife district, guests may be tempted to stay at the hotel for evening entertainment. The lively Legends bar and restaurant offers the best in local entertainment with nightly music and dance shows, plus pull-your-own-pint tables. Retire to comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms. The hotel is completely non-smoking and offers facilities for guests with disabilities. Free Wi-Fi service is available in all rooms.

Transportation
  • Hotel parking lot nearby (fees apply)             
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Dublin bus service nearby
Attractions
  • Dublin Castle
  • Temple Bar
  • Christchurch Cathedral
  • Trinity College
  • St Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
Business
  • Conference and meeting room holds up to 25 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Work desk, Wi-Fi and telephone in every room

Hotel Map

53.3441 -6.2678
Area served
Dublin 2
Nearby airports
Dublin International airport.
Area description
From Trinity College: Stand with your back to the front gate of Trinity. The street across from you is Dame Street (the Central Bank is on your RHS). Walk for about 5 minutes up Dame Street the hotel is on your right, opposite Dublin Castle. From BUSARAS (Central Bus Station): Cross the river at the bridge at the top of Amiens Street, which is at the opposite side to the exit of the bus station, the Ulster BAnk building will be in front of you, turn right and follow the River Liffey to O'Connell Bridge, turn left here and at Trinity College turn right and hotel is 5 minutes up the road opposite the gates of Dublin Castle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arlington Hotel Temple Bar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar Rooms

Double
Room offers a double or a twin bed with amenities like Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board - On Request, Kettle, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • College Green: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.3 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel is delighted to invite guests and Dubliners alike to savour the mouthwatering offerings in its newly refurbished Bar & Restaurant called Legends. Legends Bar now offers visitors the chance to "Pull Your Own Pint" at the specially designed tables in Legends Bar. Each night, commencing at 7:30pm, Legends Bar comes alive with music, song and dance at the legendary Irish Dancing Nights. Visitors can relax and enjoy a spectacular Irish Dancing Show and Three Course Evening Meal for an unbelievable 29.95.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 65
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovely Jane 14
Business
Derby
Sep 16, 2010

Amazing value, fantastic location

The hotel staff went out of their way to look after us and make us feel special, the room was immaculate, beds extremely comfortable. Location and views from the room were great and the breakfast very tasty and more than ample. The dinner & show in the hotel is highly recommended and exctremely good value. The perfect location for dining out and night life and a short stroll to the shops. All the sights can be reached on foot however the city bus tour (stops across the road) is fantastic to venture further afield and learn more about this wonderful city. I cannot recommend this hotel and its staff highly enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the City Tour Hop on, Hop off 2 day bus ticket (16 euros) at the airport to get money off airport transfers and discounts at Jameson Distillery, Guiness Storehouse, Viking Splash Tour and lots of other day trips and attractions - you will save more money than the cost of the actual ticket and the tour grades are very informative, welcoming and have a great sense of humour - the best way to see and learn about Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mouka08
Business
NYC
May 30, 2011

Perfect!

This was a great place to sleep at night. It's located near everything in Dublin but it's clean and safe and the room was comfortable. We enjoyed Legends bar too. I traveled with one friend and we both enjoyed the hotel. We were able to go out in Temple Bar and easily get to our bus tours early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Oct 12, 2010

Great location!!

My step sister and I stayed at the Arlington Temple Bar and it was great! Perfect location, staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We seemed close to everything!! Temple Bar was so much fun and we were able to walk everywhere we went. Took the hop on hop off bus around town to get to know the areas. After that we were able to get around on our own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dubliner at heart!!
Business
Lafayette, LA
Sep 24, 2009

Location Location Location!!!!

If an easy location is what you are looking for... this is it!!! The room overall was good... very spacious for Ireland. There was a problem with the shower and the light switches were a little odd but the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The windows opened as well, which let in the cool air. The staff was nice, too. Although, I think the daytime staff was far more helpful than the nighttime staff. The only thing we had a problem with was getting dropped off at the wrong hotel by the taxi, even after I specified the Temple Bar location. I guess a lot of locals still think of it as the Parliament Hotel. This was my third time to Ireland and I have liked the hotels I have stayed at but this location beats the others hands down. There is a pub downstairs and can be slightly noisy but the only noise we heard was from the street below and only when the windows were open... although we were on the 3rd floor. Being in the Temple Bar location, you have access to tons of restaurants and all the nightlife, within walking distance. Not only that but you can get to all the tourist stuff easily, as well. The Hop On/Hop Off buses have pick-up locations across the street. The shopping is still close enough that it's a nice walk. I think the only taxi we took was from the airport to the hotel and back. We did make use of the Hop On/Hop Off to get to the Guinness Storehouse and the Georgian neighborhoods, but otherwise we walked everywhere. This is probably going to be my standard hotel every time I visit Dublin from now on!!!! Enjoy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Citi Bar was just a couple blocks down and just changed their menu to a traditional Irish menu... tapas style. We were able to try lots of different items and not spend a ton of money. The staff was helpful and we were able to eat outside and people watch. Lovely food though!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsquare
Business
Florida, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Good hotel, great location!

Great location, just slightly west of Temple Bar area, and east of Christ Church. In city center, and walkable to most sights. Airlink bus from the airport stops right out in front of the hotel for 10 euro return. Our large, twin room was on the second floor alley side, so noise was never an issue, and we were there for New Years Eve! Room was large, clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi, worked great. Bathroom was also large. Only issue was water temperature, first day scalding hot. After a quick call to front desk, someone did come up and adjust it right away. Two other times water was all cold, and had to call to report. One of the times we were in a hurry and had to settle. So no fun there. Other than the water issue it was a great stay! Great price due to the 4 nights for the price of 3! Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leo Burdock's, great fish and chips!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spot
Business
Uk
Feb 26, 2013

Dublin weekend

Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a lovely 3course meal and Irish night in the bar. Location is brilliant 10 minutes from grafton street and temple bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dubliners 6
Business
England
Oct 16, 2013

Good for the nightlife at Temple Bar

Staff really helpful - breakfast really good value Would use this Hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gallaghers Boxty House - great food - great staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannk
Business
Augusta,Ga
Oct 27, 2013

Good Value

Hotel staff was very nice. We arrived early but they held our bags until check-in. Rooms were average but clean. Location felt very safe and was walking distance to many things. Check out the dinner show the hotel offers, enjoyed it. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian from Long Island
Business
Long Island, New York
May 27, 2009

Great location, Good Hotel

The Hotel is right in the middle of Temple Bar, and right in the middle of all the fun. The Hotel itself has a great Bar downstairs with entertainment. Everybody was friendly. I arrived at 7am and they were able to get me right in my room. On the downside the room needed a bit more cleaning when I first got in but was taken care of pretty quickly. We couldn't figure out how to adjust the water temp in the shower and wound up taking either very cold or very hot showers most of the time. Their is no AC in the room so we had the windows open most of the time. We were on the quiet side of the hotel but still got a bit of late night noise from people wandering the streets after hours. Overall I would use this hotel again. It was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Having this hotel located where it is was a huge plus. A "hop-on-Hop off" tour bus stop was directly in front of this Hotel and a GREAT free walking tour of Dublin started just about a block away. (ask for Conor)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish Amy
Business
Ludington, Michigan
Jul 24, 2009

Great Stay

We had a fantastic 10 day stay at the Arlington Hotel Temple Bar. The staff there is fantastic and helped us with our many questions about where to go and how to get there, etc. The traditional Irish entertainment offered in their pub is excellent, and the location is perfect for walking almost anywhere you want to go in Dublin. In 10 days, we only took a taxi to the airport and once to Killmainham Gaol. Otherwise, we walked with no problem whatsoever. If you stay here, enjoy nightlife, and are older than say 30, however, I encourage you to try the pubs off of Grafton Street, rather than the closer Temple Bar area. What the Epcot Center is to worldwide travel, Temple Bar is to Irish pubs. Get the real deal down the street only a little further. My one wish was that it was quieter at night...lots of street noise from Dame Street/Lord Edward Street -- but if you're tired enough, you can drown it all out. It's worth the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two cafes within a block or so of the hotel called the Queen of Tarts (their older smaller location and their newer, larger location). The food here is EXCELLENT and inexpensive. Skip the hotel breakfast (which is not included in the price) and go see the Queen for the most amazing breakfast, lunch, coffee, and desserts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top