Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
View map of Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhatGrammy2
Business
Greenville, IL
Mar 20, 2011

Not Worth the Price

Let me say that the hotel was clean. That was good. And it seemed to have been remodeled from the last time I was there. We enjoyed the dinner and live Irish music and dance show in the dining room/bar. However, the halls were very narrow, and the supposed stairway exit in case of fire was locked. This was 3 floors down, so by the time someone tried to escape and found they had to go back up 3 floors, it would be too late. Also, we were supposed to have gotten twin beds, but ended up with a king bed. While it was not the hotel's fault, I guess, there was loud noise from the streets all night long. I've stayed in another hotel up the street and was not bothered by this noise. Nonetheless, staff was very, very accomodating and friendly. I just think the hotel is not worth what they are charging for it. Perhaps they were charging more because we stayed there right around St. Pat's Day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The reason we chose this hotel is that it is so close to St. Patrick's and Christchurch Cathedral, Dublin Castle, Temple Bar, Odyssey Theatre, shopping, etc.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PCBDOUG
Business
Prattville, AL
Oct 7, 2009

Great location

Hotel was in a great location. There was a hop on hop off bus stop across the street and you are in the middle of it all. The front desk staff was helpful. The bathroom was very small and the shower temperature was hot and scalding. The hotel could not fix the temperature on the shower. The lift is a bit dodgy as the door would not open sometimes. Overall the location is fantastic and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great restaurant two blocks away--Gruel. There is usually a short wait for a table, but the ffod is fantastic and prices are reasonable. Be warned it is cash only. Also a great place for tea and coffee and light refreshment is The Queen of Tarts, basically located next to the hotel.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
futrellky1
Business
Austin, Texas
Mar 3, 2009

Great Location

The location was great. No more than a 10 minute walk from Airlink bus stop from airport, across the street from the Castle & just a couple of blocks from Christ Church Cathedral. Entertainment at the bar nightly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Airlink bus from the airport to the Trinity stop, was only 12 euro round trip.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stlondon
Business
london, uk
Dec 8, 2009

Great location

This hotel was ideal for those looking for a great location but not wanting to pay for extra amenities. The internet was not free and the lobby was small, although there was a bar attached. We got the room for $100 a night in advance, but when i looked online a month before our trip i saw that it was over $300 for saturday night. Based on the price we paid, i highly recommend the hotel. We were a 2 minute walk to Temple Bar area and Christ Church. Trinity College was about a 10 minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Not bad, not bad

This hotel is right near Temple Bar, easy access to lots of bars, restaurants, and shops, and right near bus stops too, so none of it was too far a walk. The room was a comfortable size, though the bathroom was a bit small for two people. Lovely bathtub, great for a hot soak, and plenty of towels. The room did a little worse for the wear though, and overall looked like it could use a little renovating. There was a wall-mounted flat-screen tv and comfortable chairs. I was rather disappointed in the bed though as it was more than a little uncomfortable. We ended up sleeping on top of the comforter which was much better, but I think they should get better mattresses. The only other thing that was really bad was the noise. There was no thermostat or a/c in the hotel, so we slept with the windows open and it was *very* noisy, especially with drunk people strolling the street below very late making a ton of noise! I would recommend this hotel, but if you stay here, ask for a room in the *back*!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They offer a live music and Irish step dance show right in the hotel, free for the guests, and a 3-course dinner for 25 Euro. It felt like a tourist gimmick but the show was pretty good, so I recommend staying for a drink or two and catching that.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 13, 2010

Location, Location, Location ...

... is pretty much the main thing going for this place. Wedged neatly between Temple Bar and Dublin Castle, you're right in the middle of the activity. The hotel bar/restruant is awsome, and the staff is decent. However, there's serious upkeep/amenity issues. The washroom door wasn't hung correctly in our room, making it difficult to manipulate -- which is a real problem because the room is so small so everything is crammed together. Also, there's no A/C nor any ventilation to speak of. This pretty much mandates opening the windows, which would be OK, except... ... the location bites you. This is a low-rise building, with bay-style windows directly over one of the busiest streets in Dublin -- and the buses run 24 hours. Advice: Take full advantage of Temple Bar so you can manage to sleep through it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KLBhouse Travels
Business
La Crosse, WI
Jul 17, 2009

Feel the heartbeat of Dublin right here!

The location was perfect! We did a lot of walking around and were able to see many popular sites within walking distance of hotel (Guinness experience, Trinity College, Temple Bar, River Liffey, Millennium spire, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit the Porterhouse Pub and have a pear cider. Delicious! The entertainment was good, too.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rednecks
Business
U.S.A.
Oct 7, 2014

Affordable with friendly staff!

You get what you pay for here. No extra amenities, a wonky bed, and noisy due to broken windows. However, they had a great staff that actually welcomed you, a delicious hotel restaurant, and close proximity to eateries and the local sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jubsie
Business
Santa Monica, ca
Jun 27, 2014

Great location, average hotel

The location is excellent. Within walking distance to many sites, I felt very safe as a single female traveller. The staff was friendly enough and the room was ok but nothing spectacular about the place (other than location). It was very hot at night and there was no air conditioning, so I had to open the window, which was quite loud at night and could smell cigarette smoke. That wasn't the worst thing in the world though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mamachan
Business
California, USA
Feb 10, 2012

If think about this price. It`s OK.

I choose this hotel because location. Room is very old. Bath room is feeling not clean. because old hotel. There is no hotel parking. You should use public parking. ( You need about day/$15 for parking.) If you want to stay down town Dublin. It is so so OK hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top