Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
View map of Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Oct 6, 2009

Great location and great value

This hotel fit my needs very well. The location is top notch (in the Temple Bar area), but the price isn't bad. My room was small, but I didn't mind since I basically just needed a bed and a roof over me. Staff was very helpful. It is worth noting that the bar downstairs is loud. I was on the first floor (second floor if you're American) and could sometimes hear the music below at night. Didn't bother me, but it's something to note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Simons Island, GA
Sep 28, 2009

Clippity,clop, Clippity, clop

Arlington Hotel is a great location for jumping on and off the buses. Also the clippity, clop of the horses and carriages add an ole tyme feeling to this location. Walk to great places to eat, pubs to visit, history to see. It has it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street to the Dublin Castle and other venues of interest.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Providence, RI
Sep 25, 2009

Good Choice

This is an older hotel and our room and bathroom were quite small (think cruise ship size. The room was always clean and made up quickly. There was an electric hot pot with tea, coffee, sugar & milk provided which was great for an afternoon or bedtime snack. The location was great, and the staff helpful. There was a free Irish show every evening in the dining room/bar. One problem was that we didn't have a phone in our room (I think they were changing the phones)so we couldn't put in for a wake-up call. Another problem was that the check-in clerk did not believe that our room was pre-paid through Orbitz & insisted on running my charge card. The day clerk said she straightened this out & we should not be charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It'a very short walk to the Temple Bar area where there are lots of restaurants/pubs. Also, it's an easy walk to the Grafton ST./Trinity College area.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wiesbaden, Germany
Aug 26, 2009

Great Deal

Went to Dublin for the first time and just wanted to see the sites and bars. Hotel was in a great location for the temple bar area. The main bar area is about a 5-8 mintue walk from the hotel. The rooms were clean and the beer was cheap compared to other bars in the temple area. The hotel is on a busy street so it can get loud at night from the traffic. But I was there for the city not the sleep! I would stay there again for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to eat in the temple bar area. The drinks increase in price as it gets later but the food is amazing at some locations. I thought that price was too high for food at my hotel so I always found a new place to eat each day.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tz430si
Business
Westminster, MD
Aug 2, 2009

Good basic hotel: great location

This is a great little hotel located on the edge of the Temple Bar district in Dublin. The bar district is just down the street to the left. Rooms are very clean but small. The flat panel TV had snow on all channels. The bath was small but clean, tiled, and had excellent water pressure. You can fill up oversized tub in 2 minutes with clean hot water. No AC in the room, but Dublin is cold. We stayed for 2 nights in the end of July 2009, and it was cool. This hotel has a very popular bar right downstairs. Heavy partying and drinking is going on till early morning. The whole Temple Bar area is not a family place so when traveling with children consider another location. My 11 yo. was lost in the cigarette smoke and beer and whiskey vapors. The Dublin castle is right across the main street, 2 mins walk. Get your tickets early because they sell out. Overall I recommend this hotel because it's so inexpensive, and if you just come for 2-3 nights, it has a great location and you're not going to be staying at the room for more than an hour per day. If you can book with breakfast do so or pay 20-30 (for 2) Euro on the street. From the airport, take Airlink bus #748 to the 3rd stop at Wood Quay (pronounced Wood Key). From the bus stop go into the street to the left and up about 100 yards, then turn left into Lord Edward Street, go down about 100 yards. The hotel is a corner building on your left. From the Airlink bus it takes about 10 minutes when you are pulling your suitcase. You can also take a taxi for about 25 Euro: your choice. The trip on the Airlink bus is very decent though, and it takes about 30-40 minutes. If you come to hop bars and tour downtown Dublin this is a great little hotel. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel, cross the street and go down to another MAIN street (big busy street). Turn right and go up 200-300 yards. On the right hand side, look for a Cuban restaurant (Havana?): I forgot the street and restaurant name, but you will find it. You can get great food there at reasonable price.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish Amy
Business
Ludington, Michigan
Jul 24, 2009

Great Stay

We had a fantastic 10 day stay at the Arlington Hotel Temple Bar. The staff there is fantastic and helped us with our many questions about where to go and how to get there, etc. The traditional Irish entertainment offered in their pub is excellent, and the location is perfect for walking almost anywhere you want to go in Dublin. In 10 days, we only took a taxi to the airport and once to Killmainham Gaol. Otherwise, we walked with no problem whatsoever. If you stay here, enjoy nightlife, and are older than say 30, however, I encourage you to try the pubs off of Grafton Street, rather than the closer Temple Bar area. What the Epcot Center is to worldwide travel, Temple Bar is to Irish pubs. Get the real deal down the street only a little further. My one wish was that it was quieter at night...lots of street noise from Dame Street/Lord Edward Street -- but if you're tired enough, you can drown it all out. It's worth the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two cafes within a block or so of the hotel called the Queen of Tarts (their older smaller location and their newer, larger location). The food here is EXCELLENT and inexpensive. Skip the hotel breakfast (which is not included in the price) and go see the Queen for the most amazing breakfast, lunch, coffee, and desserts.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KLBhouse Travels
Business
La Crosse, WI
Jul 17, 2009

Feel the heartbeat of Dublin right here!

The location was perfect! We did a lot of walking around and were able to see many popular sites within walking distance of hotel (Guinness experience, Trinity College, Temple Bar, River Liffey, Millennium spire, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit the Porterhouse Pub and have a pear cider. Delicious! The entertainment was good, too.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Not bad, not bad

This hotel is right near Temple Bar, easy access to lots of bars, restaurants, and shops, and right near bus stops too, so none of it was too far a walk. The room was a comfortable size, though the bathroom was a bit small for two people. Lovely bathtub, great for a hot soak, and plenty of towels. The room did a little worse for the wear though, and overall looked like it could use a little renovating. There was a wall-mounted flat-screen tv and comfortable chairs. I was rather disappointed in the bed though as it was more than a little uncomfortable. We ended up sleeping on top of the comforter which was much better, but I think they should get better mattresses. The only other thing that was really bad was the noise. There was no thermostat or a/c in the hotel, so we slept with the windows open and it was *very* noisy, especially with drunk people strolling the street below very late making a ton of noise! I would recommend this hotel, but if you stay here, ask for a room in the *back*!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They offer a live music and Irish step dance show right in the hotel, free for the guests, and a 3-course dinner for 25 Euro. It felt like a tourist gimmick but the show was pretty good, so I recommend staying for a drink or two and catching that.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
May 29, 2009

Close to Everything!

Staff was very friendly and helpful, and we were within walking distance of most Dublin attractions. Also very close to several interesting restaurants and nightspots, as well as shopping. Since this is a busy area, anyone wanting complete quiet should go somewhere else. However, if you like being in the middle of all the excitement of Dublin, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian from Long Island
Business
Long Island, New York
May 27, 2009

Great location, Good Hotel

The Hotel is right in the middle of Temple Bar, and right in the middle of all the fun. The Hotel itself has a great Bar downstairs with entertainment. Everybody was friendly. I arrived at 7am and they were able to get me right in my room. On the downside the room needed a bit more cleaning when I first got in but was taken care of pretty quickly. We couldn't figure out how to adjust the water temp in the shower and wound up taking either very cold or very hot showers most of the time. Their is no AC in the room so we had the windows open most of the time. We were on the quiet side of the hotel but still got a bit of late night noise from people wandering the streets after hours. Overall I would use this hotel again. It was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Having this hotel located where it is was a huge plus. A "hop-on-Hop off" tour bus stop was directly in front of this Hotel and a GREAT free walking tour of Dublin started just about a block away. (ask for Conor)

Back to menu Return to top