$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 5, 2015

Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

3 stars
View map of 23-25 Bachelors Walk, O'Connell Bridge, Dublin, 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PJBusy
Family
Southern California USA
Sep 30, 2011

Loved Dublin!

The hotel was a place to sleep but we would not have wanted to spend time there. At check in we let them know there were two of us and that we needed 2 beds but the room they assigned us to had only a king size bed. It was a bother to have to go back and set it right. THis hotel is nothing special BUT it is very close to all the action. It was an inexpensive hotel in a very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the Guiness brewery and lots of pubs and great sites.

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovin' and Missin' Ireland
Family
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 2, 2010

Great value for a premiom location

The hotel was an average hotel in a great location. We could get to any of the sights or shopping quickly while walking every where we wanted to visit. The service was ok, we were early and they kept our bags for us and got all of our requests done without problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grafton street was very close and we were able to walk back and forth with little effort, with stops at Trinity College along the way.

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dublin visitor
Business
nyc, ny, usa
May 8, 2009

ok for short stay, with some drawbacks

this hotel is not bad for a budget hotel. it's pretty clean and in a GREAT location, particularly if you want to take the AirLink or AirCoach to & from the airport. it's right on the Liffey River & O'Connell Street, and all the sites in central Dublin are walkable from here. some of the staff was friendly, some a little cold. typical i suppose. the double bed was actually 2 twins pushed together. fine, but not ideal. as an american, i find myself a little spoiled when it comes to plumbing, so the fact that the sink had 2 faucets -- one scalding hot, and one freezing cold -- neither quite comfortable to use for washing your face, etc. -- a little irritating. do NOT stay here if you intend to have visitors. i spent an evening walking around Dublin with my friend who lives there, and he wanted to use the toilet before taking the tram back to the suburbs where he lives -- and they wouldn't let him in!! this was only at about midnight. and this is not a dangerous area. i found that quite silly & irritating. and another thing about the free WIFI -- to be completely blunt, they filter out sites they consider to be "pornographic". i find it strange that a hotel dictates for its patrons what is and isn't appropriate material to browse in a private hotel room whilst traveling. all in all -- for a quick cheap stay, it's clean and safe and convenient, but feels a little like staying at a controlling nun's place or your conservative grandmother's house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Gardena, CA
Jun 25, 2010

Great price and location

We only stayed there for one night before my mother and I departed for Paris, France. It was a nice location since it was near the bus that takes you to the Dublin airport and it's across the river from shopping and Temple Bar area. It's a bit loud at night because of the large bar downstairs with live music... it's a great place but just a bit loud when you are trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the bridge from the hotel is a large store for all of your souvenir shopping. They have just about everything you can imagine from magnets to candy and everything in between. They have Guinness products on the top floor just in case you didn't get to go to the Guinness factory as well as Ireland's football (soccer) team's gear on the lower floor of the store.. for all you avid soccer players! The very best thing about this place is that they can ship everything for you back to the US for a minimal cost via DHL. It's great if you still have more traveling to do and do not want to lug all your souvenirs around.

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PC from Chicago
Couples
Chicago, IL
Sep 29, 2014

Great Location, great barroom; overpriced

I was shocked to be charged an additional 30 euros per night because I added a second occupant to my double room. Seems excessive. Otherwise, the hotel was adequate, certainly not luxurious. The location (O'Connell Bridge on the River Liffey) couldn't be beat. We walked everywhere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deba
Couples
limerick, Ireland
Jun 7, 2014

comfortable stay

We stayed in the older part of the hotel and the room was way too small. I opened the door and tripped on too the bed!! Saying that the room was very clean, staff were very helpful and easy too talk too. The hotel is very central and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Refuse to give nickname
Couples
Florida
Jul 7, 2014

Good location, but...

The location of this hotel is great - we walked to everything with no trouble. You can also store your bag if they aren't ready to check you in. However, the bed was rock hard, there is no air conditioning, and the walls were very thin. Our room was near the vending machine and we heard every transaction. One of the nights, about 2 a.m., some VERY drunk guys ran around for about an hour on our floor, shouting and banging on doors, etc., and the staff did nothing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
greeneyedraven
Family
Texas
Jan 22, 2012

TRIPLE CHARGED ! ! !

My previous stays here were nice and efficient. Had stayed in remodeled rooms and never one problem. This stay was very annoying and the hotel will not respond to my emails. I prepaid online. They claimed it did not get processed, had no record of it. So I gave them another credit card expecting that they would resolve this quickly. Upon leaving, I'm told I owe them money. I told them I prepaid and even wrote the confirmation on the key envelope. I let them charge my other credit card thinking the credit card company must have blocked the charge since I was out of country. They ran my card twice. I only received one receipt, but I checked my credit accounts once home....twice. And thinking now they charged me EUROS instead of US dollars...so they may have overcharged me again. Going through the channels now to get this refunded but the hotel has not responded to one email and forget calling. Called twice and the girls couldn't understand me and no one else was around to talk to. On top of that, the room was quite a step down from previous stays. Shower head cradle was broke so you couldn't take a shower. Good thing their was a tub. AND sink faucets barely trickled out water with both open full blast. The only bright side was that the cleaning staff kept the room spotless. I'm a very neat person but it's nice to know the cleaning staff takes pride in their work and does an excellent job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Jun 8, 2011

A great dissapointment

This was the fourth, the most expensive, and the worst hotel we stayed in during our two weeks in Ireland. Paid more because of promise of free wifi in room. (We needed it to check in for our flight home.)Wifi was out of order in the rooms and only available in the lobby, which was dark and noisy. Found the staff to be unprofessional (running through the lobby and yelling at each other in front of guests). Also paid extra for an executive suite only to find that there was no elevator and we had to haul our bags up two fights of stairs to our room. Even basics - like kleenex tissue in the bathroom - were missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The only plus was the Irish dance/music show in the hotel, which was average. The dinner,however,was good.

Back to menu Return to top