Ardmore Hotel

3 stars
Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Dublin, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
41 reviews
Nice stay

Bar is very clean and welcoming, food yummy and pints delicious. Beer garden is nice (weather... See full review

  • regulartravellersireland
  • Jun 4, 2014
Perfect spot away from City Center

From the very first moment, the staff was hands down, some of the best I've ever dealt with. They... See full review

  • Starrwalker
  • Mar 21, 2014
An easy middle ground between the airport and the city
Fifteen minutes from Dublin Airport and a few miles from the city center, the Ardmore offers easy access to all of Dublin's highlights and still makes it easy to catch a flight. Located on the former site of Ireland's iconic Premier Dairies, it's a quick drive to some of north Dublin's serene parks, the National Botanic Garden and Prospect Cemetery. The hotel's popular bar has live music on the weekends and a special Sunday lunch. Free underground parking is available as well as complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms.

 

Highlights
  • Lively bar with live music on weekends
  • Free underground parking and Wi-Fi access
Rooms
The guest rooms at the Ardmore Hotel have modern furnishings decorated in creams and deep red tones. All rooms have plush comforters, flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and tea and coffee station. Twin, double and spacious executive rooms are available, as well as interconnecting rooms and wheelchair accessible rooms.
Features
Cream Restaurant offers breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays and Saturdays. The Premier Bar has lunch every day with a special carvery meal on Sundays. The bar also features live music on weekends, with plasma TVs showing sporting events and a heated outdoor patio where you can enjoy a pint of Guinness in comfort. Free underground parking is available and the hotel offers free Wi-Fi.
Transportation
  • Dublin Bus service (.09 mi/.15 km)
  • Taxi service available
  • Rental car assistance available
Attractions
  • Prospect Cemetery (.9 mi/ 1.5km)
  • National Botanic Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • James Joyce Center (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Hugh Lane Municipal Gallery of Modern Art (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • National Aquatic Centre (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
Business
  • One large meeting room can hold up to 100 guests
  • Latest audiovisual equipment
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Catering and private dining available
Policies and Fees

  • Guests can have 15% off the Bar Food Menu

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ardmore Hotel Rooms

Single Room
This room offers one single bed or two twin beds with tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen color television, iron and ironing board. Comfortably decorated with stylish duvets, leather armchairs and contemporary furniture, each room has an ice bucket with machine located on guest floors.
Double/twin Room
This room offers one double bed or two twin beds with tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen color television, iron and ironing board. Comfortably decorated with stylish duvets, leather armchairs and contemporary furniture, each room has an ice bucket with machine located on guest floors.
Family Ensuite
This room offers one double bed and one twin bed with tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen color television, iron and ironing board. Comfortably decorated with stylish duvets, leather armchairs and contemporary furniture, each room has an ice bucket with machine located on guest floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

53.3815 -6.2919
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Located on the main N2, minutes from the M50 in the direction of Dublin City Centre. The hotel is between Finglas and Glasnevin towards Dublin City Centre.

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin City University: 1.4 mi
  • Baile Phib: 1.7 mi
  • River Tolka: 1.9 mi
  • Grangegorman: 1.9 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 1.9 mi
  • Ashtown Castle: 2 mi
  • Dublin Zoo: 2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 2.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Croke Park: 2.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 2.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 2.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 2.2 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 2.2 mi
  • Dublin City University: 1.4 mi
  • Baile Phib: 1.7 mi
  • River Tolka: 1.9 mi
  • Grangegorman: 1.9 mi
  • Arbour Hill: 1.9 mi
  • Ashtown Castle: 2 mi
  • Dublin Zoo: 2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 2.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Croke Park: 2.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 2.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 2.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 2.2 mi
  • Ashtown Demesne: 2.2 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 2.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 2.2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 2.3 mi
  • Duke of Wellington Monument: 2.3 mi
  • Parnell Square: 2.3 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts and History: 2.3 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 2.3 mi
  • Phoenix Park: 2.3 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 2.3 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 2.3 mi
  • Liffey Bridge: 2.4 mi
  • Heuston Station: 2.4 mi
  • Smithfield: 2.4 mi
  • James Joyce Bridge: 2.4 mi
  • James Joyce House of the Dead: 2.5 mi
  • Moore Street: 2.5 mi
  • Arnotts: 2.5 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 2.5 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 2.6 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 2.6 mi
  • General Post Office: 2.6 mi
  • St. James's Gate Brewery: 2.6 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Four Courts: 2.6 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 2.6 mi
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art: 2.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Guests can dine in Premier Bar. Getting their names from the Premier Dairy, which occupied the site of the hotel, they offer a variety of menus to choose from. Breakfast is served in Cream Restaurant from 7 until 10.00am weekdays and until 11am on Saturday and Sunday. Guests are offered a choice of light breakfast, continental or full Irish. Premier Bar offers a carvery, which is served 12.30-5pm on Sunday. An extensive bar menu is served in the evenings and all day Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Ardmore Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMALAWI
England, UK
Aug 7, 2012

fantastic leisure weekend

Just a short distance to the airport and Dublin city centre, this hotel is excellent value for money. The comfort and cleanliness is unparalleled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Temple bar area is only a short drive away. This is where all the action is both for day and night life.

Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20 something girl
Ireland
Jul 14, 2012

Inexpensive and near to city centre

It's in a good location with a bus stop right outside the hotel that will take you right into the centre of Dublin. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The bar food was not very nice. I was told at reception that guests were entitled to a 15% discount if they ate in the bar but this was not the case and the bar staff were not very helpful. Overall my experience was good and the hotel is value for money but I would not recommend eating at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bonnie129
mayo, ireland
Jun 4, 2012

better than before

Hotel has improved since last stay. Staff are a lot more helpful. Always liked the location and rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short trip from town and short walk from Tescos

Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz Daveedo
North Carolina, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Great place to stay! Especially on St. Patty's Day!

This hotel was very nice. They had plenty of outlets in the room and great space to get ready for two girls going out on St. Patty's Day. The hotel bar was great for live music and less expensive pints of Guinness then we spent out in Dublin. Bus station right across the street to head into town for less than 3 euro and they had our cars inside a locked underground gate area. Felt very safe! Great place and great staff very helpful in getting around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Enelra
Greece
Mar 7, 2012

Perfect for travellers on route to/from airport

I had a very nice stay at the Ardmore Hotel. Main reason for booking was for a hotel convenient to the airport. Room was luxurious & SPOTLESS, cleanliness could not have been better. Rate was VERY cheap. Definitely will book this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in Ireland
Asheville, NC, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Good Value, Great Vacation

My brother and I came to Ireland for a week and decided to make the Ardmore our home base. We came by the hotel at 8am the day of our check in (our flight got in at 4:45am) and asked if it was possible to check in early (check in isn't until 2pm), and they let us! This was a good start to our experience. When we got to our room we discovered that our TV didn't work, after speaking to the front desk, we found out it was a quick fix, just unplug the TV and plug it back in... problem solved. Room was clean and a pretty good size for 2 of us. The beds aren't the most comfortable and the pillows are flat, but luckily there were extra pillows in the closet, another quick fix. The rooms are heated by radiators, and it seemed like all or nothing with the heat so we had our heat on and the windows open (in early Feburary) to even out the temperature in the room. In the room description online it said there were hairdryers in the rooms, it wasn't until the 3rd day we were there that we found the hairdryer, IN the pullout desk drawer, strange. Another added bonus that was NOT mentioned online was that there was a plug in the bathroom that was ready for US plugs (converted to 110volts) SO convinient, we used this all week with no problems. Front desk staff was not particularly friendly but the staff in the bar was quite nice. It was also nice that there was "live music" in the bar on Saturday and Sunday nights, other than that there wasn't much going on down there. It was great to have free underground parking and free wi-fi. Our room was located on the 5th floor and we had a little problem with the wi-fi strength at times. It was also nice that there was a waterpot in the room for coffee and tea with white AND brown sugar, and the water boiled almost immediately! One annoying thing was that there was no ice bucket, though there was an ice maker on each floor, the only way to get ice was via tiny little plastic cups, which each held maybe 4 ice cubes. All-in-all, we had a good experience at the hotel, especially having a car and needing wi-fi, it met our minimum needs 100%. Would recommend to anyone traveling on a budget, or not concerned with staying IN the city center (only a 15 minute bus ride, with a bus stop across the street, which cost us 1.80 euro to get to O'connell street - make sure you have exact change, as you wont get any money back if you over pay!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emma B
City of London, UK
Sep 19, 2011

Unacceptable

Although clean the room had an overpowering smell of cigarette smoke which for a non smoker was very unpleasant. I immediately left my room to ask for another which was not possible. Having come back from dinner in Dublin to get some rest for the next day I crawled into sheets which smelt of smoke and as I closed my eyes the noise from the bar started. There was a disco which went on until one in the morning despite a number of complaints from hotel residence. I have to speak to the manager on my third call to reception! Unacceptable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dononeal
Atlanta, GA
Aug 27, 2011

Noisy on side of busy street

We were given a room on the front of the hotel which faces a busy street. Since there is no A/C, then we must leave the window open so noise is a problem. I requested they move us to the rear of the hotel. My request was honored and noise on the other side of the hotel wasn't a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

City bus stop immediately in from of hotel. Easy to get to center of city.

Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamanda
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 25, 2011

fun weekend away

hotel was very clean and room was large. Exactly what we needed to exPlore he city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CP
Birmingham
Jul 14, 2011

Nice hotel

The hotel is really nice, decent sized room, well presented and clean. Had a bit of trouble finding it from the airport as nobdody seemed to know where it was. All in all would stay here again! We got a 3 day freedom ticket for the bus (26euros) which includes the sightseeing tour - well worth it. Also the National Leprachaun Museum if you're feeling up for a laugh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top