$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Sandhouse Hotel

4 stars
View map of Rossnowlagh, Donegal Bay County Donegal, Donegal, 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
4 reviews
Sand house

Very very pleased. Had a great stay. Thank you very much. See full review

  • Michael500
  • Apr 17, 2012
Ocean Vista

[...] it far exceeded expectations. The staff was extremely acommodating and our room (the week... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 19, 2010

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandhouse Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Sandhouse Hotel Rooms

Single Room
Featuring 1 single bed en suite.Our single rooms in the atmospheric Georgian house are renowned for their period charm, Each with their own elegant dcor and beautifully furnished with Color TV and Telephone.
Double and Single Bed
Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed, with Color TV, ensuite/private bathroom and telephone. The rooms in the hotel are tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard of comfort and decor. Every care has been taken in designing the bedrooms to ensure that guests enjoy a quiet and restful stay.
Superior Double/Twin
Our Superior Sea View rooms encourage relaxation and tranquillity and features 32 Plasma TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, free internet access and individual toiletries in the en suite bathroom.
Deluxe Double
These carefully styled rooms provide luxurious living space, with additional features such as genuine vintage writing bureaus, 32 Plasma TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, free internet access and individual toiletries in the en suite bathroom.
Double/Twin
The room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Color TV, ensuite/private bathroom and telephone. The rooms in the hotel are tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard of comfort and decor. Every care has been taken in designing the bedrooms to ensure that guests enjoy a quiet and restful stay.

Amenities

  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Enjoy an excellent award-winning cuisine in the Sandhouse hotel's elegant Seashell Restaurant. You can have a pre-dinner cocktail at the Boss's bar where you can sink in before having a sumptuous dinner. The Surfers Bar is more casual and is a place where you can watch your favorite sporting events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Sandhouse Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael500
Business
Sand house hotel
Apr 17, 2012

Sand house

Very very pleased. Had a great stay. Thank you very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cordova, TN
Jun 19, 2010

Ocean Vista

[...] it far exceeded expectations. The staff was extremely acommodating and our room (the week before tourist season) was very reasonable and beautifully appointed with a picture window overlooking the ocean less than 100 yards away. The dining room, with an appealing menu, likewise overlooked the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K glasses
Business
Belfast
Jun 16, 2012

Wonderful

My partner and I spent 3 wonderful midweek nights at the hotel, I chose the location and was a little worried because I realised after booking that apart from the beach Rossnowlagh has little else....well apart from a hotel in a sublime location. However, as we were looking for a peaceful couple of days, quiet walks along the beautiful beach suited us. My partner is from Germany and he fell madly in love with the place, both location and hotel. The hotel whilst perhaps not the modern building with all the facilities some would like, has something that all hotels should have and often don't...wonderful friendly staff. I had a fabulous facial in the Spa, the food was very good and plentiful, we ate in the hotel 2 nights, the 3rd we went to Smugglers Inn which is well worth a visit. My partner has vowed that we will return to the Sandhouse Hotel, turns out my choice was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donegal Lover
Business
England
Jun 18, 2014

Faded rooms and Jaded staff

This hotel is in the most perfect of locations on the most beautiful beach in Ireland. However, the decoration in the rooms and corridors is at best faded, at worst grubby. A pot of paint and a maintenance man woukd go a long way. The room decor is Miami circa 1975 crossed with skip-find chic. This hotel suffered in the Irish recession and it looks it. It wasn't cheap to stay here. The staff were generally complacent, at worst outright rude. With one notable exception, the breakfast staff were friendly and the food good. Otherwise, the hotel food no longer lives up to its reputation. Pick one of the chalets or B&Bs nearby for your stay. Really, it is that bad. No one wants a remarkable institution to fail. The owners need to take this place in hand if it is not already too late. Another customer lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top