$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

3 stars
Maccurtain Street, C0 Cork, Cork,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
7 reviews
Old-school classic, super location

The Metropole is walking distance from the railroad station and around the corner from the direct... See full review

  • blarneystar
  • Feb 11, 2014
Very Classy

The staff were very friendly and the hotel was close to the bus station for easy travel. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 21, 2007
Situated in the heart of Cork City Centre, the Gresham Metropole Hotel & Leisure Centre in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Centre Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Gresham Metropole Hotel is designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. For those looking for that added bit of relaxation, a visit to our leisure centre, Leeside Leisure, is a must. This Cork City Center Hotel also offers car parking to all of its over night guests at a discounted nightly rate.

Hotel Map

51.9016 -8.4692
Area served
Cork
Nearby airports
Cork International Airport
Area description
On exiting Cork Airport you will approach a roundabout, on the main Cork to Kinsale road (N27). Take the first exit from this roundabout signposted for Cork City.Go straight down the hill, passing through the two sets of traffic lights, until you reach the large roundabout at the bottom of the hill. Take the third exit from this roundabout, signposted for City Centre (N27). Continue straight on through four sets of traffic lights. You should now be in the second lane from the left, and be turning left at the next junction (after the Elysian Building - 18 storey building on your right). Following this you need to turn right at the next junction, as to cross the river. Continue straight on now, until you come to a T-junction, at which you need to turn left.You should see the Gresham Metropole Hotel on the opposite bank of the river. At the next set of traffic lights, turn right to cross the river, go straight through the next junction, and then turn right at the following set. You a

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Standard Double room

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Everyman Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port of Cork: 0.4 mi
  • Cork Vision Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Church Of Christ The King: 0.8 mi
  • River Lee: 0.9 mi
  • The Lough park: 0.9 mi
  • Lewis Glucksman Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Páirc Uí Chaoimh: 1.3 mi
  • Cork City Gaol: 1.3 mi
  • Blackrock Castle: 3 mi
  • Mahon Point Shopping Centre: 3.1 mi
  • Cork Greyhound Stadium: 3.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Gresham Metropole Hotel in Cork City has a suite of 12 meeting rooms, ranging in style from intimate drawing rooms to a grand ballroom. All have an abundance of natural lighting and can be configured and equipped to make your meeting as thought provoking as you'd like it to be. With 12 different meeting rooms, 12 different settings, hundreds of different seating configurations, full audio visual capabilities, air conditioning, dedicated Butler service and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout, the Gresham Metropole Hotel in Cork City has the meeting rooms and event facilities to suit your needs

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rockfist
Business
Dublin
Mar 17, 2014

Horrific from Start to finish

From the moment i rang this hotel to find out how to access the parking it all went wrong. I had to Park a block away from the hotel and walk through the rain and wind uphill with my bags. I Then checked in and was charged for the parking. When i got to my room i was shocked at the size of it. I've never seen such a small and pokey hotel room. The wardrobe was a board and a rail. The carpet was upturned in the corner. The whole room looked like it was last maintained in the 1980's. All day i had been looking forward to hitting the gym. When i got down to it they made me fill out many forms before even stepping foot in it. I wish i didn't. Gym was the same as the room. Dull and outdated. Very little and outdated free weights. Woeful. I then decided best to just get to bed only to find some long black hairs on the pillow. So horrible. Avoid this woeful excuse for a hotel. When i reviewed it online the manager, Roger Russell, asked me to email him directly to discuss. I did and have yet to hear anything from him. Bad customer service also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blarneystar
New York, NY, USA
Feb 11, 2014

Old-school classic, super location

The Metropole is walking distance from the railroad station and around the corner from the direct bus to Dublin airport. All of Cork's central city attractions are close by. It's an old building, and some of the rooms are quite small, but everything is thoroughly clean and well maintained. Great breakfast, late night bar and friendly, competent staff. Wi-fi works great in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out traditional music sessions on the weekend at the Corner House and Sin-E, next to each other just down the street. And the Everyman's Peoples Theatre, a Cork institution since way back, is practically next door.

Review of Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Married No Kids
Boca Raton, Florida
Jul 8, 2013

Not bad, but nothing fancy

Our stay here was pretty good. The location was decent - a short walk to what little nightlife there is in the city of Cork. The room was small and plain, although the bathroom was quite nice and looked like it had been recently redone. No complaints about the place, really. It is a simple accommodation, but the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is little nightlife in this city, but what there is was only a short walk. On the same street as the hotel were plenty of places to eat and drink. Across the river, there were even more. The city closes up early, though.

Review of Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Oct 12, 2010

gresham hotel cork

Good overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Oct 12, 2010

gresham hotel cork

Good overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
May 21, 2007

Very Classy

The staff were very friendly and the hotel was close to the bus station for easy travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of pubs and restaurants located on the same street as the hotel.

Review of Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
May 21, 2007

Very Classy

The staff were very friendly and the hotel was close to the bus station for easy travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of pubs and restaurants located on the same street as the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top