$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 16, 2015

BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

4 stars
View map of Montennote Cork City Ireland, Montenotte, Cork, 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
16 reviews
consistently excellent service

I have stayed here several times on business and have constantly experienced excellent. Staff are... See full review

  • Moira C.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Great place to stay on business

Very reasonably priced hotel close to city centre with great views. Stayed one night & used leisure... See full review

  • Martin J.
  • Apr 20, 2015
Superb location overlooking Cork city. Unique in so many ways; extensive free customer parking, minutes walk to the city centre, bright elevated position set in the quiet residential area of ... 'Montenotte'. The hotel includes Bar, Beauty Salon/Hairdresser, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Dry cleaning, Gym/Fitness facilities, Internet access-High-Speed & Wireless, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilities, Reception, Restaurant, Spa Services, Swimming pool-indoor.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel Rooms

Double or Twin Room
The room offers 1 double bed and one twin bed with Air conditioning, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Internet access, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Cork: 0.4 mi
  • Páirc Uí Chaoimh: 0.6 mi
  • Everyman Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Church of St Anne: 1.2 mi
  • Church Of Christ The King: 1.2 mi
  • The Lough park: 1.5 mi
  • River Lee: 1.6 mi
  • Lewis Glucksman Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Cork City Gaol: 2 mi
  • Blackrock Castle: 2.3 mi
  • Mahon Point Shopping Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Cork Greyhound Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

Restaurants
Open every evening, Merchants Bistro also commands a wonderful elevated position above the city. The ambiance is comfortable and casual with menus offering something to please every palate. Expertly prepared under the stewardship of Executive Chef Diarmuid Murphy and his team, only the finest ingredients are used to create light and modern bistro cuisine, perfectly complimented by our selection of quality wines.Perched high over the city, The Vista Lounge offers visitors a great place to relax and unwind while enjoying the spectacular city views of Cork.Whether for a quiet pint or a more lively gathering of friends, The Vista Lounge is a great venue. In the evening a tempting snack menu is on offer to keep the munchies at bay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martin J.
Business
N/A
Apr 20, 2015

Great place to stay on business

Very reasonably priced hotel close to city centre with great views. Stayed one night & used leisure facilities which were good. For a business stay I would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John M.
Business
Cleveland
Apr 6, 2015

Good stay for one night

The Montenotte was under renovations when we were there, which might have had something to do with the fantastic deal we got, but they did an excellent job of keeping the noise and mess isolated. The staff was superb. We only stayed a night, but would have been glad to stay on longer. We also didn't have time to eat there, so can't say anything about the food. If you have a car, the hotel is very convenient to the city centre. It's not a bad walk, either--about 15 minutes--but it's uphill all the way back (if you sweat, you will sweat). Cork is trafficky, but there appeared to be good parking available in the car park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moira C.
Business
Bridgetown
Mar 10, 2015

consistently excellent service

I have stayed here several times on business and have constantly experienced excellent. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spotless and comfortable although the only fault is that in some of the rooms the showers are old models and not very strong. Beautiful views of Cork city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pixie Valiente
Business
Midleton
Mar 17, 2014

A Day Break

The overall experience is just okay but I am def happy with experience we had esp with at least two Staff who excel from everyone. They are lovely people to deal with (Reception & Breakfast Crew). Based on what I have signed for that the room should have free wifi but on numerous occasion, no matter how many times i tried the room number & surname, still would not work. So by right, whatever you signed for on booking the hotel you should get it and not doing any contact in the Reception to fix the issue for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Def a good place to stay to experience Cork City nightlife & dining if you want a peaceful night sleep.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TomMDenver
Business
Denver
Oct 23, 2013

They don't know how to HOLD a reservation!

I had faith in this Best Western branded hotel; however, upon my 6:45 p.m. arrival in July 2013 I was notified that my confirmed internet reservation on the Best Western website was not going to be honored, my room was gone and that they had booked me into a “comparable” room at another hotel. In fact, the “comparable” hotel had no air conditioning! This when Ireland’s worst heat wave in eight years was pushing temperatures way into the 80’s. We had to open the windows to allow some cool night air into the hot room. The open windows in this “comparable” room allowed the noise from the hotel’s wedding reception celebrants into the room until late into the night. The open windows in the “comparable” room also meant we were awakened in the morning by those leaving early from the hotel’s parking lot. We experienced slamming car doors from start to finish! Upon discussion with Cork locals about this Best Western Montenotte’s inability to hold our confirmed reservation, I was informed that this is apparently a recurring practice of the Best Western Montenotte Hotel. We also heard that the owners of the Montenotte have a business interest in the hotel in which we were re-booked. If true, their business plan apparently is to intentionally overbook the Montenotte and then re-book people to their other "comparable" hotel. DO NOT MAKE A RESERVATION AND EXPECT IT TO BE HONORED AT THIS PLACE! I wrote a complaint to Best Western's International Operations VP and President and CEO. In an email from a staffer in Phoenix,: “Sorry, we had disappointed you”. So don't expect any explanations from the Best Western brand either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael and Keri
Business
Florida
Oct 1, 2013

Great Service

Great location. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rextrew
Business
London
Aug 21, 2013

Comfortable enough, a few minor issues

The room and facilities were excellent, overall a good hotel. My minor gripes were the leisure complex had no towels or compulsory swim hats available when I first attended at 9:00am Saturday, also neither the steam room or Sauna had started to warm up. Nice empty pool though :) AT an evening meal we were over charged, and although this was corrected at the time, the additional charge made its way to reception so we had to explain again the error. Nice breakfast but both mornings no sausages available until after I had finished my meal. A minor point but annoying. Being located a mile from the city and uphill on the way back the bus proved useful, we eventually hired a car which made life much easier. On reflection I would probably not use this hotle again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sophielala
Business
Kent, UK
Apr 13, 2013

Lovely Hotel, Lovely Staff, Clean Rooms, Great Central location

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Montenotte Hotel, with my mum and 2 sisters. We had a lovely stay in Room 212, very clean room, with tea&coffee making facilities, iron, lovely decor, and most of all the location, was only 5 mins from the city centre!! Had a great stay, my sisters enjoyed using the pool and spa in the hotel, would recommend, and also thank you to Bernie, who made our stay very welcome :-) We will hopefully see you in the not so distant future ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You must visit Pennies, and also the Blarney Castle! Costs about 10 euros to get entry & kiss the stone ;-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelle
Business
Oak Creek, WI
May 21, 2012

Un-cork the city

Helpful Staff, good location, clean place. Only handicap is the Wi-fi system. The first 30 minutes in your room is free, then you have to pay a fee to be able to use it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frances
Business
London
Oct 29, 2010

NIce hotel, average room

The hotel is quite far out of town, up a steep hill. It only takes about 12 minutes to walk down into town but we got taxis back up the hill! The bedroom itself was a good size and clean, however there was a patch of duct tape that had been used to cover up a patch on the floor which seemed bad for a 4 star hotel. The bath also seemed quite dirty and looked like it could've done with a good scrub. Shower wasn't brilliant either. The spa facilities are nice, though it was a shame the steam room was out of order when we were there. All this being said, the hotel is a nice place to go for a relaxing getaway. They do a good value and good quality carvery on Sundays and the view from the bar is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top