$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

5 stars
Jl Jenderal Sudirman 9, YOGYAKARTA, 55233
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
6 reviews
Excellent

The pool courtyard is stunning. Service is really excellent. See full review

  • Just this guy
  • Feb 11, 2013
Variable rooms - choose wisely

The first time we stayed, we were wowed by the room refinements, space, and cleanliness. A breath... See full review

  • Driftless
  • May 1, 2014
Located in the heart of Yogyakarta near the popular Malioboro district, the historic Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta, a member of the MGallery Collection, is a colonial landmark dating back to 1918. With 144 elegant rooms and suites, each boasting a balcony andafusion of Asian and European decor, The Phoenix Hotel features a restaurant, wine bar and terrace bar overlooking an open courtyard. An inviting swimming pool, indulgent day spa and modern conferencing facilities complete the exclusive experience.

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection Rooms

1 Kg bed Exec
Phoenix Executive 1 King Size Bed. Spread out in a very spacious room featuring a living room with Javanese heritage charm, combined with additional benefit a personal coffee machine, complimentary minibar, shoe shine butler service, local delights, and
Suite 1 Kg bed + Sofa Exec
Legendary Suite 1 King Size Bed. Experience a truly lavish stay in the amazing Suite featuring separate living room with its Javanese heritage charm, with additional personal coffee machine, complimentary minibar, shoe shine butler service, local deligh
1 Qn bed Sup Balcony
Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed. Beautiful and elegant Superior room in our colonial ambiance, with an authentic Javanese decoration combined with a modern setup (flat screen TV, rain shower, safe deposit box, unlimited complimentary Wi-Fi internet c
1 Kg bed Dlx Balcony
Deluxe Legacy 1 King Size Bed. Elegantly furnished our spacious Deluxe room offers a unique Javanese colonial experience combined with a modern setup (flat screen TV, rain shower, safe deposit box, unlimited complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection, and
2 Sg beds Dlx Balcony
Deluxe Legacy 2 Single Beds. Elegantly furnished our spacious Deluxe room offers a unique Javanese colonial experience combined with a modern setup (flat screen TV, rain shower, safe deposit box, unlimited complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection, and a
2 Sg beds Sup Balcony
Superior Heritage 2 Single Beds. Beautiful and elegant Superior room in our colonial ambiance, with an authentic Javanese decoration combined with a modern setup (flat screen TV, rain shower, safe deposit box, unlimited complimentary Wi-Fi internet conn

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Disco
Night club
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

-7.783 110.3723
Nearby airports
JOG, (JOG), 15.00, KM, E;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Prambanan: 8.2 mi

Dining

PAPRIKA
Located next to the swimming pool, in an open-air courtyard. Indonesian, Chinese and Western cuisine are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heather
Not Provided
Apr 1, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Phoenix. The hotel is a lovely oasis in the centre of bustling Yogya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Driftless
Everywhere
May 1, 2014

Variable rooms - choose wisely

The first time we stayed, we were wowed by the room refinements, space, and cleanliness. A breath of fresh air from your standard SE Asian hotel. And at a great rate. The second time... not so much. They tried to check us in to a dank, musty, tired, cramped room that felt more like a monk's cell than a hotel room. At the same rate as above. In the future? Not sure I'll risk it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Not far from Malioboro street with it's famous street market.

Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ConnieNYC
New York, NY
Nov 21, 2013

Comfortable hotel

I stayed one night here. We were greeted with iced tea upon arrival. The room and bed are comfortable and clean. The only issue I can think of is that water tends to spill all over the bathroom floor when you take a shower. I wish they could get that fixed. But overall, a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just this guy
Boston, MA
Feb 11, 2013

Excellent

The pool courtyard is stunning. Service is really excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Likes Clean
San Francisco, CA
May 3, 2010

It's okayyyyyyy

This hotel wasn't very expensive, so in some ways, you pay for what you get. In the room, there were no other towels aside from bath towels and ONE hand towel. There were no face towels or the like. The towels were very old as well. The bathroom wasn't cleaned very well since I saw remains of other people's hair. The floor of the room always felt dirty. Outside of the room, noise really carries. Since I was on the second floor, I heard the bar's club music at night and people chatting as the walked by. Luckily, the A/C helped muffle outside noise. The staff was always very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It's easier to cab everywhere, but rickshaws hassle as you go. :(

Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indonesia
Apr 2, 2010

Phoenix Hotel

This hotel provided the best service we have received anywhere in Indonesia. Absolutely helpful, friendly staff who were always ready to assist. Rooms were really clean and whenever anything was needed in the room like more sugar for tea and coffee it was there in a flash. [...] doesn't have a lot to do so staying in this hotel was a real treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure its a clear day before you do the sunrise Borobudur temple visit. It's really expensive before sunrise but if it's cloudy there is no sunrise. Wait until 6am to get in for about $1.70USD each. Or get there at 5 and pay $32USD each. We should have taken the cheaper option.

Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indonesia
Apr 2, 2010

Phoenix Hotel

This hotel provided the best service we have received anywhere in Indonesia. Absolutely helpful, friendly staff who were always ready to assist. Rooms were really clean and whenever anything was needed in the room like more sugar for tea and coffee it was there in a flash. [...] doesn't have a lot to do so staying in this hotel was a real treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure its a clear day before you do the sunrise Borobudur temple visit. It's really expensive before sunrise but if it's cloudy there is no sunrise. Wait until 6am to get in for about $1.70USD each. Or get there at 5 and pay $32USD each. We should have taken the cheaper option.

Back to menu Return to top