$28 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

3 stars
J. Melasti Street Legian Kuta, Bali, 80361
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
18 reviews
Central to most shopping ,restaurants and beach.

Great staff and atmosphere, thank you Carlos and June. See full review

  • Katwalk
  • May 9, 2014
Nice hotel in a great location

We recently stayed for eight nights in superior rooms in the older part of the hotel and would... See full review

  • Blackie911
  • Jan 31, 2014
Champlung Mas is a popular family hotel located amidst the vibrant tourist activity of the Kuta - Legian district. It is just a 5 minute walk to Bali's celebrated sunset beach where days can be spent surfing or just soaking up the sun. Surrounded by colorful market stalls, inexpensive restaurants and shopping outlets, Champlung Mas is the perfect base for travelers seeking a lively holiday experience. Following an extensive re-development programme, Champlung Mas now features a new high-rise wing with its own pool and a collection of modern Balinese guestrooms. However, the original wing still incorporates traditional styled rooms encompassed within a tropical garden environment to recreate the charm of yesteryear. The hotel combines two distinct concepts to anticipate the needs of guests looking for a strategic place to stay on the island of Bali.

Hotel Map

-8.7102 115.1699
Area served
Champlung Mas is just 25 minutes from Denpasar, the capital city of Bali.
Nearby airports
Champlung Mas Hotel is just 20 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport,
Area description
Champlung Mas Hotel is located in the heart of Kuta,ideally situated just a few minutes from the attractive white sandy beach and popular surfing point of Kuta beach and a few meters from the heart of Kuta Shopping area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Champlung Mas Hotel Legian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Champlung Mas Hotel Legian Rooms

Deluxe Pool Terrance
This stylish room category celebrates modern Balinese design with its customized furnishings, clean lines and updated amenities. It has a sleek en-suite bathroom facility complete with a separate shower and tub for bathing indulgence. A large terrace and direct access to the pool is an added benefit of this exclusive room type.
Deluxe Room
Located on the upper floors of the new wing, this smart room category is all about contemporary elegance. It represents a new era in hospitality at Champlung Mas with a look that is inviting as well as functional. This room is a place to unwind at the end of the day in style and take pleasure in home comforts and modern conveniences.
Superior Room
This classic room category with its old world charm and private terrace is still a firm favorite for guests who appreciate a traditional Balinese ambiance in a mature garden setting. It is comfortably appointed with a simple decor that lends itself to rest and relaxation.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Discovery Shopping Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Hard Rock Cafe Bali: 0.8 mi
  • Waterbom Park and Spa: 1.3 mi
  • Kuta Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Sling Shot: 1.4 mi
  • Martha Tilaar Salon: 2.9 mi
  • Kedonganan: 3.7 mi
  • Jimbaran Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Tanjung Benoa: 4.4 mi
  • Pura Masopahit: 4.8 mi
  • Bali Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Pura Jagatnatha: 5 mi
  • Udayana University: 5.5 mi
  • Universitas Warmadewa: 5.9 mi
  • Sobek: 5.9 mi
  • Discovery Shopping Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Hard Rock Cafe Bali: 0.8 mi
  • Waterbom Park and Spa: 1.3 mi
  • Kuta Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Sling Shot: 1.4 mi
  • Martha Tilaar Salon: 2.9 mi
  • Kedonganan: 3.7 mi
  • Jimbaran Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Tanjung Benoa: 4.4 mi
  • Pura Masopahit: 4.8 mi
  • Bali Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Pura Jagatnatha: 5 mi
  • Udayana University: 5.5 mi
  • Universitas Warmadewa: 5.9 mi
  • Sobek: 5.9 mi
  • Pro Dive Bali: 6.2 mi
  • Balangan Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Tanah Lot: 6.8 mi
  • Museum Le Mayeur: 6.9 mi
  • Garuda Wisnu Kencana: 6.9 mi
  • Dreamland Beach: 7.1 mi
  • Golf Course Nusa Dua: 7.3 mi
  • Ungasan: 7.9 mi
  • Geger Beach: 8 mi
  • Padang-Padang Beach: 8.4 mi
  • Pura Luhur Uluwatu: 10.1 mi
  • Pura Taman Ayun: 11.5 mi
  • Bali Bird Park: 11.7 mi
  • Kebo Iwa Statue: 11.8 mi
  • Mas woodcarvers: 13.4 mi
  • ARMA: 14.1 mi
  • Ubud Monkey Forest: 14.5 mi
  • Alas Kedaton: 14.7 mi
  • Ubud Market: 14.7 mi
  • Bali Safari and Marine Park: 14.7 mi
  • Elephant Cave: 15.2 mi
  • Yeh Pulu: 15.3 mi
  • Sembilan Gallery: 15.3 mi
  • Museum Puri Lukisan: 15.5 mi
  • Pura Kebo Edan: 15.7 mi
  • Penataran Sasih: 16 mi
  • Pasar Candi Kuning: 18.8 mi
  • Tampaksiring: 22 mi
  • Pura Kehen: 22.1 mi
  • Pura Gunung Kawi Sebatu: 22.7 mi

Dining

Purnama Restaurant
The Restaurant in the old wing is a traditional pavilion with an elevated thatched roof top. It serves an all day menu of international cuisine along with light bites and local specialty dishes.
Swim Up Bar
The Swim Up Bar serves an array of tropical cocktails, has happy hour and is also open 24 hours. Swim Up Bar is available at the Old Wing and New Wing.
Champ Restaurant
The Lobby Level Restaurant presents a modern menu to complement the upbeat ambiance of the new wing. It presents a menu influenced by locally grown produce including island fresh seafood and seasonal vegetables infused with indigenous herbs and spices.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 21, 2010

The Hotel is located at a central

The Hotel is located at a central location in Legion-Kuta border, the entrance is via a narrow street which is very busy at peak hour. You need to get educated on walking single file in order to survive the first few days, so that the endless motor bikes and cars can get past safely. Crossing any road requires that you look both ways, then look again , then quickly cross, this is survival training for anywhere in Bali. Having said that, do not be put off, the Hotel itself is good and the rates are reasonable. The pool is one of the better ones for that type of Hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Generally costs are minimal for anything, including organising a Hotel car and driver for local tours. The room I had was generally very good, but poor lighting in the bathroom and lack of powerpoint there, was a negative, but you can adapt. The positives outway the negatives, so in summary, it is a great place to stay, once you adjust to the culture differences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honcho Girl
Singapore
May 26, 2014

Excellent weekend away

This was my first time in Bali. I went with a friend and we stayed in one of the bungalows. We had a bit of trouble with mosquitoes, but the room was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was a good walk away from the beach and shopping. But since I walk a lot where I live, it was just nice. It was a good blend of relaxing pool time for me and lots of shopping for my friend. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

I consider it a short walk, but others will think it long. The markets with beach wear are closer than the retail shops. If you have a friend who can speak the language, have them help you barter at the markets.

Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katwalk
Perth , WA
May 9, 2014

Central to most shopping ,restaurants and beach.

Great staff and atmosphere, thank you Carlos and June.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like instant mash with your meal with bland vegetables, Moo Moo,s is the place to go . Terrible and disappointing , save your money....go elsewhere

Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed with hotel
Melbourne Australia
Mar 25, 2014

Disappointed

Had no power in room for a day. Manager is sleazy. Room was average. Couldn't turn off aircon. Not enough pool towels available. Breakfast was very disappointing. Would not recommend eating in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackie911
Perth, Australia
Jan 31, 2014

Nice hotel in a great location

We recently stayed for eight nights in superior rooms in the older part of the hotel and would happily do so again. We liked the older sides character, large rooms and private courtyards. The old pool was our clear favourite and we rarely ventured to the newer two pools. The 24hr swim-up bar came in handy on numerous occasions and we met lots of great people there. Our rooms were serviced daily with clean bedding, towels and complimentary water and the staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast is so-so but no complaints for the price we paid. The location is fabulous, close to everything including many great restaurants and bars. The mosquitos were a bit annoying in some parts of the hotel (no worse than our backyard in Australia though) and the WiFi was slow and only worked in the vicinity of the lobby and restaurant. All the local restaurants and bars have Free WiFi so it wasn't an issue for us. We loved our stay here and were very sad to leave the place and the people. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chinneytan
Singapore
Jan 15, 2014

Great for those with budget

It was a random pick and the room we had was at the ground floor, not at the pool but it was nice & quiet. With a courtyard in front of the room. Do not expect too much but it worth the money and near the beach and safe at night. Would be more for youngsters and/or young couples with adult kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FoxyRoxy
Maroubra, Australia
Oct 1, 2013

Happy Holidays

This is the second time I have stayed at Champlung Mas & have enjoyed my stay both times. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful. The rooms are kept immaculately clean. My only criticism of the rooms are that they are quite dark with no lighting at all on one side, near the wardrobe.1st stay there was the 2 pools but this time we discovered the roof top pool had been opened which has ocean views & happy hour just in time for sunset. A suggestion I would make though is with 3 pools I think they should make one child free for those of us that like to zone out & relax. I would not hesitate in recommending this a place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prince Harry
Margaret River
Jul 14, 2013

Positive experience

As a frequent traveller to and around Bali I can recommend the Champlung Mas. The facilities, location and staff are excellent as to is the value for money received. It is for this reason I have stayed there over the years and will continue to do so in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Komune at Karamas

Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
camhack
newcastle, aus
Nov 5, 2012

Camplung mas 2012

living in the old section was much better than the new part and thouroughly enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Caseys salon, 2 minute walk away and the best massages in Bali

Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrissy Lee
Gold Coast
Oct 29, 2012

Amazing as always

This was our third trip to Bali and we will never stay anywhere else in Bali we stayed there before and now after the renovations and we have to say we much prefer the old section to the hotel the rooms are clean and taken care of very well. Staff are the best you will ever find, they make such an effort to remember your name and what you drink! They are always up for a chat and very friendly and respectful. This latest trip we got back from a staff member ran all the way from the newer section to the old pool to prevent a guests child from going for an impromptu swim... Could not speak more highly of this hotel! Absolutely amazing and we will be going back again in June! The location is perfect for shopping and dinning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Casey's Salon is the best for massages and relaxation

Review of Champlung Mas Hotel Legian

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
liong
Canberra ACT 2601, Australia
Mar 24, 2012

Good holiday for family or group local tourist

The bathroom needs more attentions, a lot of mosquitoes in the room. The room cleaners are making so much noise in the corridor, doing nothing then having fun of themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Always bargain

Back to menu Return to top

Change search