$30 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Hotel Tara Palace

3 stars
View map of 419 Esplanade Road, Old Cycle Market, Opp Red Fort, New Delhi, 110006

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
9 reviews
Nice place good location

Good value. Clean comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff and excellent service. Close to historical... See full review

  • iepxs
  • Mar 20, 2012
Great place to stay

The Tara Palace Hotel is a clean, bright, well-furnished and friendly place to stay with good food,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 13, 2011
This is one of the best budget hotels in Delhi providing 3 star amenities for valuable customers.Customer can use wi fi throughout the hotel.The hotel is situated at one of the busiest commercial complexes of Delhi historical place in chandni chowk in the front of red fort near Gauri Shankar temple beside of Jama Masjid. The domestic airport is 18 kms away, the international airport is 22 kms away, parliament & India gate 04 kms away, Cannaught palace is 3 kms famous akshar dham temple is way 06kms Railway station is 01 kilometres away and pragati maidan is 03 kms away from the hotel. Services traditional welcome awaits your arrival with welcome drink. Guest relation officer at the reception 33 plus spit air-condition room special provision for business assemblage conference hall, hi fi speed internet facility a combination printer/ copier/ fax machine and PC, internet e-mail and roaming cellular phone on demand Unparallel round the clock customer care and room service confirmed tickets and conveyance facility safe deposit facility all major credit card accepted.Free Airport pickup: Are you visiting Delhi for leisure or business or a short trip or an extended stay and are looking for a budget hotel that matches your criterias of Ambience, comfort and world class facilities.

Top hotels

Hotel Tara Palace Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe offers one double bed and one twin bed along with Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Video player and Bright Indian decor with wall to wall marble floors.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • India Gate: 2.8 mi

Dining

KARIMS
RECOMMENDED NON VEGETARIAN MUGHLAI RESTAURANT JUST 10 MINUTE WALKING DISTANCE.
MC DONALD
JUST 2 MINUTE WALKING DISTANCE
HALDIRAMS
RECOMMENDED VEGETARIAN RESTAURANT CUM SWEETS SHOP JUST 5 MINUTE WALKING DISTANCE.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Tara Palace

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jan 22, 2010

The surrounding area was hard

The surrounding area was hard to navigate around as we had a physically challenged child with us, but the hotel and hotel staff were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iepxs
Business
Shanghai, China
Mar 20, 2012

Nice place good location

Good value. Clean comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff and excellent service. Close to historical areas as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Aug 30, 2011

great location

My stay in the hotel very enjoyable . Staff very good and informative . Hotel itself very well located .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Aug 30, 2011

great location

My stay in the hotel very enjoyable . Staff very good and informative . Hotel itself very well located .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vandy
Business
liverpool
Apr 15, 2011

Great Experience

The neighborhood around the hotel is pretty seedy, and although I traveled there alone as I woman. All rooms are air conditioned, which is wonderful, and they are also very clean (especially in contrast to outside). The man behind the desk at the hotel can help in booking prepaid taxis and train tickets. He booked my train ticket to and from Bodh Gaya in a matter of minutes, so I didnt have to go through the hassle of waiting at the train station for it! All in all, my experience at the Hotel Tara Palace was enjoyable, and I would definitely look into staying there again if I am ever back in Delhi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

chandni chowk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vandy
Business
liverpool
Apr 15, 2011

Great Experience

The neighborhood around the hotel is pretty seedy, and although I traveled there alone as I woman. All rooms are air conditioned, which is wonderful, and they are also very clean (especially in contrast to outside). The man behind the desk at the hotel can help in booking prepaid taxis and train tickets. He booked my train ticket to and from Bodh Gaya in a matter of minutes, so I didnt have to go through the hassle of waiting at the train station for it! All in all, my experience at the Hotel Tara Palace was enjoyable, and I would definitely look into staying there again if I am ever back in Delhi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

chandni chowk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis MO
Mar 13, 2011

Great place to stay

The Tara Palace Hotel is a clean, bright, well-furnished and friendly place to stay with good food, attentive staff and a great roof deck. It offers an immediate immersion into the authentic Old Delhi for new arrivals and the location is preferable to the tout-ridden neighborhood on the opposite side of the train station. Chandni Chowk will surprise newcomers with stimuation both good and not-so-good, but never did I fear for my safety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mbauch
Business
chicago
Dec 3, 2010

Incredible stay

It was a pleasure to stay here. The staff were friendly and have done more to make your stay superb. They arrange a quick cars meaning you never had to wait more than 15 minutes. Incredible breakfast, high quality continental buffet with hot breakfast cooked to perfection to order. Free internet available in the rooms . Rooms very comfortable, spotlessly clean and cleaned daily. Great shower. Very relaxing.Hotel travel desk help us to make my flight and rail tickets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minute walk to Red Fort and Mosque.Free airport transfer offer highly advised as the hotel is not easy to find without guidance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wig
Business
SE England
Oct 21, 2010

Tara Palace Hotel Delhi

This is well-situated for Old Delhi sights. the rooms are clean but the shower is basic and there was no hot water. Service was friendly and helpful but the surrounding area is very grim - eating out is impossible anywhere near and the hotel restaurant serves only vegetarian food albeit VERY good and cheap. Transport is difficult as the rickshaw drivers motor and pedal have little English. the surrounding area is very dirty with people sleeping in the street and one's idea of a Dickensian slum - Ok to visit for a while but horrible to come out into in the evening. I would not bring my family here though it was Ok for myself and my colleague who were combining a business trip with some sightseeing in Delhi. I would recommend only to a friend who wanted to get away from the bland international hotels and see a bit more of the real urban India and could tolerate slums around a clean and well-run hotel. Also I would not recommend this to anyone travelling alone. The arrival of transvestite beggars shouting at the locals for money was frightening. Free car to the hotel but of the lowest quality and seemed to be on the verge of breaking down - fuelled by a gas cannister in the boot. Don't be put off, but be prepared for a culture shock. A beer on the roof in the evening was wonderful - the locals preparing their meals on neighbouring houses and a view of the Red Fort in the soft heat, but.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many cheap shops in neighbouring streets - souvenirs at least half the price of tourist shops and good clothes cheap IF you can brave the street which is crowded and has people sleeping on it in the evening. Very crowded dirty area but undeniably characteristic and memorable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wig
Business
SE England
Oct 21, 2010

Tara Palace Hotel Delhi

This is well-situated for Old Delhi sights. the rooms are clean but the shower is basic and there was no hot water. Service was friendly and helpful but the surrounding area is very grim - eating out is impossible anywhere near and the hotel restaurant serves only vegetarian food albeit VERY good and cheap. Transport is difficult as the rickshaw drivers motor and pedal have little English. the surrounding area is very dirty with people sleeping in the street and one's idea of a Dickensian slum - Ok to visit for a while but horrible to come out into in the evening. I would not bring my family here though it was Ok for myself and my colleague who were combining a business trip with some sightseeing in Delhi. I would recommend only to a friend who wanted to get away from the bland international hotels and see a bit more of the real urban India and could tolerate slums around a clean and well-run hotel. Also I would not recommend this to anyone travelling alone. The arrival of transvestite beggars shouting at the locals for money was frightening. Free car to the hotel but of the lowest quality and seemed to be on the verge of breaking down - fuelled by a gas cannister in the boot. Don't be put off, but be prepared for a culture shock. A beer on the roof in the evening was wonderful - the locals preparing their meals on neighbouring houses and a view of the Red Fort in the soft heat, but.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many cheap shops in neighbouring streets - souvenirs at least half the price of tourist shops and good clothes cheap IF you can brave the street which is crowded and has people sleeping on it in the evening. Very crowded dirty area but undeniably characteristic and memorable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Llanelli
Oct 11, 2010

Disappointing and misleading

When you see the picture on the web-site you expect a fairly good hotel, however, it is located down an alley on the outskirts of a dubious area. We were collected from the airport in a beat up car that was one trip away from the junk yard. The hotel has a policy of no refunds which means that if you do not like it you have lost your money. If anyone decides to stay here, then I would book one night to see for yourself, at least then you would not loose your money if you decide to make alternative arrangements like we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top