$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

4 stars
Grettisgata 43, Reykjavik, 101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
7 reviews
A good choice

There's no staff, but this place is perfect so long as you don't need your hand held. It's... See full review

  • manga adaptation
  • May 4, 2014
Nice experience, in general

Very nice room, GREAT location. The hotel does not have full-time staff on duty. Although this... See full review

  • ItsAllAboutMe
  • Jul 3, 2013
Grettisgata Apartmetns is a unique apartment hotel, right in the heart of Reykjavik. The house is an old townhouse divided down into studios and one bedroom apartments. The apartments are modern and stylish but comfort and practicality are keywords in Grettisgata Apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Maid service and towel change every other day. Linen change every 6th day. Free telephone for local calls, free internet connection. Free use of a computer in the lobby. Please contact the hotel in order to get a door code for the front door and other useful information. Please send them an email to grettisgata@stay.is.

Hotel Map

64.1436 -21.9224
Area served
Reykjavik.
Nearby airports
Reykjavk (RKV) 1.8 km, Keflavik (KEF) 37.5 km.
Area description
There are many nearby local attractions such as Laugarvegur (main shopping street), Kringlan Shopping Mall, Hallgrimskirkja Church, Geothermal swimming pool and spas, Botanical Garden and Farm Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik Rooms

1 BR Apartment
One bedroom apartment with a twin/double bed and a sofa bed in the living room. Bathroom and a kithcen. Free wireless internet. Towel change every other day, linen change every 6th. day. Free telephone for local calls.
Double / Twin Studio
Double/twin beds. Bathroom and a ktichenette. Free wireless internet. Towel change every other day. Linen change every 6th day. Free telephone for local calls.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.2 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.3 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.5 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.6 mi
  • Laugavegur: 0.7 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • West Iceland: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 0.9 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 0.9 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 1 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.4 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.2 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.3 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.5 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.6 mi
  • Laugavegur: 0.7 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • West Iceland: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 0.9 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 0.9 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 1 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.4 mi
  • Reykjavík University: 1.6 mi
  • Smáralind: 3.3 mi
  • Reykjavík City Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Vidistadatun Sculpture Park: 4.5 mi
  • Blue Lagoon Iceland: 24.3 mi
  • Longwave radio mast Hellissandur: 79.6 mi
  • The Family Fun Park & Zoo: 1,295 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manga adaptation
Butte, North Dakota
May 4, 2014

A good choice

There's no staff, but this place is perfect so long as you don't need your hand held. It's essentially an efficiency apartment, with appliances and other essentials. There's no real staff presence, although you can always call them. I arrived very late, but they provided me with the door code into the lobby, and left my room key for me. Checkout consisted of locking my room door and dropping the key in a lockbox. It's less than 5min walk to one of the main shopping streets in Reykjavik, and from there another 5min to be downtown. The major bus services in Iceland offer free dropoffs from Keflavik International straight to your door, but if you feel like a walk, its about 15min from the Reykjavik bus terminal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ItsAllAboutMe
Denver, CO
Jul 3, 2013

Nice experience, in general

Very nice room, GREAT location. The hotel does not have full-time staff on duty. Although this helped keep the price low, it could have been helpful when we needed to confront a family in a neighboring room whose children were CONSTANTLY running around and making noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Black friday Canadian
Toronto, Canada
Jun 23, 2013

Keep Looking! Not your best option! :(

LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THE PHOTOS ON THE WEBSITE! If you don't mind the self-serve concept, and just need basic accomodation, you may be interested, like couch surfing with guest who is never home.Expect NO FRILLS! (toothbrush?SHOWER GEL?SHAMPOO?# Location is a blessing/curse, walking distance to restaurants and shopping, but could hear noise from suite above AND everyone walking by or hanging out outside!For what I've spent #AND CHEAPER#, I've had much better rooms,service, and experiences. :#

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeC.
New York
May 21, 2013

Great value in Reykjavik

Perfect location, one block from the shopping street. Very helpful staff, as well. Clean beds, stove, refrigerator, everything need for your stay. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks, Mike

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Metzme
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 31, 2013

Highly Recommended

We were a group of three. It is an apartment, similar to another place we stayed in the city. When we arrived, we phoned on the intercom, and though the "lobby" isn't staffed, the directions were very clear, we got the key and found our way to our apartment. Good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store close by. Cook your own breakfast and prepare your own lunch (and dinner) if you like.

Review of Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prettylilvirus
Dublin, Ireland
Mar 13, 2013

Great location

Great location and great value for Reykjavik. Only issue we had was the duvets provided were very light and there were no extra blankets. You could just leave the heater on but we woke up too hot. No other issues at all. Wifi worked ok and our towels were changed on the second day of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Svarta Kaffi just around the corner on the main street. They do awesome soup served in a bowl of bread.

Review of Grettisgata Apartments Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying frog
Business
London, UK
Jun 11, 2012

Great location

Very easy to book. No hidden prices or surprises:) Reasonably clean although it was difficult to get rid of cigarette smoke (even though it says the rooms are non-smoking)... The key collection procedure was not very clear but staff on the phone were very helpful. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top