$244 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Grand Hotel Reykjavik

4 stars
Sigtun 38, Reykjavik, 105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
8 reviews
Trip to Eve FanFest

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights while attending Eve FanFest. It's a bit of a walk to city center... See full review

  • Eve Fanfest Attendee
  • May 6, 2014
the right choice

we had 3 nights in the Grand and it was brilliant, staff all helpful and easy to talk to, breakfast... See full review

  • trucker wench
  • Jan 25, 2014
Conference hotel with posh amenities in the Iceland capital

Whether on leisure or corporate trips, travelers in Reykjavik find ideal base in the stylish spaces and top-top-notch amenities of Grand Hotel Reykjavik. This conference hotel features fully equipped meeting rooms, large conference halls, flexible banquet hall and boardrooms with panoramic views of the city that can host 470 people. Grand Restaurant on site serves delectable international favorites and Icelandic seafood delights. Grand Hotel also offers full-service Reykjavik Spa and fitness center. 

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Close to Laugardaslaug swimming pool complex
  • Full-service spa
  • 15 meeting/conference rooms
Grand Hotel Reykjavik Rooms

Rooms at Grand Hotel Reykjavik are spacious and designed in modern Scandinavian fashion. The elegant rooms and suites are well-equipped with en-suite bathroom with a bath and shower, satellite TV, coffee/tea maker and Wi-Fi access. Suites offer city view. 

Things To Do
  • Nautholsvik Thermal Beach (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Hallgrimskirkja (0.2 mi/0.3 km)               
  • Reykjavik Cathedral (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Laugardalsvollur National Stadium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Grasagardur Botanical Garden (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Reykjavik Zoo and Family Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • National Theatre of Iceland (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Reykjavik Art Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Kringlan Shopping Mall (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The Saga Museum (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Sundhollin (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Grand Hotel Reykjavik Rooms

Superior Atrium
Superior Atrium rooms provide an entertaining view into the lobby at Grand Hotel. The rooms are located in both the newly refurbished original wing and within the 1st and 5th floor of the Tower. Aside from a personal outlook into the social hub of the hotel, guests can enjoy either a large king sized bed or 2 double beds to relax after a long day in Reykjavik.
Family/Triple Room
These rooms are perfect for families traveling with children or small groups. These rooms provide spacious accommodations of 30m2 to 36m2 and are equipped with either three double beds or two double beds with a sleeper couch. As well as having extra space for additional guests, these rooms offer a great value and all amenities expected from a four star hotel.
Superior Rooms
Our superior hotel rooms are a comfortable 23 m2 and 27,5 m2, available with two twin beds or a queen sized bed. Located within the 1st - 5th floors, in the recently renovated wing of the hotel and the tower. These rooms are furnished in a modern Scandinavian fashion, fitted with a flat screen television, a fully stocked mini-bar, desk, and a combination shower/bathtub.
Executive View Room
Executive view hotel rooms at Grand Hotel Reykjavik are a comfortable 26 - 27,5 m2. Rooms are decorated and furnished in a modern Scandinavian fashion and have an excellent view either over the colorful rooftops throughout the city of Reykjavik or the magnificent Mount Esja. Upgraded amenities include a guaranteed 6th floor or higher room, free Wifi access and Paytv movies.
Junior Suite
There is no better way to take in the beautiful Reykjavk scenery than in a magnificent Junior Suite. Fitted with a spacious seating area, guests can sit back relax and either view the magnificence of Mount Esja or take in the spectacle of lights over the city . All suites also include a soothing whirlpool bathtub and a separate shower, as well as bathrobes and slippers. Relax in front of a flat screen t.v. or surf online with complimentary wireless internet. Also, included in our Junior Suites are free entrances to our Gym and Spa, as well as a complimentary breakfast delivery to your room on request.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Reykjavik also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

64.1425 -21.8912
Area served
Reykjavik
Nearby airports
Reykjavk Airport (RKV)
Area description
The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centres.

Nearby points of interest

  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Laugavegur: 0.3 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kringlan: 0.9 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 1.1 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 1.2 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 1.3 mi
  • West Iceland: 1.4 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 1.5 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum: 1.7 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 1.8 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 1.8 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Laugavegur: 0.3 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kringlan: 0.9 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 1.1 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 1.2 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 1.3 mi
  • West Iceland: 1.4 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 1.5 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum: 1.7 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 1.8 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 1.8 mi
  • Reykjavík University: 1.9 mi
  • Reykjavík City Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Smáralind: 3 mi
  • Vidistadatun Sculpture Park: 4.8 mi
  • Blue Lagoon Iceland: 24.8 mi
  • Longwave radio mast Hellissandur: 80.4 mi
  • The Family Fun Park & Zoo: 1,294.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert
Not Provided
Mar 28, 2010

A modern comfortable hotel - but

A modern comfortable hotel - but about 20 mins walk from the city centre. Askur's Brasserie (near the Hilton Hotel) was good for meals, especially on Sunday evenings. Hotel had a happy hour between 5.00 and 6.00 each evening which was just as well! Otherwise £5.00+ for a pint. Staff very helpful. Good breakfast - even at 04.30. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eve Fanfest Attendee
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 6, 2014

Trip to Eve FanFest

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights while attending Eve FanFest. It's a bit of a walk to city center (took about 30 mins or so to hike to HARPA) but was a good way to see the city and scenery. I absolutely loved the hotel. Very comfortable room, excellent shower, great breakfast selection. Hotel staff was great and let me check in several hours ahead of normal times to catch up on sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fizzy Lizzie
Hampshire, UK
Mar 3, 2014

Perfect for a quick getaway

Was really only looking for a decent bed for the night, so was thrilled when this hotel popped up on my search. It definitely lived up to its 4* status, boasting an impressive atrium, bar and fancy restaurant - it was much more than the mere 'business hotel' that I was expecting. Our superior room was very nice, with all the usual facilities and the breakfast was great - lots of variety. The hotel is easy to reach and is within walking distance (perhaps about 30 mins) of the city centre, alternatively, it has a plentiful car park at no extra charge. The staff were extremely helpful and even rang a tour operator on my behalf when my pick-up was late. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return myself if/when I'm lucky enough to return to wonderful Reykjavik.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A great spot to catch the Northern Lights (though I shouldn't really share it!) in winter is at the end of the bay next to Grotta Lighthouse. Here you get a clear view without crowds of other people. Just dress up really warmly as the breeze from the sea is mighty chilly!

Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimmer259
New York, NY
Feb 27, 2014

Mini-break

The hotel was really nice - excellent breakfast! The staff was helpful, I just wish that it was a bit more centrally located to the city. We tried to experience the spa but it was fully booked - so make sure to make appointments in advance. Best Kim

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

* The hotel is a bit of a walk 20-25 min to city center and note that most all stores close by 5pm.

Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amyduke
Vernon, CT
Feb 26, 2014

Great Place!

I spent a 2 day layover period at the Grand Hotel and I'm glad I did! The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was professional, friendly and accommodating. There is a restaurant in the hotel which is a bit pricey but very good. They also offer a limited room service menu. They offer what would basically be a happy hour menu in the atrium of the hotel prior to the restaurant opening for dinner. They also offer a buffet lunch as well as complimentary breakfast which was a big plus. Tours pick up right from this hotel which was very convenient and they also book tours if needed. The one con of this hotel is that it's a bit further away from the city center but in warmer months, it would be a comfortable walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italio
London
Feb 11, 2014

Great hotel

We had a good time at this hotel. The staff were gay friendly and helpful even when we arrived at 2.00 am. The room was clean and comfortable. Only gripe would be that the double bed had two single duvets. The breakfast was what you would expect from a 4 star hotel although it also had an organic section which was unusual. The hotel is about a twenty minute walk from the centre which we liked. Amazingly we saw the northern lights from the hotel car park on our return from dinner. What an end to a lovely trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trucker wench
aberdeenshire
Jan 25, 2014

the right choice

we had 3 nights in the Grand and it was brilliant, staff all helpful and easy to talk to, breakfast was good, plenty to choose from, had 1 evening meal (the duck was lovely, cooked to perfection) room was clean and very spacious, warm, reception staff organised our tours when we asked too, all in all a perfect hotel for our stay, thanks to all at the Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Milly's dad
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Oct 16, 2013

Quiet location

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Grand whilst in Reykjavik hoping to find the illusive Northern Lights which, unfortunately, we did not get to see. The room we had was very comfortable, though the lighting was rather dim. We were not in the new tower and had an atrium room that overlooked the back of the hotel with views of the town and mountains beyond. The staff were very helpful in assisting us with travel and tour arrangements and spoke good English. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which was excellent with plenty of choice, including organic. We had an evening meal in the hotel which was of a haute cuisine level and rather pricey compared to eating out in town. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It's cheaper to search out a restaurant in Reykjavik town to eat as the hotel is pricey and you don't get much to eat for your money!

Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iceman12
Washington, DC
Sep 11, 2012

Good First Time Reykjavik Stay

Hotel in quiet area away from downtown, which is about 5 minutes by car. Spacious, impressive lobby with friendly, helpful reception staff. Room located on 4th floor in old hotel section (versus newer tower area). Upon entering room, one nightstand light bulb was out & was never replaced. The TV didn't turn on at times & occasionally channels would suddenly cut to black. Out of two heaters in room, one was completely inoperable, while the other's dial would only turn up halfway. While showering, water oscillates between hot & cold & doesn't stay at constant temperature. Kleenex box in bathroom was not replenished. These flaws should have been fixed by hotel staff before guests were booked into the room. The furnishings although clean seemed dated with lots of wear and tear. A bit of a disappointment in the bathroom: all-in-one soap/shampoo/body wash lotion dispensers instead of individual soap bars, shampoo bottles, etc. These dispensers were at first hard to spot. Aside from these negatives, the beds were comfortable; the room air was fresh & clean. The best feature of the hotel was the free breakfast buffet: the culinary offers were extensive, including eggs, sausage, bacon, baked beans, miso soup, fruit, cereal, fresh vegetables, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, breads, juices, coffee, tea. Staying here was a good initial, affordable hotel stay for our first time in Iceland. For our next trip to Iceland we will try other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

During week, cheap, late night dining options are limited in Reykjavik except for Hlolla Batar in Ingolfstorg Square, near the harbor. It's Iceland's local sub shop with other locations around the country. Their subs are excellent & grilled hot. This location is opened till 2 am weekdays and 7 am weekends.

Back to menu Return to top