$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

3 stars
Baronsstigur 2, Reykjavik, 101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
20 reviews
One night in Reykjavik

Kinda of a pain to lug suitcases up the few steps in middle of the hallways, but the comfy bed made... See full review

  • HeatherMR
  • Dec 6, 2014
Nice place

We liked the hotel. Room was quite large with nice balcony. It is not new, but still charming.... See full review

  • TobyO
  • May 26, 2014
A few meters from main street Laugavegur and beautiful seashore & mountain view are in front, a convenience store is located beside. The hotel has an elevator, free parking, free internet station at lobby, wireless internet at lobby and rooms with cost, and great value of scandinavian style breakfast buffet is included in room price. All guestrooms and facilities are non-smoking. Airport shuttle bus has pick up/drop off service at Fosshotel Baron with cost.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed FossHotel Baron Reykjavik also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

FossHotel Baron Reykjavik Rooms

Standard Single
Room offers 1 single bed with cable/satellite TV, color TV, heating, Internet access with cost, laundry service, non smoking rooms, radio, safe in room, telephone.
Standard Double
Room offers twin or double bed(s) with cable/satellite TV, color TV, heating, Internet access with cost, laundry service, non smoking rooms, radio, safe in room, telephone.
Standard Triple
Room offers twin or double bed(s) and extra bed with cable/satellite TV, color TV, heating, Internet access with cost, laundry service, non smoking rooms, radio, safe in room, telephone.
2 BR Apartment
There are 14 hotel apartments with one or two bedrooms, all equipped with simple cooking facilities. They are comfortable and fully furnished and are perfect for families on holidays, couples, group of friends that are visiting Reykjavik. The apartments at Fosshotel Baron are situated in the center of Reykjavk city. Apartments size 38-45 m2, Single / twin beds, Shower/ WC, Satellite TV, Phone, Radio, Security box, Sofa, Kitchen table and chairs Kitchenette with hotplates and refridgerator.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.3 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.5 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.5 mi
  • Laugavegur: 0.6 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.7 mi
  • West Iceland: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 1 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 1 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.4 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.3 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.5 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.5 mi
  • Laugavegur: 0.6 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.7 mi
  • West Iceland: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 1 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 1 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.4 mi
  • Reykjavík University: 1.8 mi
  • Smáralind: 3.3 mi
  • Reykjavík City Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Vidistadatun Sculpture Park: 4.7 mi
  • Blue Lagoon Iceland: 24.4 mi
  • Longwave radio mast Hellissandur: 79.6 mi
  • The Family Fun Park & Zoo: 1,294.8 mi

Dining

Hotel Bar
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails, wine, coffee, and mineral waters.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeatherMR
Business
Seattle, Washington
Dec 6, 2014

One night in Reykjavik

Kinda of a pain to lug suitcases up the few steps in middle of the hallways, but the comfy bed made up for it. The room was small and had no view, but I was looking for a comfy, clean and safe place to stay. The staff was super friendly. When I go back to Iceland I would consider staying heer again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TobyO
Business
Anchorage, AK
May 26, 2014

Nice place

We liked the hotel. Room was quite large with nice balcony. It is not new, but still charming. Great breakfast and service. Good location to downtown shopping and waterfront. We used it as a base for a quick weekend trip to Reykjavik . It provided easy highway access to get out and about. It is not a USA business hotel, but a fine place in a more European small-hotel tradition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jfk247
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Feb 13, 2014

Good Value, Great Location

This hotel is right where we wanted it. Perfect base for our Icelandic adventure. The breakfast buffet each morning set us up for the day and we made sure we had our fill which kept us going till lunch time. The staff were very friendly and helped us when we needed to book our trip to the Blue Lagoon and there was no issues when we told them we wanted to go in the next 2 hours!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure and avail of the Happy Hours that the majority of the bars have going. You'll save a fair few krona that way!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beachbimbo
Business
Louisville, Co
Oct 7, 2013

Centrally located

Hotel was fine--young man at front desk was particulary helpful when we needed a medical clinic. Breakfast buffet was good and included in rate. Shocked to find that the 'shuttle available' from airport to hotel was a $45 RT additional cost-- no public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CanuckMich
Business
Edinburgh
Aug 7, 2013

Thanks for the upgrade!

We stayed at the Foss Baron Hotel for a few days while on honeymoon. The hotel staff kindly upgraded us to a sea view room that was lovely. Thanks for that! We had a fantastic time in Iceland and the Foss Baron is a perfect base for Reykjavik and the surrounding area. We definitely want to come back and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissCory
Business
Dallas
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel for the money

Far enough off the main shopping roads to be quiet, yet close enough to walk to city centre and very good restaurants are within 3-5 minutes walk. Great car park, easy to find, great breakfast. Rooms just average - beds firm but comfortable. Ours were twin beds arranged dorm style, not geared for a romantic vacation, but perfectly fine if you are there to see the country, not just lounge around a hotel. Shower stall small, but my large husband managed to shower without trouble. Staff very helpful about directions, very friendly. We left the maid a tip on the first day and she didn't take it - service really is included in Iceland! We were there over Christmas, when almost everything in town is closed. We ate soup in the hotel bar Christmas Eve, and although I thought it was complimentary, it wasn't. Be prepared, all food is crazy expensive in Iceland - our soup was $9, but it was good enough to hold us til the next morning. If you are looking for a decent place to get a good night sleep and a great start to your day, this no-frills hotel is just the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHILNANCY
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 17, 2012

Foss

Good value, Very clean. Basic hotel for Icedland. Breakfast very good, staff corurteous. Great location for the value, can walk anywhere in the city but easy access to getting out. Tours agencies stop here for pickup.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Internet access cost $12 in your room , but in the lobby and dining room (they dont have dinner) you can use you own computer or theirs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Cat
Business
United States
Sep 5, 2012

Great Hotel

The price and location were great. The staff was wonderful. We had several questions re: planning some tours and where to eat and the staff went above and beyond to help us out. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FoCoPDXKyle
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Jul 29, 2012

good spot, okay hotel

the hotel was in a good spot with a good view but wasn't particularly special inside the rooms. still, it was a good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of FossHotel Baron Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WisconsinWomanTraveler
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 19, 2012

Nice, but a little expensive...

This hotel was nice, what you'd expect from a 3-star hotel -- nothing to write home about in terms of decor, etc., but the staff were extremely helpful. I will say that the breakfast area, for being the size of the hotel that it is, needs to be much larger. The breakfast itself was great, though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right behind the hotel there is a little food store that made snacks more affordable for me at the hotel. It was really nice to have there -- it is down some stairs in a little alcove.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top