$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

4 stars
View map of Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik, 101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
25 reviews
Getaway with friends

The perfect experience! Great breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable room - all in a hotel located... See full review

  • Regan Andre
  • Dec 7, 2014
Great central boutique hotel

Had a great time from the minute we arrived. Staff spoke very good English, recommended some great... See full review

  • Magsfen
  • Oct 28, 2013
Stylish accommodations in Reykjavik next to Laugavegur shopping street

CenterHotel Thingholt features boutique-style accommodations amidst bustling Reykjavik in Iceland. A former printing factory in 1943, the hotel was renovated to cater travellers exploring Iceland in a property exuding sleek Icelandic design. From the Isafold meeting room equipped with state-of-the-art conference facilities, guests have a breath of fresh air at the outdoor patio of the conference room.

The hotel also ushers travellers to a myriad of leisure and dining options. Vacationers enjoy delectable Icelandic cuisines and few cocktails at Isafold Bistro in house or have relaxing moments while having a treatment at Isafold Spa. The fitness centre is also open for holidaymakers who want to work-out while on vacation. 

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Close to the Laugavegur shopping street
  • Stylish meeting room featuring an outdoor patio
  • Access to Isafold Spa and Gym on site

CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik Rooms

The sleek Icelandic design of guestrooms at CenterHotel Thingholt presents a cool vibe with the black and white color palette of the furnishings and the interior. The deluxe rooms vary from having a white leather sofa or a bathtub, which is both offered in all junior and loft suites. Loft suites, meanwhile provides the most spacious accommodations consisting of two floors with the bedroom upstairs and the receiving area downstairs, each floors having its own LCD TV. Holidaymakers will find amenities like hairdryer, shower, safe deposit box, Internet access, LCD TV and mini bar available in all guestrooms.

Things To Do

  • Hallgrimskirkja (0 .4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harpa (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Icelandic Phallological Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Iceland (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Sun Voyager (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Perlan (1.7 mi/2.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik Rooms

Contemporary Room
All rooms have a private bathroom and are equipped with hairdryer, telephone, coffee & tea making facilities, mini-bar, free high-speed internet connection, safe and satellite TV.
Deluxe Room
All 50 rooms have a private bathroom and are equipped with hairdryer, telephone, coffee & tea making facilities, mini-bar, free high-speed internet connection, safe and satellite TV. In addition to the standard equipment, the Deluxe rooms have either a sofa inside the room or a bath tub.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.3 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.4 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.5 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 0.5 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 0.7 mi
  • West Iceland: 0.8 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Laugavegur: 1.1 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.8 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.3 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.4 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.5 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 0.5 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 0.7 mi
  • West Iceland: 0.8 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Laugavegur: 1.1 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.8 mi
  • Reykjavík University: 1.8 mi
  • Smáralind: 3.6 mi
  • Reykjavík City Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Vidistadatun Sculpture Park: 4.7 mi
  • Blue Lagoon Iceland: 24.2 mi
  • Longwave radio mast Hellissandur: 79.2 mi
  • The Family Fun Park & Zoo: 1,295.2 mi

Dining

Isafold Bistro - Bar & Spa
Isafold Bistro is a new and trendy restaurant located at Hotel Thingholt. The menu varies throughout the year to incorporate in-season products, making the delicious dishes served at Isafold as fresh as possible with local ingredients. The bar area offers the opportunity to relax with a drink or two from an impressive selection of cocktails, wines and spirits either before or after dinner. One of Isafold's main speciality is it's vicinity to the Isafold SPA - and meeting room that offers our guests the opportunity to combine quality cuisine and wellness at the same venue and if requested at the same time in private parties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 25
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sian O.
Business
N/A
Feb 25, 2015

Great location, lovely staff, amazing rooms

After reading other reviews from others that it was a good idea to request a quiet room that's exactly what we did. Our room was on the 4th floor which was lovley, very clean and spacious with plenty of room for our stuff. It didn't bother us that the bathrooms are housed in opaque glass, the shower is amazing with the option of a rain or power shower. The only thing we missed was that there was no coat hook unless you hang your coats in the wardrobe which we didn't want to do after they'd gotten soggy in the snow. The staff in the hotel could not be more helpful or informative. There is nothing they won't do for you. The hotel is in the perfect location too just a short walk from the tower where you can see the most amazing views of reykjavik, it's a few minutes walk from the harbour with bars and restaurants all around and on nights you don't fancy eating out staff are happy to order in for you. The breakfast in the hotel was what you would expect for a continental breakfast with a variety of hot or cold food, fresh fruit and pastries. The coffee was amazing. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but the food smelt delicious. On our last night my boyfriend treated us to an upgrade as a surprise. The room was 214 and wow. The bath next to the bed was a nice romantic surprise but was also the perfect way to warm up after being out in Sunday's blizzard. We didn't use the spa because it was an extra €25 each. I personally don't think you should be charged to use the spa but it looked very nice. Overall center hotel thinghołt is a lovely boutique hotel. The location is great and I would defiantly stay here again and recomend it to anyone thinking of going to Iceland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colin T.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

4 night break

Visited the hotel with my girlfriend in January for 4 nights. Awesome location, good price, the relaxation pool was great but steam room was a bit scruffy. Breakfast was good. Staff were on the whole friendly and helpful but one girl let the side down, seemed dis-interested and was pretty abrupt and almost rude on occasion. Standard room was nice. Airy and modern with good tv, heating and was cleaned well everyday. Would definitely reccomend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the laundromat in Rejkyavik centre. Casual comfort food in a relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew W.
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

Fantastic trip

Hotel was well located. clean and breakfasts were good. Room was however a bit small. Staff were always helpful and very curteous. Room was fine but downstairs lounge was quite cold in the evenings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katedhs
Business
UK
Dec 23, 2014

Brilliant location

Comfortable, stylish base in a brillian spot for exploring the city. The team couldn't do enough for us either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VonBaron
Business
London
Mar 6, 2014

Great central location, but can be noisy

We stayed here for 3 days and it was great. The slighly more expensive rooms are big & comfy and there is a lot of space. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The free wifi was good, but didn't use the spa. Some friends also stayed here at the same time, but had a problem with noise from the street one evening and got very little sleep, so I think this depends on what room you get. However the location is great (right in the heart of the city) and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magsfen
Business
Glasgow
Oct 28, 2013

Great central boutique hotel

Had a great time from the minute we arrived. Staff spoke very good English, recommended some great restaurants locally. Breakfast was everything you needed and rooms very clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MLEUD
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2013

Great boutique hotel!

I really enjoyed this hotel! We stayed here on our last night in Iceland after traveling in the country side. The lady at the front desk, Clara, was very friendly and helpful. She even booked a Northern Lights tour for us last minute with one of the tour companies. This hotel is about 1/3 of a block off the main shopping and partying street, so it might get loud on Friday and Saturday nights. We had a great view of the harbor from the 4th floor though. The hotel room was beautiful, but small by American standards so don't expect a huge room! The included breakfast was great and they had real coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A block east and one south is a supermarket called Bonus. It's the cheapest grocery store in Iceland. Get the animal shaped chocolates from the bulk candy section. The milk chocos have caramel inside and the dark chocos have liquid black licorice inside. Sounds weird but it's really good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arch18
Business
Montreal, Quebec
Sep 9, 2013

Great hotel

It was a great hotel, great location. Very much worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AdamDJB
Business
New York
May 5, 2013

Nice hotel

I stayed here for two nights and liked the hotel. The room was really nice and we enjoyed the hotel breakfast. Our only complaint was that the room was fairly dark and there could have been more lights. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I visit Iceland again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJB Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 3, 2012

Great location in an amazing city

Hotel is perfectly situated and offers a funky, modern Icelandic vibe. The standard room is quite small, but clean and functional. The only downside to our stay was we booked the room the night before our arrival to ensure the room would be available for a very early check in. Unfortunately, the room was not ready immediately upon our arrival, but we were still charged. This was frustrating because we were quite tired and we had called the day before to ensure the room would be available. Otherwise, no complaints - pleasant staff, clean room, and quiet hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dinner at Austur India, a fantastic Indian restaurant several blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top