$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

4 stars
Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik, 101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
19 reviews
Great central boutique hotel

Had a great time from the minute we arrived. Staff spoke very good English, recommended some great... See full review

  • Magsfen
  • Oct 28, 2013
Great boutique hotel!

I really enjoyed this hotel! We stayed here on our last night in Iceland after traveling in the... See full review

  • MLEUD
  • Sep 21, 2013
The hotel is a Design/Boutique hotel with a strong focus on quality modern design, inspired by Icelandic nature, to give you modern conveniences in comfortable surroundings. Stylish bars, cafs, restaurants, museums and shops are at your fingertips when staying at CenterHotel Thingholt. The building, which originally accommodated the safold printing factory from 1943, has now been turned into a Design/Boutique hotel and is a great example of Icelandic contemporary design.

CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik Rooms

Contemporary Room
All rooms have a private bathroom and are equipped with hairdryer, telephone, coffee & tea making facilities, mini-bar, free high-speed internet connection, safe and satellite TV.
Deluxe Room
All 50 rooms have a private bathroom and are equipped with hairdryer, telephone, coffee & tea making facilities, mini-bar, free high-speed internet connection, safe and satellite TV. In addition to the standard equipment, the Deluxe rooms have either a sofa inside the room or a bath tub.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

64.1465 -21.9342
Area served
Reykjavik.
Nearby airports
Reykjavk (RKV) 1.8 km, Keflavik (KEF) 37.1 km.
Area description
CenterHotel Thingholt is located at ingholtsstrati 3-5, next to Reykjavik's main shopping street, Laugavegur.

Nearby points of interest

  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.3 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.4 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.5 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 0.5 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 0.7 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Laugavegur: 1.1 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.8 mi
  • Reykjavík University: 1.8 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.3 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.4 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.5 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 0.5 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 0.7 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Laugavegur: 1.1 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.8 mi
  • Reykjavík University: 1.8 mi
  • Smáralind: 3.6 mi
  • Reykjavík City Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Vidistadatun Sculpture Park: 4.7 mi
  • Blue Lagoon Iceland: 24.2 mi
  • Longwave radio mast Hellissandur: 79.2 mi
  • The Family Fun Park & Zoo: 1,295.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Overall score

4.4 / 5
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
Magsfen
Glasgow
Oct 28, 2013

Great central boutique hotel

Had a great time from the minute we arrived. Staff spoke very good English, recommended some great restaurants locally. Breakfast was everything you needed and rooms very clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants.

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
MLEUD
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2013

Great boutique hotel!

I really enjoyed this hotel! We stayed here on our last night in Iceland after traveling in the country side. The lady at the front desk, Clara, was very friendly and helpful. She even booked a Northern Lights tour for us last minute with one of the tour companies. This hotel is about 1/3 of a block off the main shopping and partying street, so it might get loud on Friday and Saturday nights. We had a great view of the harbor from the 4th floor though. The hotel room was beautiful, but small by American standards so don't expect a huge room! The included breakfast was great and they had real coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A block east and one south is a supermarket called Bonus. It's the cheapest grocery store in Iceland. Get the animal shaped chocolates from the bulk candy section. The milk chocos have caramel inside and the dark chocos have liquid black licorice inside. Sounds weird but it's really good!

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
New Yorker World Traveler
New York, NY
Aug 20, 2009

Sleek modern hotel at center of action

Hotel is situated 1/2 block from the main shopping street and bars/restaurants. Hotel itself is modern and upscale (W Hotel feel). One of the staff, [...], was especially delightful and helpful. We definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
Arch18
Montreal, Quebec
Sep 9, 2013

Great hotel

It was a great hotel, great location. Very much worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
Thimbleanna
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Jun 5, 2013

Wonderful Hotel

We stayed in Center Hotel Thingholt for two nights at the end of May. We were originally scheduled for three nights and due to airline problems didn't arrive in time for our first night's reservation. I emailed the hotel from the airport where we were stranded and they refunded our first night's stay. That's great customer service! This hotel location is perfect -- at the end of the main shopping area. All the main attractions are within walking distance. We were there on Friday and Saturday night. The partying was crazy on Saturday night and we had a little difficulty sleeping, but I think that is expected from any hotel in the area. The hotel staff were great and the breakfast was the best of any hotel we stayed at in Iceland. Very, Very Highly Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you plan to stay anywhere in the old downtown area on a Saturday night -- bring ear plugs!

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
gagagary
Brighton, England
Nov 14, 2011

Wonderful Place

Satyed there for my birthday, lovely rooms, clean and comfortable. Warm and luxurious with helpful staff and real class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
JASS
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 7, 2011

What a nice hotel in Reykjavik!

A very modern and comfort hotel located in the main street of Reykjavik! The staffs...superb! They also have a Mac placed in the hall for guests...and it's free! It may save your day when you need to check something in a urgent! Great atmosphere and clearness can be found in the room, the interior is very Icelandic styled. The breakfast included is higher than standard compared to others. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to shops, restaurants, and domestic airport (by taxi or walk)!

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
GAJ
Rumson, NJ
Mar 7, 2010

Bang for the Buck!

I have been to Reykjavik on two occasions (single then couple) in the past month and stay at the same hotel. The rooms are quite new and contemporary. The deluxe rooms have more than enough space for a couple. Since I had business to conduct, the desk and free Internet were helpful. The standard rooms are large enough for a single person if your plan is to spend most of your time outside the room. I have traveled to over 100 countries and what this hotel offers for $60-$70 is outstanding value. The staff was amazingly helpful on both occassions and provided all the assistance you would expect. The location could not be better as EVERYWHERE in the center is less than ten minutes from the front door. In fact, five minutes was the longest we walked. The minibar was weak, but just as well as there is a liquor store and 24/7 supermarket a five minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just ask the folks at the front desk. Reykjavik is small enough, you will find it all in a weekend.

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
Anita W
Virginia Beach, Va
May 24, 2013

Great location!

Nice hotel with a great location. Friendly, helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the church for good views!

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
VonBaron
London
Mar 6, 2014

Great central location, but can be noisy

We stayed here for 3 days and it was great. The slighly more expensive rooms are big & comfy and there is a lot of space. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The free wifi was good, but didn't use the spa. Some friends also stayed here at the same time, but had a problem with noise from the street one evening and got very little sleep, so I think this depends on what room you get. However the location is great (right in the heart of the city) and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top