$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

4 stars
View map of Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik, 101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VonBaron
Business
London
Mar 6, 2014

Great central location, but can be noisy

We stayed here for 3 days and it was great. The slighly more expensive rooms are big & comfy and there is a lot of space. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The free wifi was good, but didn't use the spa. Some friends also stayed here at the same time, but had a problem with noise from the street one evening and got very little sleep, so I think this depends on what room you get. However the location is great (right in the heart of the city) and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rivondale
Business
Comber, Ireland
Jan 3, 2014

Great location

The hotel was in the centre of Reykjavik on the main shopping street. Room was modern but might be worth upgrading from standard room. Also across the road from a noisy bar however this did not spoil our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On the main shopping street, Laugavegur.

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magsfen
Business
Glasgow
Oct 28, 2013

Great central boutique hotel

Had a great time from the minute we arrived. Staff spoke very good English, recommended some great restaurants locally. Breakfast was everything you needed and rooms very clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants.

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MLEUD
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2013

Great boutique hotel!

I really enjoyed this hotel! We stayed here on our last night in Iceland after traveling in the country side. The lady at the front desk, Clara, was very friendly and helpful. She even booked a Northern Lights tour for us last minute with one of the tour companies. This hotel is about 1/3 of a block off the main shopping and partying street, so it might get loud on Friday and Saturday nights. We had a great view of the harbor from the 4th floor though. The hotel room was beautiful, but small by American standards so don't expect a huge room! The included breakfast was great and they had real coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A block east and one south is a supermarket called Bonus. It's the cheapest grocery store in Iceland. Get the animal shaped chocolates from the bulk candy section. The milk chocos have caramel inside and the dark chocos have liquid black licorice inside. Sounds weird but it's really good!

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arch18
Business
Montreal, Quebec
Sep 9, 2013

Great hotel

It was a great hotel, great location. Very much worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Archie
Business
Aberdeen
Jun 12, 2013

Perfect Short Break

The hotel is perfectly located just off the main street in Reykjavik. Everything is a matter of minutes walk away and is handy for the many tours of the island. The hotel is well designed, very modern and very comfortable. Breakfasts are to be recommended. The lounge/bar area is perfect to relax and unwind. The staff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thimbleanna
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Jun 5, 2013

Wonderful Hotel

We stayed in Center Hotel Thingholt for two nights at the end of May. We were originally scheduled for three nights and due to airline problems didn't arrive in time for our first night's reservation. I emailed the hotel from the airport where we were stranded and they refunded our first night's stay. That's great customer service! This hotel location is perfect -- at the end of the main shopping area. All the main attractions are within walking distance. We were there on Friday and Saturday night. The partying was crazy on Saturday night and we had a little difficulty sleeping, but I think that is expected from any hotel in the area. The hotel staff were great and the breakfast was the best of any hotel we stayed at in Iceland. Very, Very Highly Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you plan to stay anywhere in the old downtown area on a Saturday night -- bring ear plugs!

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cameron Blyth
Business
Stavanger
May 25, 2013

Good hotel with drawback

Stayed there for three nights. First night my room was on the west side facing a disco which was about 80m away. Didn't get much sleep because of all the noise. Band didn't stop playing until 4:30am. Staff were able to put me in a room on the other side for my remaining time. This was quiet even though the disco was open again. In the process my room was upgraded at no extra charge. Very well located in the center of town. Staff friendly. Comfortable rooms. Breakfast room a bit ordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anita W
Business
Virginia Beach, Va
May 24, 2013

Great location!

Nice hotel with a great location. Friendly, helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the church for good views!

Review of CenterHotel Thingholt Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AdamDJB
Business
New York
May 5, 2013

Nice hotel

I stayed here for two nights and liked the hotel. The room was really nice and we enjoyed the hotel breakfast. Our only complaint was that the room was fairly dark and there could have been more lights. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I visit Iceland again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top