$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

4 stars
View map of Ingolfsstrti 1, Reykjavik, 101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weezer girl
Friends
pa
Oct 19, 2014

iceland ytip

Great location . Typical European small room and bath. Quiet street. Desk staff very helpful with restaurant suggestions. Very little parking if you rent a car. Free street parking from 6pm to 8am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emibee
Couples
London
Oct 8, 2014

Value for money

Very well situated, with a stunning view of mountains (please request it when booking :)) just few minutes from the city centre. Shower cubicle could do with some glass cleaning (a bit of vinegar could do wonders to these water stains) but generally clean, comfortable with decent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sdwein
Couples
Brooklyn, New York
Sep 14, 2014

Convenient location in Reykjavik

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at CenterHotel Arnarhvoll -- convenient location and walking distance to everything. Clean but small rooms. Nice views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CO woman
Single
Estes Park, CO
Jul 6, 2014

73 year old woman traveling to Ice on my own.

The location is the very best, one can walk everywhere. Staff is very helpful. The lounge, bar, SKY, is lovely, but I was led to believe that it had a restaurant. It just has bar food, so one has to go elsewhere to find a full meal. I was very disconcerted to find how small the room was. It had no closet at all, no where to hang up clothes, just some shelves. I am used to American hotels with their big closets. I lived out of my suitcase for 5 days, I adjusted, but people should be warned. The view is outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street to the Harpa, one of the most beautiful buildings I have ever seen.

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Another NW Traveler
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jun 29, 2014

Good, not great

First of all, the location is perfect. It's on the waterfront on the edge of the downtown section. It's scenic but easy to get to and find parking. You can walk to just about anywhere you'd want to go. If that's what you want, read no farther. The rooms are good--clean and modern. They are small in typical European style, which is fine. The shower and the bathroom are one, though, so just about everything gets wet in the bathroom when you take a shower. Plus, you have to squeegee the bathroom floor after the shower so it will dry in a reasonable time. We stayed in small rooms elsewhere, but never had this issue. For the price, we expect more. Otherwise, there is a bar at the top of the hotel with nice views and a good breakfast (included). It doesn't serve dinner and it closes at 7pm anyway. There are really no other amenities to speak of: No exercise room, pool, etc. They do laundry, but it's cheaper to buy new clothes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RajanP
Single
Mountain View, California
Nov 6, 2013

Great location, outstanding service

The view across the bay and of the Esja mountain from the top floor restaurant at Centerhótel Arnarhvoll is the finest in Reykjavík. Take it all in during the buffet breakfast. This hotel is among the best value deals in the city. It is within a short walking distance of the centre. The staff is courteous and efficient. The rooms are comfortable. The shower area is badly designed causing water to splash around the entire bathroom. This is the only annoyance in what is otherwise a great place to stay in in Iceland's capital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElleMN
Single
Toronto
Sep 6, 2013

Reykjavik stopover

I stayed here for only one night, and chose it because of its proximity to the water. Room was clean and comfortable, fairly quiet, although Wifi was very spotty. Breakfast in the morning was great, with excellent views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jine
Couples
Chelmsford
Sep 2, 2013

Mr

The Hotel Room had all the basic facilities including a Fridge . Perhaps better if they had a cupboard Overall it was comfortable , well located close to shopping area friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Good seafood Restaurant

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orchid
Couples
Aylesbury UK
Aug 22, 2013

Long weekend

Very small rooms no cupboards or storage space room was very hot and uncomfortable will not book this again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noswello
Family
Boston, MA
Aug 2, 2013

Absolutely love Iceland

We had a great view. The location was close to everything. Staff was very helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. The spa is nice but it would be nicer if the hot spring continuously moved through water filter .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

To American travelers: carry a extra bag when shopping. It does not cost much but in the spirit of conservation shopping bags are not free in Iceland. I bought a sweater for over $200 but the bag was still not free.

Back to menu Return to top