$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

4 stars
Ingolfsstrti 1, Reykjavik, 101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
23 reviews
Casual, comfortable hotel with very friendly vibe

In our two visits to Reykjavik in 18 months we stayed at four hotels and this was our favorite.... See full review

  • Mike98664
  • Dec 4, 2014
Great location, outstanding service

The view across the bay and of the Esja mountain from the top floor restaurant at Centerhótel... See full review

  • RajanP
  • Nov 6, 2013
The hotel, right in the Reykjavik city center, boasts modern Scandinavian design, providing guests with a sophisticated and stylish environment. Excellent location, personal service and breathtaking view overlooking the Reykjavik bay and the mountain ridges beyond are just the beginning of what you can expect when staying in CenterHotel Arnarhvoll.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik Rooms

Standard Room
These comfortable rooms are furnished with a working desk with wired internet access, double or twin bed from and decorated in a Scandinavian contemporary design. Our Standard Rooms represent excellent value and simple high-quality comfort in a quality hotel. All rooms have tiled heated floors, seating area, feather duvets, internet access, minibar, flat screen TV, some rooms have bath tubs but most are equipped with walk-in showers. The maximum occupancy in a double room is 2 adults.
Deluxe Room
These comfortable rooms are furnished with a working desk with wired internet access, double or twin bed and decorated in a Scandinavian contemporary design. All our De Luxe Rooms are twin or double rooms facing the waterfront with its stunning views of the harbor and Mt. Esja. The maximum occupancy in a double room is 3 adults (1 person in extra bed). All rooms have tiled heated floors, seating area, feather duvets, internet access, minibar, flat screen TV, some rooms have bath tubs but most are equipped with walk-in showers.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.1 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.5 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.6 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 0.9 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • West Iceland: 1 mi
  • Laugavegur: 1 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.8 mi
  • National Theatre of Iceland: 0.1 mi
  • Reykjavík Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hallgrimskirkja: 0.5 mi
  • Landakot's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Skólavörðustígur: 0.6 mi
  • Fríkirkjan í Reykjavík: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National and University Library of Iceland: 0.9 mi
  • Iceland Academy of the Arts: 0.9 mi
  • West Iceland: 1 mi
  • Laugavegur: 1 mi
  • The Saga Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Nautholsvík Thermal Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Reykjavik City Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Kringlan: 1.8 mi
  • Reykjavík University: 2 mi
  • Smáralind: 3.7 mi
  • Reykjavík City Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Vidistadatun Sculpture Park: 4.9 mi
  • Blue Lagoon Iceland: 24.4 mi
  • Longwave radio mast Hellissandur: 79.2 mi
  • The Family Fun Park & Zoo: 1,295.1 mi

Dining

SKY Lounge & Bar
SKY Lounge & Bar located on the top floor of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll offers the perfect setting to enjoy a drink and a lite bite with the most spectacular view over to Harpa, the new Concert Hall and the beautiful mountain range beyond. At SKY we offer a wide variety of lite bites along with our feature cocktails, fine wines and whisky. We also have a wonderful three course group menus and do welcome groups for up to 80 guests. Happy hour is at the bar every day between 17:00 and 19:00.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spadeyo
Devon
Jun 3, 2013

Superb, great views and location

Fantastic value, great breakfast, clean, modern, location is great and loads of easy parking around. Staff very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hire a car (we used SadCars) it is so easy to drive there, cheaper than the bus tours if two of you and much more flexible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike98664
Business
Vancouver, Washington
Dec 4, 2014

Casual, comfortable hotel with very friendly vibe

In our two visits to Reykjavik in 18 months we stayed at four hotels and this was our favorite. It's across from the Harpa Concert Hall -- a must-see -- and just two blocks from the main shopping street. We spent a nice long evening enjoying the view, food and drinks in the Sky Bar (all superb) and all you have to do is just go downstairs for a pretty fine spa experience with sauna, steam, hot tub, showers and relaxing area. Our room was a decent size, not spacious but functional and comfortable with great duvets and reliable Wi-Fi. The staff is gracious and helpful in every way. The hotel is a little austere-looking on the outside but inside you'll find a very friendly vibe. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy hour in the Arnarhvoll's Sky Bar is a good value, and for a light dinner try the incredibly good salmon salad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emibee
Business
London
Oct 8, 2014

Value for money

Very well situated, with a stunning view of mountains (please request it when booking :)) just few minutes from the city centre. Shower cubicle could do with some glass cleaning (a bit of vinegar could do wonders to these water stains) but generally clean, comfortable with decent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sdwein
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Sep 14, 2014

Convenient location in Reykjavik

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at CenterHotel Arnarhvoll -- convenient location and walking distance to everything. Clean but small rooms. Nice views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CO woman
Business
Estes Park, CO
Jul 6, 2014

73 year old woman traveling to Ice on my own.

The location is the very best, one can walk everywhere. Staff is very helpful. The lounge, bar, SKY, is lovely, but I was led to believe that it had a restaurant. It just has bar food, so one has to go elsewhere to find a full meal. I was very disconcerted to find how small the room was. It had no closet at all, no where to hang up clothes, just some shelves. I am used to American hotels with their big closets. I lived out of my suitcase for 5 days, I adjusted, but people should be warned. The view is outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street to the Harpa, one of the most beautiful buildings I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Another NW Traveler
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 29, 2014

Good, not great

First of all, the location is perfect. It's on the waterfront on the edge of the downtown section. It's scenic but easy to get to and find parking. You can walk to just about anywhere you'd want to go. If that's what you want, read no farther. The rooms are good--clean and modern. They are small in typical European style, which is fine. The shower and the bathroom are one, though, so just about everything gets wet in the bathroom when you take a shower. Plus, you have to squeegee the bathroom floor after the shower so it will dry in a reasonable time. We stayed in small rooms elsewhere, but never had this issue. For the price, we expect more. Otherwise, there is a bar at the top of the hotel with nice views and a good breakfast (included). It doesn't serve dinner and it closes at 7pm anyway. There are really no other amenities to speak of: No exercise room, pool, etc. They do laundry, but it's cheaper to buy new clothes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RajanP
Business
Mountain View, California
Nov 6, 2013

Great location, outstanding service

The view across the bay and of the Esja mountain from the top floor restaurant at Centerhótel Arnarhvoll is the finest in Reykjavík. Take it all in during the buffet breakfast. This hotel is among the best value deals in the city. It is within a short walking distance of the centre. The staff is courteous and efficient. The rooms are comfortable. The shower area is badly designed causing water to splash around the entire bathroom. This is the only annoyance in what is otherwise a great place to stay in in Iceland's capital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElleMN
Business
Toronto
Sep 6, 2013

Reykjavik stopover

I stayed here for only one night, and chose it because of its proximity to the water. Room was clean and comfortable, fairly quiet, although Wifi was very spotty. Breakfast in the morning was great, with excellent views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jine
Business
Chelmsford
Sep 2, 2013

Mr

The Hotel Room had all the basic facilities including a Fridge . Perhaps better if they had a cupboard Overall it was comfortable , well located close to shopping area friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Good seafood Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orchid
Business
Aylesbury UK
Aug 22, 2013

Long weekend

Very small rooms no cupboards or storage space room was very hot and uncomfortable will not book this again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavik

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noswello
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 2, 2013

Absolutely love Iceland

We had a great view. The location was close to everything. Staff was very helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. The spa is nice but it would be nicer if the hot spring continuously moved through water filter .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

To American travelers: carry a extra bag when shopping. It does not cost much but in the spirit of conservation shopping bags are not free in Iceland. I bought a sweater for over $200 but the bag was still not free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top