$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

5 stars
94 Arpad Fejedelem, Budapest, 1036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
4 reviews
Lovely hotel at a fantastic price

When you go into baggage claim at the Budapest airport, there is a shuttle service and for 13 euros... See full review

  • Jeanner
  • May 6, 2014
amazing service

The location is fantastic with excellent views , well maintained and clean, with good sized and... See full review

  • mapi montero
  • Oct 15, 2012
On the banks of the river Danube, facing Margaret Island on the Buda side of the Arpad Bridge, the distinguished The Aquincum Hotel Budapest is a great hotel within easy reach of the city centre. Already well-established, this modern hotel is renowned for its Thermal Spa which is under the supervision of qualified physicians and is a heaven for visitors seeking natural health remedies.

Hotel Map

47.5386 19.047
Area served
Budapest
Nearby airports
Ferihegyi, (BUD), 22.00, KM, NW;
Area description
The hotel is located on the Buda side of the Danube bank, right at the rpd Bridge, opposite to the beautiful Margaret Island. The downtown and the Castle Hill are within easy reach. You need just a half an hour drive to make a yourney in the friendly hills and forests of Buda.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Aquincum Hotel Budapest also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Room Facilities: Minibar, Shower, Bath, Safety Deposit Box, Pay TV, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Bathroom Amenities, Toilet, Bathroom, Heating, Tea/Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Iron, Bathrobe.Price is for single and double occupancy. Complimentary entry to the Aphrodite SPA is also included in the room rate. Included in room price: VAT, service charges, city tax, wired and free Wifi. Breakfast: Buffet breakfast costs EUR 12.00 per person.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Óbuda University: 1 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 1.3 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 2 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 2 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 2.1 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 2.1 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 2.2 mi
  • National Opera: 2.5 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 2.5 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 2.5 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 2.5 mi
  • Central European University: 2.7 mi
  • Buda Castle: 2.7 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 2.8 mi
  • Óbuda University: 1 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 1.3 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 2 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 2 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 2.1 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 2.1 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 2.2 mi
  • National Opera: 2.5 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 2.5 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 2.5 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 2.5 mi
  • Central European University: 2.7 mi
  • Buda Castle: 2.7 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 2.8 mi
  • Matthias Church: 2.8 mi
  • Royal Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Agabe: 2.9 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 3.1 mi
  • National Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Vaci Street: 3.4 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 3.4 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 3.5 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 3.7 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 4.3 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our 14 versatile function rooms represent and ideal venue for meetings, conferences, exhibitions, banquets, or any other customized event for up to 300 persons. They feature the latest technical equipment, including state-of-the art audio and video conferencing. We promise that our meeting planner program will deliver consistent, top-quality service before, during and after your event.

Dining

Breakfast
Breakfast: Buffet breakfast costs EUR 12.00 per person.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Explorational1
Business
Falls Church, VA
Sep 29, 2014

Standard Hotel room. Substandard desk clerk / service.

In traveling through four countries throughout an approximate three week period, starting and ending in Budapest. I can say hands down that not only have we had more helpful staff members at accommodations ranging from Penzions in the countryside of Slovakia through everyday hotels right down the street or across the river, but also nicer rooms. It all starts with service, and the initial ‘service’ was substandard by any standard, let alone a “Five Star” establishment’s standard. Some early booking problems led to our reaching out for help while in route to this location from a neighboring country, only to find, not only a lack of efficiency, but a total lack of caring or help whatsoever. Upon our arrival the desk clerk was not only unhelpful in our endeavor and uncaring about the circumstances, but also a bit caustic with an air of condescension which set the tone of our short stay at the Aquincum. The room: Standard, there was nothing opulent about it in any shape or form whatsoever… at all. By some measures it also was substandard i.e. There was no mini fridge. The hairdryer did not work. There was no heated towel rack. There were no charging receptacles on the besides. The size of the room itself was on the small side. The bathroom looked like something from a Holiday Inn from 1970’s. and so on, and so forth. The service: Barring the spa help, it was not on par with ANY other place that we had stayed up to that point – which included a ‘Botel’ in Bratislava, a Castle in the Czech Rep. and everything, in-between. The location: There seemed to be nothing in the immediate vicinity to walk to e.g. café, restaurant, shopping etc. I’m not sure about the proximity to public transportation as we choose to change hotels for the remainder of our stay in the city. The hotel reception area itself as well the pools and spa area were quite nice. Although the Jacuzzi was very cool and seemed to blow cooler air out of the ports for some unknown reason. Breakfast was an extra 12 Euro P.P Parking was an extra 12 Euro per night (I think it was 12 Euro, it might have been 10) All in all, I would certainly not recommend the money be spent here unless you got a really good deal on one of the discounted websites. I do think the rating system is a bit skewed on this one (should be a three star). If you’d like a nice hotel right down the street with good service, breakfast included, and within walking distances to many more things. I’d suggest treating yourself to a suite at the Regnum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for a nice evening meal out. White table cloth type with a pianist and violinist. Try the Kacsa Restaurant @ Fo Utca 75, Budapest 1027 (+36 1 201 992), but if you'd like a great value on a TERRIFIC bowl of soup for lunch and don't care so much about atmosphere, try the Wild boar w/ potato gnocchi at the Leroy Cafe (Mammut II.), Budapest, Lövőház utca 1-5, 1024 Hungary. It's wonderful!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanner
Business
Whittier, CA
May 6, 2014

Lovely hotel at a fantastic price

When you go into baggage claim at the Budapest airport, there is a shuttle service and for 13 euros I got a ride to the hotel. I was allowed to check in early, for which I was grateful after a long trip from the States. The room was well equipped and lovely, with a beautiful view of a church. Food in the restaurant is OK and expensive. THe spa has an amazing pool. They even took me to my cruise ship on their free shuttle to the downtown area. Only negative: hotel is a ways from the city center, but they offer an occasional free shuttle downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I would find somewhere in the city to eat and in eat in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hill4321
Business
Monsey NY
Sep 12, 2011

Great Hotel don't order smoke room even you smoke

very nice hotel I'm smokeing and orderd a smoke room, but I cauldn't sleep from the smoke in the room, I expected an ventilation or somethingh that will take out the smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mapi montero
Business
Mexico / New Jersey
Oct 15, 2012

amazing service

The location is fantastic with excellent views , well maintained and clean, with good sized and well decorated rooms. A good variety of delicassies served for the breakfast to fill yourself for a long day. Their room service was exceptional as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel for any sort of travelers, be it business or leisu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top