$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Star Hotel Budapest

3 stars
View map of 14 Istvan Street, Budapest, Budapest, HU-1078

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
5 reviews
Great value at great location

This hotel has great location and is an extremely good value if booked on the internet. Much more... See full review

  • JudgeDred
  • Sep 11, 2011
Cheap and cheerful

Very helpful staff at the front desk. The hotel is in an excellent location for Keleti train... See full review

  • MenaceF1
  • Aug 4, 2011
If you are looking for a great value hotel room or apartment in Budapest, just 10 minutes from the heart of the city, the great location, range of facilities and comfortable interior of this hotel are just what you need. Built in 2000, renovated in 2008, Star City Hotel*** is located 10 minutes from the downtown of Budapest - offering the best value for youthful elegance. The location allows peaceful relaxation while still giving access to all parts of Hungary's capital. The hotel offers 48 newly refurbished, comfortable guestrooms that are equipped with up-to-date facilities. FREE Wireless Internet access is available in all public areas (lobby, meeting room) and in most of the rooms. Additional Charges: Usage of telephone, minibar, any services provided by the hotel (sightseeing, cultural programmes, etc.)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Star Hotel Budapest also booked these hotels.

★★★
$45
2.0 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★
$47
4.2 / 5 32 reviews
★★★★
$78
4.3 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$54
3.8 / 5 26 reviews
★★★★
$47
3.1 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$103
3.5 / 5 2 reviews
★★★★
$45
3.8 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$56
3.5 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$74
4.7 / 5 3 reviews

Star Hotel Budapest Rooms

Standard
Room with one double or one twin bed equipped with all the basic comforts and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Keleti railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 0.4 mi
  • Agabe: 0.7 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 1 mi
  • National Opera: 1 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.1 mi
  • Budapest Museum of Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 1.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 1.4 mi
  • Gresham Palace: 1.5 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.6 mi
  • Vaci Street: 1.8 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 0.4 mi
  • Agabe: 0.7 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 1 mi
  • National Opera: 1 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.1 mi
  • Budapest Museum of Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 1.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 1.4 mi
  • Gresham Palace: 1.5 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.6 mi
  • Vaci Street: 1.8 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 1.8 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.9 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 1.9 mi
  • Buda Castle: 2 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 2 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 2.1 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 2.1 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 2.2 mi
  • Matthias Church: 2.4 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • Óbuda University: 3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Star Hotel Budapest

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Star Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MenaceF1
Friends
Cambridge
Aug 4, 2011

Cheap and cheerful

Very helpful staff at the front desk. The hotel is in an excellent location for Keleti train station, which we used to travel to the F1 race. Free wi-fi too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Star Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JudgeDred
Business
Wilmington, DE, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Great value at great location

This hotel has great location and is an extremely good value if booked on the internet. Much more important is the staff. The staff was awesome in providing information and assistance. I made use of the luggage room to store my luggage while I traveled away for a few days. I also used the hotel's services to reserve shuttle to the airport and other arrangements. Extremely pleased with breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Star Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MenaceF1
Friends
Cambridge
Aug 4, 2011

Cheap and cheerful

Very helpful staff at the front desk. The hotel is in an excellent location for Keleti train station, which we used to travel to the F1 race. Free wi-fi too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Star Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
American Woman
Couples
Macedonia
Apr 5, 2011

A good deal

We loved Budapest, the hotel is close enough to the center so that you can walk there and take public transport back. It took us around 30 minutes to walk to the river. It was also very close to Hero's square, the zoo, and the House of Terror Museum. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the mini bar was reasonably priced. It did not carry red wine, however we were able to purchase some at the bar. Our biggest complaint was that we did not have a double bed, we had two single beds pushed together, or as we like to call it a chastity bed. There are only two double beds in the hotel, and we had tried to book it, but failed. Other than that, the hotel was quiet, clean and cheap. Nothing grand, but it fit out needs completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not have the hotel book your taxis. The Taxi company to use is "222", they charge the least. Our taxi rides with them were half the cost of the other taxis. NEVER use a taxi that doesn't have a phone number written in large print on the side. You can pay up to 8 or even 10 times as much. If that does happen, simply refuse to pay and ask for the police, or pay what you think is fair and tell them to call the police if they want to dispute it.

Review of Star Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
American Woman
Couples
Macedonia
Apr 5, 2011

A good deal

We loved Budapest, the hotel is close enough to the center so that you can walk there and take public transport back. It took us around 30 minutes to walk to the river. It was also very close to Hero's square, the zoo, and the House of Terror Museum. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the mini bar was reasonably priced. It did not carry red wine, however we were able to purchase some at the bar. Our biggest complaint was that we did not have a double bed, we had two single beds pushed together, or as we like to call it a chastity bed. There are only two double beds in the hotel, and we had tried to book it, but failed. Other than that, the hotel was quiet, clean and cheap. Nothing grand, but it fit out needs completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not have the hotel book your taxis. The Taxi company to use is "222", they charge the least. Our taxi rides with them were half the cost of the other taxis. NEVER use a taxi that doesn't have a phone number written in large print on the side. You can pay up to 8 or even 10 times as much. If that does happen, simply refuse to pay and ask for the police, or pay what you think is fair and tell them to call the police if they want to dispute it.

Back to menu Return to top