$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2015 Check-out: Sep 29, 2015

Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

5 stars
View map of Szechenyi Istvan ter 2, BUDAPEST, 1051

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
19 reviews
Let themselves down

Nice hotel, let down by the fact that the gym (essential when I plan trips) was closed without... See full review

  • Sappercaptain1
  • Feb 18, 2015
City break with friends

Lovely staff, very attentive and our needs taken care of very well. See full review

  • Reeta Vaya
  • Sep 25, 2014

Sofitel's reputation for luxury properties stands tall at this hotel overlooking Budapest's famous Chain Bridge. The Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, on the banks of the Danube, offers superior service and amenities catering to both leisure and business travelers. The hotel offers stunning views from its public spaces and most guest rooms. The Sofitel features two dining options, the Terrasse Restaurant and the Paris-Budapest Café. The hotel's Bibliotek Lounge offers guests a quiet place to have a drink or relax with one of the many books on loan.

Rooms

The Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge is home to 350 luxurious rooms and suites, all offering top amenities. The elegant décor blends contemporary and traditional elements. High-thread-count linens and comfortable beds entice guests at the end of a long day of meetings or sightseeing. All rooms have views of the city or the beautiful Danube. In-room amenities may include marble bathrooms with tubs, flat-screen televisions with satellite or cable channels, and video games. Wired and wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). The hotel offers 24-hour room service.

Property features

The Terrasse Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Paris-Budapest Café offers a fusion menu of French and Hungarian cuisines.

 

The hotel's beautiful fitness center includes a well-equipped gym, an elegant heated swimming pool, two Finnish saunas, and a solarium. Massage services are available.

 

The hotel also offers a wide variety of event space, including 16 function rooms. The main ballroom accommodates up to 360. 

Highlights

  • Stunning views of the city or Danube
  • One of Budapest's most luxurious modern hotels
  • Beautiful heated, indoor swimming pool
  • Exquisite service and amenities suited to both leisure and business travelers     

Nearby attractions

  • Hungarian State Opera House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Great Market Hall (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Heroes Square (1.1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Hungarian National Gallery (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Hungarian National Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Budapest Museum of Fine Arts (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Business

  • High-speed wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting and function space

Transportation

  • Vorosmarty metro station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (11.5 mi/18.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$140
4.7 / 5 54 reviews
★★★★★
$150
5.0 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★★
$141
4.5 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$88
3.7 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★★
$163
4.5 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$103
4.4 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$61
4.0 / 5 7 reviews
★★★★
$111
4.6 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★★
$101
4.4 / 5 33 reviews

Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Rooms

Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
Prestige Suite- 1 king or 2 single beds, living room, Danube river view, exclusive services. 49sqm/520sqf, Magnificent views on the Danube river and the Royal Castle. Extra living room, Exclusive services: exclusive breakfast, daily snacks and drinks in C
1 Qn bed Exec
LUXURY ROOM CLUB SOFITEL - 1 Queen or 2 Singlebeds, Danube river view, exclusive services. 28sqm/300sqf, Magnificent views on the Danube river and the Royal Castle hill. Exclusive complimentary services: exclusive breakfast, daily fine snacks and drinks i
JrSuite 1 Qn bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 Queen bed or 2 Single beds,spacious studio, exclusive services. 46sqm/490sqf, sitting area, City view, 46'inches LED TV, Exclusive complimentary services: exclusive breakfast, daily fine snacks and drinks in Club Millésime, WIFI access fr
1 Qn bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 queen bed. 28sqm/300sqf, Lower Floors, Simple elegance, 40'inches LED TV, Marble bathroom with tub, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, WIFI access free of charge, Rollaway bed allowed at additional fee and on request.
2 Sg beds Classic
CLASSIC ROOM - 2 single beds. 28sqm/300sqf, Lower Floors, Simple elegance, 40'inches LED TV, Marble bathroom with tub, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, WIFI access free of charge, Rollaway bed allowed at additional fee and on request.
2 Sg beds Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM, 2 Single beds, city view. 28sqm/300sqf, Upper Floors, Refined ambience, City view, 40'inches LED TV, Marble bathroom with tub, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, WIFI access free of charge, Rollaway bed allowed at additional fee and
1 Qn bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 Queen bed, city view. 28sqm/300sqf, Upper Floors, Refined ambience, City view, 40'inches LED TV, Marble bathroom with tub, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, WIFI access free of charge, Rollaway bed allowed at additional fee and
1 Qn bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 Queen bed, Danube river view. 28sqm/300sqf, Magnificent views on the Danube river and the Royal Castle hill. 40'inches LED TV, Marble bathroom with tub, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, WIFI access free of charge, Rollaway bed al
2 Sg beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 Single beds, Danube river view. 28sqm/300sqf, Magnificent views on the Danube river and the Royal Castle hill. 40'inches LED TV, Marble bathroom with tub, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, WIFI access free of charge, Rollaway bed

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Gresham Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Buda Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.6 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 0.6 mi
  • National Opera: 0.7 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 0.7 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 0.7 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Matthias Church: 0.8 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 1 mi
  • Agabe: 1 mi
  • Gresham Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Buda Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.6 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 0.6 mi
  • National Opera: 0.7 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 0.7 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 0.7 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Matthias Church: 0.8 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 1 mi
  • Agabe: 1 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.1 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 1.2 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 1.5 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 1.5 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.7 mi
  • Budapest Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 2.2 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Óbuda University: 2.3 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 3.4 mi

Dining

TERRASSE RESTAURANT
The lobby's spectacular atrium extends into Terrasse Restaurant, Budapest's finest spot for breakfast buffets and Sunday brunches with all the family. Modern wood furnishings, pink-toned chairs and bright mirrors lend an energizing atmosphere.
PARIS BUDAPEST RESTAURANT
Images of the two cities reflect Paris Budapest Restaurant's intriguing menu: a creative blend of French and Hungarian cuisines. In the gleaming show kitchen, the head chef works with local ingredients like Hungarian "gray beef" and Mangalica pork.
PARIS BUDAPEST BAR
High stools, leather couches and soft, violet lighting imbue Paris Budapest Bar with a vibrant yet cozy atmosphere. Sip signature cocktails overlooking the illuminated Chain Bridge: a stunning backdrop to a party in Budapest or socializing with friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C and M
Couples
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 3, 2013

Not great, definately not a 5 star!!!

Great location and great concierge service! However, I would expect that a 5 star would provide complimentary bottles of water every night, not just the first night! Same for tea & coffee - not replenished and only one breakfast tea bag provided! Free wi-fi was one of the amenities advertised, however if a certain number of people are logged in at the same time (which was the case almost always!) you have to pay for it!!! Reception staff not too happy if you bring this up with them either! Cleaning only consists of making the bed and cleaning bathroom, no other tydying up done. Bed was broken in the room so every time you turned from one side to another it would make a lot of noise - so needless to say - didnt sleep great! Would not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peter2406
Business
Detmold
May 8, 2014

godd spot

good spot for a Budapest stay, perhaps a bit overprized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharina
Friends
San Francisco
Jul 9, 2012

Great deal

Very convenient location helpful staff. Everything you could want in a hotel and wonderful to have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristineTraveler
Family
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 25, 2012

Fantastic location in a lovely hotel

My husband and I took my mother in law on a trip to Budapest for her birthday. This hotel exceeded expectations and had an extremely helpful concierge that made excellent dinner recommendations and reservations for us during our 6 night stay. The Sunday brunch is a can't miss! The drinks are very expensive at the bar, but the have a fantastic cocktail menu and a lovely outdoor lounge. We were upgraded to Junior suites and the rooms were beautiful. The only downside was some loud pounding during our last 2 nights that started around 5:30am and woke us up in both suites on separate floors. I meant to bring this to the attention of the staff, but forgot to do this. We highly recommend this hotel. Great location next to Danube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeasonedWorldTraveler
Friends
Elsewhere
Nov 25, 2012

Nice Hotel

After having been put in a smoking room which hadn't been updated (even though I'd booked a non-smoking one), upon the request to move, I was quickly given a modern, updated room with an even better view, minus the smoke smell. I can't believe they actually have smoking rooms in a "five star" hotel...I'd say it's 4.5, but I got a good deal through this site, and I would stay there again. It was hectic with the hotel fully booked, but the staff were pretty nice even though swamped. Spa amenities were my favorite. When travelling through Europe, often I'm disappointed by "five star" hotels, when juxtaposed with those we call five star in the States. Tough crowd, I guess, but overall, a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A handy 24 hour market is located around the corner from the hotel entrance, and the Christmas Fair (opened prior to all of the Christmas markets) was also very close.

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustGo
Couples
Colorado
Jul 28, 2013

Would stay there again!

Nice hotel, they upgraded our room in light of the special occasion that we were celebrating, easy check in and check out service, nice rooms, and perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enevpk
Couples
Helsinki Finland
Aug 24, 2013

Good location,

but overpriced breakfast - don't worry, there are a lot of good choices on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RealTalker
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 3, 2013

Awful staff but fantastic everything else

I had a really tough time getting basic things such as, for example, the correct bed (queen vs. twin, this took three calls and two room visits to fix), shaving cream (it took 45 minutes and two calls), washcloths (not left with room service), etc. What made this worse was the general rudeness and entitlement of the entire staff, as if I was a huge imposition on them for asking for the basics of what I was paying for. I started out extremely polite and deferential, but the level of rudeness was such that my patience wore thin by the end. Besides that, the actual provisions themselves were great, spacious, and I had a nice view from the 8th floor. The hotel is literally right next to the Chain Bridge and therefore close to the Royal Palace and many other landmarks of the cicty. I would be willing to overlook the terrible service (which I found common in Budapest) and stay at this hotel again if I ever re-visit the city (unlikely, but still).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Texas
Jul 1, 2009

Great river vue

Riverview room was excellent value. Would happily stay here again, as the location is very pleasant for morning or evening walk along the Danube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Phoenix, Arizona
Aug 17, 2009

Great location

This is an excellent hotel and the service was great except for one exception. To get ice, you had to call room service. One night it took 1 1/2 hours to get the ice. By that time, my guests had departed. I called several times but nothing seemed to work. The Business Center staff was exceptionally helpful. They let me use the services for short email checks and helped me when I couldn't figure things out. The concierge staff was terrific, helping me with tours, church information, airport transportation, etc. The breakfast buffet was very expensive with no alternative. I ended up going to the grocery store and eating in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The shuttle bus from the airport and return is a good value compared to a cab. On each trip there was only one other stop.

Back to menu Return to top