$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

4 stars
Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest, 1088
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
50 reviews
Great Hotel

Great location convenient to the Metro. This is a well run hotel dedicated to accommodating their... See full review

  • LBIll
  • Jun 22, 2014
Excellent hotel with helpful and attentive staff.

Nice modern hotel with very helpful, efficient and approachable staff. Excellent breakfast with... See full review

  • Travelling Lady
  • Apr 27, 2014
Elegant building was once home to a Hungarian nobleman

Budapest's royal past welcomes guests at this historic property. The hotel is in the former residence of a Hungarian nobleman, Count Nandor Zichy. Though the hotel's design and lobby are true to its history, the service, amenities, and room decor are modern. A glass roof provides natural sunlight for guests as they eat the complimentary breakfast buffet. The roof also allows nightime star-gazing for guests as they enjoy cocktails from the lobby bar. 

Highlights

  • Former residence of a Hungarian nobleman
  • Close to public transportation
  • Free buffet breakfast served in glass-roofed restaurant
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout hotel

Rooms

The Hotel Palazzo Zichy houses 80 rooms and suites with full amenities. Patterns and rich fabrics add a classic twist to the modern room décor. Room amenities include soundproof windows, complimentary high-speed Internet, flat-screen television with satellite channels, laptop-sized safes, and bidets. Non-smoking floors are available.

Features

The complimentary hotel fitness room has cardiovascular and strength-training equipment. The wellness area -- open 24 hours per day, seven days a week -- also has a sauna. Guests take advantage of the towels and bottled water that are provided free of charge.

 

Guests can quench their thirst with free coffee, tea, and mineral water in the lobby until 5 p.m. The lobby bar is open from 5 p.m. to 1 a.m.

Transportation

  • Kalvin Metro Station (547 yd/500 m)
  • Ferenc Metro Station (656 yd/600 m)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (22 mi/13.7 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Hungarian National Museum  (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Dohany Street Synagogue (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Danube (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • State Opera House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • St. Stephen's Basilica (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Széchenyi Chain Bridge (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Parliament (2.0 mi/3.3 km)
  • Castle district (2.0 mi/3.3 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Heroes' Square (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Vajdahunyad Castle (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Széchenyi Thermal Bath (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Business

  • Business lounge
  • Computer room with six public computers, complimentary Internet access, and printer
  • Complimentary wireless or wired Internet throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

47.4902 19.0682
Area served
Budapest
Nearby airports
Budapest Liszt Ferenc International Airport
Area description
Located in downtown Budapest on Pest side of the city in the historical Palace quarter and 19 km from Budapest Ferihegy Airport. Subway station and the main tram line are in a distance of only some minutes walk from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest Rooms

Junior suite
This room offers one double or two twin beds along with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Voicemail.
Superior room
This room offers one double or two twin beds along with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Semmelweis University: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.4 mi
  • Agabe: 0.6 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 0.8 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.9 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 0.9 mi
  • National Opera: 1 mi
  • Central European University: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1.3 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.4 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.5 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.5 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.4 mi
  • Agabe: 0.6 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 0.8 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.9 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 0.9 mi
  • National Opera: 1 mi
  • Central European University: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1.3 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.4 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.5 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.5 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.6 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.6 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.7 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.8 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 1.9 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.9 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 2.1 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 2.1 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 2.4 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 2.5 mi
  • Óbuda University: 3.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Palazzo Zichy offers two conference rooms (60 and 65 sqm) and a bright VIP boardroom (35 sqm) for its business guests. These elegant rooms are equipped with all state-of-the-art technologies.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mike&lu
dayton, ohio
Nov 9, 2010

great stay in budapest

Great location. We were pretty much able to walk to all the sights on the Pest side of the city.The hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly, knowledgable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Study the city map and try to walk to a few places before you decide whether it is worth buying the budapest card or any other pass.

Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biscuitman
Farnham Surrey
Dec 17, 2013

Perfect short break hotel

Lovely hotel in a quiet part of Budapest. Staff are very helpful and considerably to your stay. Old building on the outside and modern and fresh on the inside. Fully recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book up the Opera House as soon as possible. Unbelievable experience for a fraction of the price of London. We saw the Nutcracker for £26 a head, and the performances were superb.

Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
May 9, 2009

Best hotel in Budapest

I was deciding between the four and five star hotels. I found an article on this hotel and decided to give it a chance because of the relatively inexpensive cost/promising website. I was amazed. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited. I had dinner at the Four Seasons and lunch at the New York Palace, while they are more attractive in style and have more to offer in terms of location and some services, Zichy held its own in at 1/4th of the cost. I would strongly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 1, 2010

Trendy, award-winning boutique hotel

This former palace has undergone a stylish renovation mixing the original architecture (I took the palace stairs to and from my room daily) with modern design. Some of the design was so modern that I couldn't figure it out. For example, someone from the front desk hand to show me how to turn on the rainwater-like shower (this apparently happened with other guests). Also, there are hard floors in the rooms, so I was briefly awoken one morning by the sound of high heels in the room above mine. Free coffee in a trendy lobby was a nice touch for an afternoon pit stop, and the breakfasts had a plethora of delicious options. The hotel is perfectly located, near the touristy area, but not in the midst of it. My more negative comments are quite mild, and I would definitely stay again if I find myself in Budapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katya Koshmar
Moscow
May 23, 2011

First class, all around!

The staff of the Hotel Palazzo Zichy went above and beyond to make sure I had the best possible stay in Budapest. The hotel itself was impeccably clean and comfortable, the breakfast bar well stocked, and the location perfect. They gave out maps for walking tours and were incredibly helpful when it came to advice. I was only there for one night, but it could have been a week, it was so relaxing..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner there's the great Leonardo cafe, which has clearly-marked vegetarian options and an outdoor terrace.

Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James P
UK
Aug 24, 2013

Simply Amazing

As a retired Diplomat I traveled my fair share in my life so when I write a review it is due to the fact the Place was Very awful or very Special. The Palazzo Zichy Hotel was 100% the latter. From Check inn to Check out the whole experience was first class. The Room was simply breathtaking from the full walk in shower to the Jacuzzi. Breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel and even the recommended restaurant, called Borsso, which is fantastic by the way, ( Recommended by reception), The Staff in Borsso said that they go to The Palazzo Zichy Hotel for Breakfast !!.. It is not in the center, however , I will guarantee that will not matter and will also guarantee that everybody who stays, will be redecorating there bedrooms when they return home. Simply Amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Borsso Bistro

Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 1, 2010

Trendy, award-winning boutique hotel

This former palace has undergone a stylish renovation mixing the original architecture (I took the palace stairs to and from my room daily) with modern design. Some of the design was so modern that I couldn't figure it out. For example, someone from the front desk hand to show me how to turn on the rainwater-like shower (this apparently happened with other guests). Also, there are hard floors in the rooms, so I was briefly awoken one morning by the sound of high heels in the room above mine. Free coffee in a trendy lobby was a nice touch for an afternoon pit stop, and the breakfasts had a plethora of delicious options. The hotel is perfectly located, near the touristy area, but not in the midst of it. My more negative comments are quite mild, and I would definitely stay again if I find myself in Budapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
May 9, 2009

Best hotel in Budapest

I was deciding between the four and five star hotels. I found an article on this hotel and decided to give it a chance because of the relatively inexpensive cost/promising website. I was amazed. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited. I had dinner at the Four Seasons and lunch at the New York Palace, while they are more attractive in style and have more to offer in terms of location and some services, Zichy held its own in at 1/4th of the cost. I would strongly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eastern Europe traveler
Medford, NJ, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Terrific hotel!!

This hotel is great. Location is in a nice quiet location but with good restaurants a few doors away. Breakfast is varied, fresh and delicious. Staff is best, they go over and above to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Palazzo Zichy Hotel Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BJ Luv2Go
Robbinsville, NJ
Aug 20, 2012

Great Hotel

We were very pleased with our stay at Palazzo Zichy Hotel. Location worked well for us, front desk was wonderful. A special thank you to Carolina! Room was not very large but worked out fine. Enjoyed the fantastic breakfast that was included, fresh & delicious. Also the complimentary water during the day. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top