$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

4 stars
Hajós utca 24., Budapest, 1065
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
14 reviews
was a very good stay

We stayed for three nights, perfectly located, good price and excellent service. Highly recommend... See full review

  • emmabu
  • Sep 7, 2014
Great hotel¡

Very nice hotel in a very good location, nice restaurants close to the hotel See full review

  • JUAN DIEGO
  • Jul 28, 2014
Art Nouveau-style building houses boutique hotel near city shopping

With just 35 rooms and apartments, guests feel as though they've rented a city vacation home instead of a hotel room. An Art Nouveau exterior welcomes guests to the early 20th century building. The hotel decor blends contemporary and traditional details. Opera Garden Hotel sits on the pedestrian-only Hajos Street. Located just a few blocks from the Hungarian State Opera House, guests also enjoy easy access to the shops of Andrassy Street. After a day of work or touring, guests unwind with a complimentary glass of homemade mulled wine.

Highlights

  • Stylish rooms and apartments that feel like home
  • Located near Budapest's best shopping area
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free buffet breakfast and daily glass of homemade mulled wine

Rooms

Floral-pattered textiles take the sharp edges off of the mostly modern furniture in the hotel's 35 rooms and apartments. The rooms on the hotel's top floor feature bright colors. Garden-style rooms rely on nature's more relaxed colors of browns and greens. Apartments have en suite bathrooms as well as full kitchens with a dining table and chairs. All rooms and apartments feature complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Other in-room amenities include L'occitane soaps and shampoos, a pillow menu, and complimentary shoeshine. Baby cots, chairs, and plastic bathtub provided upon request.

Features

Guest services include a wellness area with sauna, Jacuzzi, and a small fitness room. The hotel serves a complimentary daily buffet breakfast. Room service is available. The hotel's wellness area has a sauna, Jacuzzi, and fitness machines. In-room massages from Massage Minute Service can be arranged through the hotel. Long-term rentals are available.

Transportation

  • Opera Metro Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (12 mi/19 km)

Nearby attractions

  • St. Stephen's Basilica (0.4mi/0.6 km)
  • Academy of Music (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • House of Terror Museum (0.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Dohany Street Synagogue (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Hungarian Parliament Building (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Szechenyi Chain Bridge (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Heroes' Square (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Buda Castle (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Business

  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Meeting room seats up to six people

Hotel Map

47.5044 19.0569
Area served
In the heart of Budapest, in the city center
Nearby airports
The hotel is about 19 km from the Budapest Ferihegy Airport.
Area description
The Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments is located in Hajs Street, in the city centre, in the fashionable area of World Heritage Andrssy Street, just a few blocks from the Opera House, and only minutes' walk from most of the tourist attractions and the Millenium Underground.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
All Superior rooms have a double bed, a separate kitchen area with a dining table, and feature an en suite bathroom with a shower. Different styles have been developed.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
All Executive rooms have a double bed, a separate kitchen area with a dining table and feature an en suite bathroom with a shower. Larger place and pedestrian street view is typify this room type.
DELUXE - APARTMENT
All Deluxe Apartments dispose of two bedrooms which can be perfect for 4 people. Here you can also find a separate kitchen area with a dining table and an en suite bathroom with a shower.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Opera: 0.1 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 0.4 mi
  • Central European University: 0.4 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 0.5 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.5 mi
  • Agabe: 0.7 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Buda Castle: 0.8 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Palace: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum: 1 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 1 mi
  • Vaci Street: 1 mi
  • National Opera: 0.1 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 0.4 mi
  • Central European University: 0.4 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 0.5 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.5 mi
  • Agabe: 0.7 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Buda Castle: 0.8 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Palace: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum: 1 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 1 mi
  • Vaci Street: 1 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 1.1 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.1 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 1.2 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.3 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 1.3 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 1.4 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 1.5 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 1.6 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 2 mi
  • Óbuda University: 2.2 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room Our Meeting Room that seats up to 20 people can be used for social evenings, smaller conferences, family events and business meetings. It can be disposed for champagne reception and also in theatre style. You can hire Flip Chart, Laptop, Projector, Conference Phone and other necessary equipments for extra charge.Business Lounge The Hotel also has a small but well equipped private area up to 6 people which is perfect for smaller meetings and discussions. It is free of charge for our guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ildique
New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Very nice place to stay

We had a great time at the hotel. The breakfast was abundant, the staff very helpful, some surprice sangria at the entrance. The only thing I disliked was the smell entering the room - but at old buildings there is nothing to do about it... We would definitively stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to an Experidance dance show, and LOVED it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emmabu
washington DC
Sep 7, 2014

was a very good stay

We stayed for three nights, perfectly located, good price and excellent service. Highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shelbo naggins
Pennsylvania
Sep 3, 2014

Boutique Hotel in heart of Budapest

Cannot say anything negative...great place. Location was perfect, full breakfast and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JUAN DIEGO
GUADALAJARA, MEXICO
Jul 28, 2014

Great hotel¡

Very nice hotel in a very good location, nice restaurants close to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
channer26
Washington, DC
May 17, 2013

Opera Garden = great value!!!

The Opera Garden hotel was hands down the best room we stayed in during our eastern European tour. Our room was spacious, clean, and equipped with a kitchen, modern amenities, HDTV, and plenty of closet space. We were very pleased with the modern design and feel of the décor in the hotel and in our room and it felt very much like home. The hotel had free Wi-Fi service and complimentary breakfast from 7:30 – 10:30AM. You can tell the hotel places a huge premium on the comfort of its guests as that is evident in the way the rooms are furnished and the service of the staff. The hotel felt very secure as there were many cameras on the premises and required a swipe card to access our floor. The hotel is located just blocks from the famed State Opera and is minutes from Andrussy Street which boasts many high end stores such as Louis Voutton and Burberry along with many café’s and restaurants. Although it is close to many restaurants, the overall ambience remained relatively quiet for being in a busy location. Further, the hotel is located about a 20 minute walk to the Danube River and the famed Chain Bridge as well as a 30-35 minute walk from Marquis Square which is Budapest’s version of Stephansplatz Square in Vienna, Austria, and Prague’s Old Town Square. While not located directly in Budapest’s heart of nightlife, it is centrally located to many key sites as mentioned above and is a decent walk to many locations, including the West End City Center mall complex. Finally, the reception staff was extremely courteous, friendly, and all spoke very good English. I commend their professionalism and their willingness to answer our questions. We enjoyed our stay in Budapest and would definitely recommend the Opera Garden Hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We would recommend using one of the "hop on - hop off" guided tour buses in Budapest, especially if you are only there for a few days. Budapest is split by the Danube River and unlike Prague or Vienna, not everything is centrally located or within walking distance. We used the Green "Hop-On Hop-Off" tour and it was affordable and worth the money. It also included a free Danube River boat ride, a free beer, and goulash soup. Save the wear and tear.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hootiehunter
Tampa Bay, Florida
Feb 11, 2013

Wonderful accommodations!

Greeted warmly by staff that was able to speak English and helpful with questions as to where is best dining, arranging transport, and overall efficiency. Room was clean, spacious and I would definitely return. The breakfast was tasty and the buffet delightful. In the evening there was hot mulled wine available to take a bite out of the cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant across from hotel called "Chagall" that had wonderful meals at great value. The chef there obviously was well schooled and had great pride in serving a delicious meal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellie 2
New York
Sep 29, 2012

worry free

this hotel has perfect location. it is walking distance to everything. right across from the hotel is a very nice restaurant "Chagal". Hotel's staff is helpfull and effective. Rooms are clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Budapest is a very large city. Buy 48 or 72 hour ticket that good for all transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OzTraveler
Australia
Mar 11, 2012

Opera Central

I was very happy with my stay at the Opera Garden Hotel. The location is perfect for getting around and to so many of the inner districts. The breakfast was hearty and the kitchenette in the room was well fitted out and very clean and tidy. The only drawbacks are that the Wellness Centre (Spa and Sauna) are not open between the hours of 10:00am and 5:00pm which is when we would have liked to have used it and the double bed has two single covers on it instead of one large which made it a little uncomfortable for us for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the Opera and many bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kinga E
New York, NY, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Very pleasant stay

The hotel was great! Staff helpfull and kind. Room was clean and quiet. Im definitely going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ildique
New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Very nice place to stay

We had a great time at the hotel. The breakfast was abundant, the staff very helpful, some surprice sangria at the entrance. The only thing I disliked was the smell entering the room - but at old buildings there is nothing to do about it... We would definitively stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to an Experidance dance show, and LOVED it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 21, 2011

Excellent location and a nice hotel

We really loved the location - on a pedestrian street near the opera. It is within walking distance to all major attractions. The street has many hip bars and restaurants, but is not noisy. The hotel was in excellent condition and the staff helpful. Breakfast was ok. We may have been lucky - our room was looking out on the street. Some of the rooms are facing the backyard where there are external walkways and people can look into the room. I would not be happy with a room like this. We arrived on Thursday and had no problems but we heard that the hotel was overbooked for the next day. With these caveats, we highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a bicycle near the opera house and go to the mineral baths in City Park. It is like a water park from the early 1900 - not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top