$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

4 stars
View map of Szent Gellert ter 1., Budapest, H-1111

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
35 reviews
Worth the money

Our stay at the Gellert Hotel was extraordinary! The view from our balcony was looking right down... See full review

  • Russell R.
  • Jan 14, 2015
BeeBoppin through Budapest

My friend and I decided to splurge on a fancy hotel one night on our European backpacking... See full review

  • Abby
  • Apr 22, 2015
  • Hungarian National Gallery (1.4 mi/2.4 km)
  • Hungarian State Opera House (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Parliament Building (2 mi/3.4 km)
  • Heroes’ Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (2.8 mi/4.7 km)
General
The hotel also offers Gellert Brasserie Restaurant, a casual Hungarian dining option. The hotel also offers Gellert Espresso, which serves desserts and has a terrace, and the Lobby Bar. On Friday nights, the Gellert Panorama features live music. Reservati
Location
Guests at the Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest enjoy some of the city’s best water experiences. The hotel sits on the Danube riverbank. Some rooms offer views of the famous river. The property also houses the Gellert Bath and Spa. One of the spa’s best fea
Dining
  • Vorosmarty Metro Station (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
  • Deli Railway Station (2.4 mi/2.8 km)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (12.7 mi/21.2 km)
Rooms
The hotel has 234 rooms -- several with postcard-worthy views of the Danube or Gellert Hill -- with full amenities. All rooms have a bath or shower. Other amenities include satellite television, pay-per-view, and high-speed wireless Internet access.
Nearby attractions
  • Building overlooks the Danube
  • Complimentary use of the thermal baths at the Gellert Spa
  • Housed in an art nouveau building
  • Gellert Hotel’s Panorama Restaurant offers outdoor dining with views of the river and city  
  • Transportation Classic Budapest hotel overlooking the Danube

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest Rooms

Deluxe Double River view
Refurbished, double or twin bedded room overlooking to the River Danube. An extra bed for adults or two extra beds for children can be provided in the room. Room size: 30 m2. The room offers 1 double or twin bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.
Economy Single Shower
Single room (equipped with one single bed) overlooking the patio or the street side. Room size: 11-12 m2. The room offers 1 single bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.
Standard Single bath
Single room (equipped with one single bed) with bath overlooking the patio or street side. Room size: 24 m2. The room offers 1 single bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.
Economy double/twin
Double room overlooking the patio or the outdoor pool area. Room size: 23 m2. The room offers 1 double or twin bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.
Standard double/twin with view
Double or twin bedded room overlooking the River Danube or the Gellrt Hill. An extra bed can be provided in the room. Room size: 27-30 m2. The room offers 1 double or twin bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gellert Spa: 0.1 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.5 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1 mi
  • Central European University: 1.1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Agabe: 1.3 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.3 mi
  • National Opera: 1.4 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.5 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.6 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.6 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 0.1 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.5 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1 mi
  • Central European University: 1.1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Agabe: 1.3 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.3 mi
  • National Opera: 1.4 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.5 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.6 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.6 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 1.7 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.7 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.8 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 1.9 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.9 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 2.2 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 2.6 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 2.8 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 2.8 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 3.3 mi
  • Óbuda University: 3.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our function rooms combine the latest technical equipment, and natural daylight, with outstanding banquet and conference facilities, catering from 10 up to 250 people. Stylish surroundings, efficient service and quality equipment guarantee a successful program. High-speed, broadband, wireless Internet access (WiFi) is available.

Dining

Gellert Espresso
The Gellert Espresso is a real temptation for all who find themselves unable to resist homemade cakes and pastries served with freshly brewed coffee or tea. On scorching summer afternoons, unique ice-cream sundaes cool, refresh and invigorate. Another feature is the terrace, a perfect corner for relaxation and chat. Live piano music at tea time! Open: 9 a.m. - 8 p.m
Torley Bar
You can find all sparkling wine products of the more than 100 year old Trley Pezsgpincszet Kft. Besides champagne-based cocktails, wide variety of international drinks are available. A large-screen TV is a great way to enjoy sporting events. Step in and round off your day with fellow sports fans! Open 7 p.m. - 01 a.m.
Gellert Brasserie Restaurant
The Brasserie represents the perfect choice for anyone wishing to combine a relaxed milieu with first-class contemporary Hungarian cuisine. The dynamic menu offers daily specials, light meals and an evening tasting menu with a carefully selected wine list. In addition to the superb food a broad range of draught, bottled and specialty beers are served. The shaded terrace is the ideal spot for a business talk or a light lunch on a hot summer day. Open: 12 p.m. - 11 p.m.
Panorama Restaurant
Gellert Hotel's Panorama Restaurant, and charming terrace, offers a superb view over the Danube and Budapest. The restaurant is equally renowned for its outstanding cuisine, featuring masterpieces of Hungarian cooking and evidently the finest wines from famous cellars to complement the dining experience. Open: Tue-Sat: noon - midnight (in Summer); 7 p.m. - midnight (in Winter) Sunday Brunch from noon to 3 p.m. Monday: closed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.3
Sort by:
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abby
Business
Oregon City
Apr 22, 2015

BeeBoppin through Budapest

My friend and I decided to splurge on a fancy hotel one night on our European backpacking adventure. We thought the Gellert would be a perfect stop to rest and soak in the pools. It is a beautiful place with a friendly English speaking staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling aloha
Business
Honolulu, hawaii
Sep 5, 2012

They must think they are special.

Well the spa is very nice. Now first no wifi in the rooms unless you pay 25 dollars a day. Second no air conditioning. So I leave the window open. They I have perverted guy on roof masterbating outside my window. I call staff and they laugh. ( yes funny I agree in one aspect) but I would believe they would still do something about it. Yet 20 minutes later nothing done. So I had to keep my shades pulled in a hot non air conditioned room. Oh the rooms are old I mean old. Sink is 1 foot wide. Shower is a hand hold but no holder. Serious not a hotel I will visit twice. I will say the breakfast was excellent. Ok that is all in a nut shell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marguerite DC
Business
Berlin
Aug 18, 2012

Faded Glory and Rude Staff

The exterior of the hotel is quite glamorous and beautiful but the interior was unimpressive. Rooms were nice enough and breakfast was good enough. Some of the staff members were quite rude. The baths aren't that great. I was much better off on my second trip to Budapest staying elsewhere for half the price, including a great breakfast and free Wifi in the room. The Gellert only offers the latter in public areas. On my second trip I discovered the Szechenyi Baths which were vastly superior and quite inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park KS
Apr 20, 2011

October 2010

This is a very nice hotel for the money. Great staff and very accommodating. The rooms are somewhat dated but clean. The continental breakfast is not your basic breakfast and probably one of the best we had our experience traveling Europe- wonderful hot items to choose from. Definitel recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all along the main street in the center of Budapest offers fantastic meals. We did not have a bad meal for the four days we were there.

Back to menu Return to top