$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

4 stars
View map of Szent Gellert ter 1., Budapest, H-1111

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
32 reviews
Worth the money

Our stay at the Gellert Hotel was extraordinary! The view from our balcony was looking right down... See full review

  • Russell R.
  • Jan 14, 2015
BeeBoppin through Budapest

My friend and I decided to splurge on a fancy hotel one night on our European backpacking... See full review

  • Abby
  • Apr 22, 2015
Art Nouveau hotel provides private elevator access to thermal baths
Guests at the Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest enjoy some of the city’s best water experiences. The hotel sits on the Danube riverbank. Some rooms offer views of the famous river. The property also houses the Gellert Bath and Spa. One of the spa’s best features is its beautiful thermal baths. Hotel guests get complimentary use of the baths. Guests can access the spa by a private elevator. Guests who crave culinary adventures will also find satisfaction at the Hotel Gellert. Panorama Restaurant serves classic Hungarian cuisine in an elegant setting.
Highlights
  • Building overlooks the Danube
  • Complimentary use of the thermal baths at the Gellert Spa
  • Housed in an art nouveau building
  • Gellert Hotel’s Panorama Restaurant offers outdoor dining with views of the river and city  
Rooms
The hotel has 234 rooms -- several with postcard-worthy views of the Danube or Gellert Hill -- with full amenities. All rooms have a bath or shower. Other amenities include satellite television, pay-per-view, and high-speed wireless Internet access.
Features
The hotel also offers Gellert Brasserie Restaurant, a casual Hungarian dining option. The hotel also offers Gellert Espresso, which serves desserts and has a terrace, and the Lobby Bar. On Friday nights, the Gellert Panorama features live music. Reservations are recommended.

Gellert Bath and Spa also features an indoor swimming pool, an outdoor swimming pool and wave bath, Jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna. There are separate thermal baths for men and women. A full menu of spa services is available. The on-site Gyalog-H Clinic specializes in health and beauty services. Spa goers can choose from more than 15 types of massage such as a red grape massage or lava stone massage. The center also has offers hairdressing and facials.
Transportation
  • Vorosmarty Metro Station (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
  • Deli Railway Station (2.4 mi/2.8 km)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (12.7 mi/21.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Hungarian National Gallery (1.4 mi/2.4 km)
  • Hungarian State Opera House (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Parliament Building (2 mi/3.4 km)
  • Heroes’ Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (2.8 mi/4.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • Seven function rooms with high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Catering available for 10 to 250 people

Top hotels

Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest Rooms

Superior river view
The room offers 1 double or twin bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.
Economy Single Shower
The room offers 1 single bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.
Standard Single bath
The room offers 1 single bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.
Economy double/twin
The room offers 1 double or twin bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.
Standard double/twin with view
The room offers 1 double or twin bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Telephone, Free admission to the Gellrt Bath once during your hotel stay. For each additional entry, the hotel grant 50% discount on the daily ticket price to the hotel guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gellert Spa: 0.1 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.5 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1 mi
  • Central European University: 1.1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Agabe: 1.3 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.3 mi
  • National Opera: 1.4 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.5 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.6 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.6 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 0.1 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.5 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1 mi
  • Central European University: 1.1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Agabe: 1.3 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.3 mi
  • National Opera: 1.4 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.5 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.6 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.6 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 1.7 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.7 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.8 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 1.9 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.9 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 2.2 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 2.6 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 2.8 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 2.8 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 3.3 mi
  • Óbuda University: 3.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our function rooms combine the latest technical equipment, and natural daylight, with outstanding banquet and conference facilities, catering from 10 up to 250 people. Stylish surroundings, efficient service and quality equipment guarantee a successful program. High-speed, broadband, wireless Internet access (WiFi) is available.

Dining

Gellert Espresso
The Gellert Espresso is a real temptation for all who find themselves unable to resist homemade cakes and pastries served with freshly brewed coffee or tea. On scorching summer afternoons, unique ice-cream sundaes cool, refresh and invigorate. Another feature is the terrace, a perfect corner for relaxation and chat. Live piano music at tea time! Open: 9 a.m. - 8 p.m
Torley Bar
You can find all sparkling wine products of the more than 100 year old Trley Pezsgpincszet Kft. Besides champagne-based cocktails, wide variety of international drinks are available. A large-screen TV is a great way to enjoy sporting events. Step in and round off your day with fellow sports fans! Open 7 p.m. - 01 a.m.
Gellert Brasserie Restaurant
The Brasserie represents the perfect choice for anyone wishing to combine a relaxed milieu with first-class contemporary Hungarian cuisine. The dynamic menu offers daily specials, light meals and an evening tasting menu with a carefully selected wine list. In addition to the superb food a broad range of draught, bottled and specialty beers are served. The shaded terrace is the ideal spot for a business talk or a light lunch on a hot summer day. Open: 12 p.m. - 11 p.m.
Panorama Restaurant
Gellert Hotel's Panorama Restaurant, and charming terrace, offers a superb view over the Danube and Budapest. The restaurant is equally renowned for its outstanding cuisine, featuring masterpieces of Hungarian cooking and evidently the finest wines from famous cellars to complement the dining experience. Open: Tue-Sat: noon - midnight (in Summer); 7 p.m. - midnight (in Winter) Sunday Brunch from noon to 3 p.m. Monday: closed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vandaele
Business
New York, USA
Nov 27, 2012

Avoid this Hotel in summer

This once magnificent Hotel now is totally neglected by the current owner. Forget about this place until major renovation takes place. I was there one day in the summer of 2012 when the outside temp was 104 F with 80 % humidity and there was no air condition in my room. For an extra $ 100 I was upgraded to a bigger room with a portable very noisy fan which did not make any difference. The painting on the window frame and walls are peeling off, dirty balkony etc The staff however is nice and the breakfast is superb. This Hotel needs a new owner !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
john in budapest
Business
Colorado, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Faded Glory

The Gellert once was great...in the 1920s maybe. Since then it doesn't seem that any effort has been made on improving this hotel. My room was about the size of my college dorm room, twin bed, plywood dresser, tiny, tiny, tiny bathroom. Way overpriced for what I got. The only redeeming thing was the access to the Gellert Spas. That saved it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Adjacent to the Gellert was a great Hungarian Restaurant. Try the Goulash Soup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BeataM
Business
Paris
Jul 16, 2014

has absolutely avoid

I do not understand how this hotel can keep these 4 stars! Carpets and curtains are dirty, the windows do not close properly, the bathroom is in a terrible state! Not even deserves 2 stars! We had a flood in the bathroom! And the rooms are not air conditioned. The SPA is paying for hotel guests, except for the first visit. Avoid rooms overlooking the Danube, the noise of the trams outside the hotel is unbearable and they begin to circulate 4am. I am very disappointed and I think I lost beacoup money for nothing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Parliament

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling aloha
Business
Honolulu, hawaii
Sep 5, 2012

They must think they are special.

Well the spa is very nice. Now first no wifi in the rooms unless you pay 25 dollars a day. Second no air conditioning. So I leave the window open. They I have perverted guy on roof masterbating outside my window. I call staff and they laugh. ( yes funny I agree in one aspect) but I would believe they would still do something about it. Yet 20 minutes later nothing done. So I had to keep my shades pulled in a hot non air conditioned room. Oh the rooms are old I mean old. Sink is 1 foot wide. Shower is a hand hold but no holder. Serious not a hotel I will visit twice. I will say the breakfast was excellent. Ok that is all in a nut shell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trevor1970
Business
dubai, UAE
Dec 2, 2013

Budapest trip

I Have stayed at Danubias properties in Pecs before and they were great, however this hotel was worn, dirty, and had a strange musty odor of mold and mildew. We checked into our room and the tub was dirty and the TV did not work. The front desk clerk apologized and upgraded our room to the Andrew Lloyd Weber suit which was much nicer, but still worn. The staff was great and so was the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 19, 2009

Needs Work

The hotel is famous but the rooms need significant renovation. The staff needs to be more friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Vaci street nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linda Ch
Business
New York, NY
Apr 6, 2014

Good for the spa, but not for room

The hotel is convenient if you're going to the Gellert thermal spa. My room was outdated and could use updating. It didn't reflect the grandeur of the historic hotel. Also, wi-fi is charged separately!! My room faced the courtyard, so it was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

There's elevator to go down to Gellert Thermal Spa from the hotel. The first visit is free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zvia
Business
brooklyn ny
Feb 23, 2012

fantastic, cool

We loved the room, It was big and clean. It has a river view and at night the lit bridge was a fantastic sight. Breakfast was good, many choices and very tasty. Bad times in Hungary and the hotel try to save, on electricity at night.. some hallways were dark,There were No facial towels or tissue paper in the room. (even when I kept on asking never got either in the 4 days I was there) We did get robes to enjoy in the pools and the spa entrance was free. This is an Hotel with an old charm I love the whole experience and will be back in a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cross the bridge and go to the Market, the fruits and Veg. are fresh and not expensive. you can get pastries liqure and suvaniers. dont forget to pick up a bottle of Tokai (sweet desert wine)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marguerite DC
Business
Berlin
Aug 18, 2012

Faded Glory and Rude Staff

The exterior of the hotel is quite glamorous and beautiful but the interior was unimpressive. Rooms were nice enough and breakfast was good enough. Some of the staff members were quite rude. The baths aren't that great. I was much better off on my second trip to Budapest staying elsewhere for half the price, including a great breakfast and free Wifi in the room. The Gellert only offers the latter in public areas. On my second trip I discovered the Szechenyi Baths which were vastly superior and quite inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marty G.
Business
NW Indiana
Sep 2, 2012

Quaint, but needs work.

Found front desk staff rather unfriendly as a whole. Other staff members, housekeeping,bellhops were friendly. Trying to get to and from the Baths proved quite confusing and not just to us. I believe we expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top