$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

4 stars
View map of Szent Gellert ter 1., Budapest, H-1111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vandaele
Business
New York, USA
Nov 27, 2012

Avoid this Hotel in summer

This once magnificent Hotel now is totally neglected by the current owner. Forget about this place until major renovation takes place. I was there one day in the summer of 2012 when the outside temp was 104 F with 80 % humidity and there was no air condition in my room. For an extra $ 100 I was upgraded to a bigger room with a portable very noisy fan which did not make any difference. The painting on the window frame and walls are peeling off, dirty balkony etc The staff however is nice and the breakfast is superb. This Hotel needs a new owner !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling aloha
Business
Honolulu, hawaii
Sep 5, 2012

They must think they are special.

Well the spa is very nice. Now first no wifi in the rooms unless you pay 25 dollars a day. Second no air conditioning. So I leave the window open. They I have perverted guy on roof masterbating outside my window. I call staff and they laugh. ( yes funny I agree in one aspect) but I would believe they would still do something about it. Yet 20 minutes later nothing done. So I had to keep my shades pulled in a hot non air conditioned room. Oh the rooms are old I mean old. Sink is 1 foot wide. Shower is a hand hold but no holder. Serious not a hotel I will visit twice. I will say the breakfast was excellent. Ok that is all in a nut shell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marty G.
Business
NW Indiana
Sep 2, 2012

Quaint, but needs work.

Found front desk staff rather unfriendly as a whole. Other staff members, housekeeping,bellhops were friendly. Trying to get to and from the Baths proved quite confusing and not just to us. I believe we expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marguerite DC
Business
Berlin
Aug 18, 2012

Faded Glory and Rude Staff

The exterior of the hotel is quite glamorous and beautiful but the interior was unimpressive. Rooms were nice enough and breakfast was good enough. Some of the staff members were quite rude. The baths aren't that great. I was much better off on my second trip to Budapest staying elsewhere for half the price, including a great breakfast and free Wifi in the room. The Gellert only offers the latter in public areas. On my second trip I discovered the Szechenyi Baths which were vastly superior and quite inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roymac
Business
London UK
Jun 10, 2012

Very good and friendly attentive service.

Although this hotel is very old and in need of a good refurbishment particularly on the accommodation side I have NO COMPLAINTS. The location is superb. Even though the rooms are pretty basic this is more than compensated for by the other facilities in the hotel. The Spa and pools are an absolute dream. The breakfast buffet great and the other restaurants very good and reasonably priced. All in all I would definately return to this hotel next time I go to Budapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything within easy reach.

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vandaele
Business
California, USA
May 27, 2012

fabulous breakfast

Historic hotel in a very good location. Friendly staff and a world class breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you need transport to the airport, ask for a shuttle bus for 2500 Ft (approx $10)

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vandaele
Business
California, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Good Hotel

This Hotel has tradition and history. Unfortunately the current owner does not maintain it well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zvia
Business
brooklyn ny
Feb 28, 2012

Fantastic location

Great location, river view is breath taking We upgraded to the largest room. Very clean. No facial towel.. No tissue paper..But .. Full Breakfast fantastic breads, biscuits, cakes and cookies. Fresh fruits and vegetables. a large variety of salads, eggs meats. A real feast. We also enjoyed the coffee and fresh juices. Planing to be there again Feb. 2013

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go the the local market on the other side of the bridge. great prices.

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zvia
Business
brooklyn ny
Feb 23, 2012

fantastic, cool

We loved the room, It was big and clean. It has a river view and at night the lit bridge was a fantastic sight. Breakfast was good, many choices and very tasty. Bad times in Hungary and the hotel try to save, on electricity at night.. some hallways were dark,There were No facial towels or tissue paper in the room. (even when I kept on asking never got either in the 4 days I was there) We did get robes to enjoy in the pools and the spa entrance was free. This is an Hotel with an old charm I love the whole experience and will be back in a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cross the bridge and go to the Market, the fruits and Veg. are fresh and not expensive. you can get pastries liqure and suvaniers. dont forget to pick up a bottle of Tokai (sweet desert wine)

Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert Budapest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peppie
Business
Florida
Dec 26, 2011

Budapest Trip

We loved staying at the Gellert Hotel. It is a famous Hungarian hotel. Close to shopping and places to eat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the spa which is located in the hotel. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top