$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Continental Hotel Zara

4 stars
Dohany u 42-44, Budapest, 1174
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
24 reviews
Fantastic Hotel, I would have no hesitation to recommend it.

There was three of us in our party and we were all delighted with the hotel. All the staff were so... See full review

  • PaulineMcG
  • Oct 8, 2014
Weekend Break

Wonderful experience here, we had a great time on holiday. Perfect location, very comfortable and... See full review

  • TandC
  • Jul 3, 2014
Art Nouveau exterior welcomes guests with modern comfort

One of Budapest's newer hotels, the Continental Hotel Zara also has one of the city's most beautiful hotel exteriors. Once inside, guests find an interior that blends art deco details with mid-century modern style. The Art Nouveau-styled Araz Restaurant has both lounge and dining areas. The restaurant also serves a buffet breakfast.

Highlights

  • Stunning Art Nouveau-style façade
  • Close to historic locations including the Great Synagogue of Budapest
  • Relax or work out in style at the wellness and fitness center or on the roof garden
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Rooms

The hotel's rooms offer art deco features brought up to date with modern textiles and a soothing color palette. Some rooms have a street or courtyard view. All rooms have complimentary wireless Internet access. Other in-room amenities include LCD televisions with satellite channels, soundproof windows, laptop-sized safes, and 24-hour room service. Guests in deluxe rooms can choose from a variety of pillows and receive a welcome tray with tea, coffee, and treats. The hotel also offers executive rooms with extra space to work and 13 suites that have living rooms and large plasma televisions.

Features

The restaurant focuses on Hungarian cuisine updated through the use of modern culinary techniques. The kitchen relies on local ingredients whenever possible and can prepare dishes specially made for people with food allergies.

 

The hotel's wellness center is located on the roof garden. The center has both indoor and outdoor pools, a Jacuzzi, and two saunas. Indulge in a massage or other treatment that puts natural materials -- including Dead Sea mud, sea salts, and sea algae -- to work. The hotel also has a well-equipped fitness room.

Transportation

  • Blaha Lujza Metro Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Hungarian National Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Hungarian State Opera House (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Great Market Hall (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Castle District (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Budapest Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Hungarian Parliament (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Hungarian National Gallery (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business services
  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 400 people
  • Roof garden available for cocktail parties or standing receptions

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Continental Hotel Zara also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Continental Hotel Zara Rooms

Standard Rooms
220 standard rooms are designed by the latest art deco trends, featuring a unique atmospheres and style. Offering you individual and tailor-made services and available both street-, and courtyard-view rooms prior to your request.
Executive Rooms
Our spacious and luxurious hotel 8 Executive rooms offer you 33 square meter of space including queen size bed accommodation. Executive guest rooms offer our hotel guests every opportunity to relax, with each room including a chaise longue.
Deluxe Rooms
All deluxe hotel rooms at Continental Hotel Zara have a fresh contemporary feel combining warm colours with richly textured fabrics. Offering you a double bed in a 24 square meter room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Agabe: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.5 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.6 mi
  • National Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Central European University: 0.8 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.9 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 1.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1.2 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.2 mi
  • Agabe: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.5 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.6 mi
  • National Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Central European University: 0.8 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.9 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 1.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1.2 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.2 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.3 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.5 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.5 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 1.7 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 1.7 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.8 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 2 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 2.5 mi
  • Óbuda University: 2.9 mi

Dining

ARAZ Restaurant
ontinental Hotel Zara's restaurant and terrace in the courtyard will offer 150 seats and the finest selection of traditional Hungarian and international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Continental Hotel Zara

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zhiming H.
Business
Salem
Dec 16, 2014

Very bad experience

Bad neighborhood. Overprice for incidental. Charge 100 euros for a cheap broken lamp cover poorly located easy for your backpack to hit it if you do not pay attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WendyG
Business
London
Aug 9, 2010

CONTINENTAL HOTEL ZARA BUDAPEST

The hotel itself was lovely and in a very convenient location. The hotel staff were courteous and polite, although not overly friendly. We did discover however that although the hotel taxi's are convenient, they charge around double the amount of other taxi firms in Budapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

When dining out, Budapest restaurant staff do not seem to be overly attentive to their guests, so do not be afraid of making a point to waiting staff if you want coffee or dessert for example. Do not ask a waiter to recommend a wine as we were ripped off at one restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheelagh - cockeyed optimist
Business
London
Sep 23, 2010

Hotel Zara, Budapest, Hungary

This was our first visit to Budapest and the hotel was very well situated for our needs. We did all the usual tourist things but could have done more, if the weather and time was more conducive. We fell in love with Budapest and the people were delightful - much better than our visit to Copenhagen around the same time last year! The only thing missing was our lack of knowledge - next time we'll be better prepared!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out the buses, trams, metro for money off tickets etc and don't go for the first bus/river sight-seeing tour, look around - some are less expensive than others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzyg
Business
Dublin Ireland
Nov 29, 2012

Excellent Stay

Our stay was excellent. The staff were always very helpful, friendly and professional. Breakfast each morning was very good and our room was always very clean and warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
icefyre
Business
London, UK
Dec 4, 2012

Excellent hotel with caveat

The hotel itself is gorgeous and has free wifi everywhere, good business center and spa facilities which are complementary. However, be very careful of the services and trips offered by the front desk. we went on a supposed "tour of Budapest and dinner show" costing a total of 100£ which was basically a scam. A van came to take us to a mediocre restaurant with some music. The "guide" barely spoke and the restaurant was in the middle of nowhere. as long as you stay away from these lovely tourist experiences you should be fine. The rest of the hotel was great but I didn't expect a hotel of this caliber to offer such an obvious con as a tour, overpriced, yes but not a blatant con job. Other than this e hotel is very well situated. we bought the hop on hop off bus tickets at the hotel and had no issues. I would also recommend that any visitors buy parliament tickets at the hotel as there is no official ticket seller at the parliament and there are some very shady characters selling tickets outside of the parliament building that I wouldn't trust.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

e great synagogue and opera house are both very close to the hotel and definitely worth seeing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patmarkelly
Business
Ireland
Dec 17, 2012

Great Tourist Location

Every amenity required of a 4 star. Excellent staff. Room on the small side, would be difficult for a couple, ideal as a single.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Debee
Business
Vancouver, WA
Dec 25, 2012

Christmas Holiday

Small rooms, yet comfortable. Showers are small by American standards. Breakfast buffet very nicely done. Staff is excellent. Hotel within easy walking to most sites, but we prefer walking to best experience the cities we are in. Will stay here again if we ever get back to Budapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanting to see the world
Business
Cotwolds
Jan 19, 2013

Excellent base for a city visit

The hotel was superb, friendly, with its spa and gym and pianist in the bar it was elegant and luxurious and great value, comfortable, clean, well placed for visiting the main sights in the city ...would definitely go there again and recommend friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nk
Business
New York, NY
Oct 11, 2010

Nice, modern, friendly hotel

The room was kind of small but the staff was super friendly and nice. They were also very helpful and it was convenient to be able to book tours or bathhouse tickets straight from the hotel. The hotel is brand new and in a very convenient location from the metro. You're pretty close to the center of town. And they've got a pretty nice breakfast spread in the morning. I can't comment on the pool or exercise facilities since I didn't have a chance to take advantage of it but I would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Book spa/bathhouse tickets at the hotel. They speak english, you don't have to wait on line at the bathhouse. It just simplifies things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice Barlow
Business
Budapest
Jul 20, 2014

Excellent

We were a party of 21, 16Adults 2 children 3 teenagers. The service was verry good. We used the Bar, Resturant, & pool facillities. 2xpools indoor & out. On the last day we Checked out @12 & were able to use the pool to we left @ 19. Confortable mordern rooms verry clean. The the minibar could have been colder. The Staff were very understanding that we could not speek their language and tryed their utmost to help us. The hotel is well suituited between allies, bars & resturants. Tourist attractions just around the coner. We had alot of fun and our stay was verry resonable£££. Unfortunally we had to return back home after 6 full days. The transport was arranged to and from the airport for us no hassel and also resonable for our group. Excellent stay @ the hotel Zara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The night tour with the hop on hop off bus is a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top